Read Between the Wines #5: Review: Behind Her Eyes

in #book6 years ago (edited)


Behind-her-eyes.jpg

Hello lovely Steemians

It's time for another episode of Read Between The Wines - Anything and everything book related and maybe a little bit of wine as well!


rbtw.JPG


Ever read one of those books that make you go OMG.. but then you don't know if you love the book or hate the book. My last choice for book-club was exactly that.

Behind Her Eyes by Sarah Pinborough.

DON'T TRUST THIS BOOK * DON'T TRUST THIS STORY * DON'T TRUST YOURSELF


eyes-1.png

Louise is a single mom, a secretary, stuck in a modern-day rut. On a rare night out, she meets a man in a bar and sparks fly. Though he leaves after they kiss, she’s thrilled she finally connected with someone.

When Louise arrives at work on Monday, she meets her new boss, David. The man from the bar. The very married man from the bar…who says the kiss was a terrible mistake, but who still can’t keep his eyes off Louise.

And then Louise bumps into Adele, who’s new to town and in need of a friend. But she also just happens to be married to David. And if you think you know where this story is going, think again, because Behind Her Eyes is like no other book you’ve read before.

David and Adele look like the picture-perfect husband and wife. But then why is David so controlling? And why is Adele so scared of him?

As Louise is drawn into David and Adele’s orbit, she uncovers more puzzling questions than answers. The only thing that is crystal clear is that something in this marriage is very, very wrong. But Louise can’t guess how wrong―and how far a person might go to protect their marriage’s secrets.

In Behind Her Eyes, Sarah Pinborough has written a novel that takes the modern day love triangle and not only turns it on its head, but completely reinvents it in a way that will leave readers reeling.

What attracted to me was that right before this book came out all i saw was a trending hashtag - WTFthatending - of course with a teaser like that I just had to read it.

So here is my review, which can also be found on my Book Blog Read Between The Wines


Why is everyone talking about the ending of Sarah Pinborough’s Behind Her Eyes?

I’m so conflicted about this book. My rating has wavered between 2 and 4 stars so I’ve settled halfway.. but it really doesn’t give a complete picture. It’s not an easy Book to review. And to do it without spoilers is a tough ask.. so here’s my attempt to tell you without telling you, if you know what I mean.

Firstly let’s start with the technical aspects of Behind Her Eyes. It was a quick and easy read.. (about 4 hours at my reading speed) I felt perhaps too easy for the overall theme of the book – it is categorized as a psychological thriller after all. At times it seemed a little one dimensional and lacking of depth. It’s fate I think will be continual comparison to Girl on the Train – perhaps unfairly. The jumping between character views is a style I always find distracting and add in flashbacks.. it can be confusing to keep track.

But there was still good reason to kick on…

The trending hashtag for this book is wtfthatending and the promotional material and chatter on the web has unashamedly promoted the twist at the end is a WTF moment. So that sets an expectation up front.

I can’t help but look for the twists, try to work out what the ending will be. It’s a game I love to play… but I equally end up hating a book if I can work it out.. and the earlier I can, the more I hate… such is my passion for and relationship with literature.

Let me state here that simply being blind-sided by an ending goes a long way to colour my option of a book..regardless of what comes before or the nature of the ending

About halfway through Behind her Eyes, I saw foresaw the twists and how they would come together. About 20 pages out from the finish my disappointment started to sink in, as indeed my theory came to fruition.. a particular theory I’d already decided would not sit well if it came about – and I feel many who love the psychological thriller genre, will feel the same way.

Next was time for the wrap up..mopping up the story as it were.

The last six pages…….

WTFTHATENDING!!!!!!!!!!

…you think you know!


It seems that so many people are undecided on this one. Normally you can clearly either love or hate a book - not swing back and forth once you've finished.

I'd love to hear if anyone else has read this and what your thoughts are. Now I'd conclude with one of my new super duper bookstagram pictures that I've been snapping like crazy - but turns out the Mother In Law still has my copy of the book.. kinda works well..I've got no idea what props I would use anyway!


Til the Next Adventure Steem on With Love and Light


upcats.png

My beautiful UpCats were designed by the one and only beautiful @ryivhnn and are based on my beautiful Ava the Princess Cat


If you enjoyed this post don't forget to UPVOTE and Hit that FOLLOW Button!

Let's All Share the Steemit Love!


DQmbD9Et8EtYXcMBhuxJQM1fZe4UmEHShUVCWXkLZtVF6Zi_1680x8400.png

Don't forget to come check out the teamaustralia tag and see what exciting things we are all up to in the land of Oz! It's full of Aussies and Aussie-lovers with great stories from when we are at home or loose in the world!

Thanks to @bearone for creating my beautiful teamaustralia banner which I love sooooo much! Don't forget to check out her posts and show her some love as well.

If you are a newbie and looking for help - or you just want to help support the minnows and grow this wonderful platform of ours - please consider checking out minnowsupportproject. This is a fantastic initiative to help everyone grow together and is full of fantastic advice for anyone starting out. You can find out more about it here.

https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@minnowsupport/minnow-support-project-problem-statement-vision-statement-mission-statement-and-plan-to-help-you-grow-from-minnow-to-whale-with


DQmRSmRyg4MdRdiKsWTMbfyiAG673K1yP65MoUTbCXGp9Xi.gif

(Logo and Banner Created By @justcallmemyth - another great Steemian you should check out and support)

Sort:  

Thank you for the information <3

Hope you found it useful

thank you for sharing @shellyduncan @jhoni has followed you i hope i can always read your post.

thank you

I kind of felt that way the first time I watched the movie Vertigo. Such a strange feeling not knowing if you love or hate something, just knowing it impacted you enough to mess with your mind. I still find myself going back to watch Vertigo every few years. There's a strange pull to it that I still don't understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51