Book Club Friday's (#16) - Oprah Winfrey, What I Know for Sure

in #bookclub6 years ago

IMG-9044.JPG

What I know for sure is a great book on Oprah Winfrey's philosophies for life...

About the Author

RGB-h_02329678 Oprah Winfrey.jpg

Oprah Winfrey is a well-known 64-year old talk show host, philanthropist, author, actor and a business lady with an estimated net worth of 2.7 billion USD. She is known as the "Queen of All Media", and is the richest African-American and has been ranked the greatest black philanthropist in American history.

She is regarded by many to be the most influential woman in the world.

A little bit about the book

What I know for sure was a great 200 Page short book written in the first person by Oprah about her ideology for living a full life. One of the first things I noticed was her sheer honesty and likeability within the book. I was aware of Oprah of course, however, I hadn't really gone out of my way to do any research on her so this book was a great excuse to get to know her a little bit better. And I truly feel like I have. It isn't often that I get so much from a book, but this book was full of fresh ideas and views on life that I hadn't been exposed too yet.

IMG-9045.JPG

In the book, she really highlights the importance of choice and intent within all of our thoughts and actions. Life really isn't as hard as we all think it is, we just think ourselves into the complexities of life. We can choose to be happy or sad. We can choose to eat that chocolate cake or the banana. We can decide to try to change the world or settle for working a 9-5(there's nothing wrong with this). Whatever we want to do, all we have to partner it with is the fact that we have a choice. And lucky we are to have a choice, fortunately, in the 21st century there are so many opportunities for us all, all we need to do is to utilize them!

IMG-9046.JPG

This, of course, is just a portion of all the great stuff in the book.

I definitely recommend the book to anyone looking for a light read, but something that provides a different outlook on things.

Have a fantastic weekend

Adam x


Buy the book

Waterstones
Amazon
Barnes & Noble


More Book Club Friday's

Tools of Titans
On the Shortness of life
Homo-Deus

PS. I will not be posting next week because I am spending some quality time with family and friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42