Redeemed From the Ashes—Chapter 7—I Can Stitch NaughtsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #book8 years ago


I also say it is good to fall, battles are lost in the same

spirit in which they are won.

Walt Whitman


Chapter 7


        There was no home to go to. Her once classy house, paid by the lucrative means of her mother, was nothing more than a pile of uninviting rubble which had probably been removed long ago to make way for new development. Fleeting memories of wooden beams creaking in the moaning wind reeled past her mind; vestiges of the flames’ attacks had scarred the once adorned walls. Where could she go? The only place which might render any comfort and opportunity was Camp Hill Hospital.

        Returning to the whitewashed corridors, she let her right hand trail against the pimply grain of the painted wall beside her. Her home was here—with all the smells of fresh linen, carbolic acid, and…blood interwoven into one stream of familiarity. 

        Evelyn placed her hand upon a passing nurse’s shoulder. “Excuse me, where may I find Nurse Randall?”

        “She’s down the hall, third door to your right. Wait…”

        Evelyn overcome with excitement tuned out what the nurse had to say next and nearly ran to the room where she would find her beloved friend. “Betsie!” She opened the door leading into the desired room—but reeled back in horror as she realized her friend was in the middle of assisting a surgeon in a procedure. “Oh…I’m…I’m so sorry.” 

        Why did that nurse tell me where to go if she knew Betsie was occupied? Oh…she did. I have completely humiliated myself.

        “Get this woman out of here, Nurse Denton,” a doctor commanded. It was Doctor MacCrae. That same determined look, the knit brows and scowl overcoming his visage frightened her.

        The man, Denton, led her out into the hallway.

        What a fool she had been! What would they think of her now, her outburst. With as much grace as she could, she stoically sat upon a chair in the hallway, looking ahead, trying to shove her shame down her constricted throat.

        Minutes ticked on, half an hour flew by. She heard a soft closing of a door, ambling footsteps. She shook her head from side to side. “Betsie, I can’t believe…I did what I did.”

        “I know. It’s all right. Come, let’s take a stroll outside. I need some fresh air.” Betsie helped her up, took Evelyn’s arm in hers, and led her away from the scene of ignominy. “You had a hard time in Dartmouth, didn’t you?”

        “Am I that transparent?” 

        “I’m afraid you are…to me. Maybe I’m the only one who sees it.”

        “I hope so. I don’t particularly want others to see everything. I have a hard time trusting others.”

        “You’ll learn to give more of yourself in time. Letting others see who we really are—it’s a gift to ourselves.”

        “Doctor MacCrae and his associates may never let me set foot in the hospital again!”

        “Well, I know how you can wheedle your way back into Doc Mac’s good favour.”

        “And that is?”

        “Now, I’m serious Evelyn.” Betsie put her hands upon Evelyn’s shoulders. “We could do with a lot more help around the hospital. There are still so many long-term victim patients from the explosion to treat; and then we still must go on helping those who regularly come into the hospital with natural ailments. It would be…”

        “I can help.”

        “But…”

        “Listen. I attended nursing school a few years ago when I turned seventeen, but I never finished because I dropped out to marry Carl. I already have had some training. Please, let me learn even more under your tutelage. If I don’t do something other than looking for Carl, I might go mad.”

        “Are you sure? The work can be quite taxing.”

        “Yes, that way I can perhaps show Doctor MacCrae that I not only make a buffoon of myself but I also retain some admirable and practical assets to my person.”

        Both women winked at each other in mischief.


***


        Laughing matters put aside, the hard work was beginning. Evelyn filled out an application to become a nurse’s assistant. Since the hospital needed many helpers to aid in the recovery process, it welcomed into its fold many who had had some experience in the medical profession.

Evelyn had lost Carl and knew not where he was. She relished the idea of returning to the practice she wished to ameliorate.

        Several doctors, who knew about her previous outburst uttered with firm tongues the hospital was an institution deserving of much respect, an institution in which tomfoolery would not be tolerated. The staff were required to command self-discipline and impose this virtue upon other staff members. Running or other such rambunctious actions were to be checked, and screaming or shouting eliminated. So fervent were these men declaring the rules of the establishment that Evelyn despaired even more over her previous foolish actions. She, after hearing the stern reproaches, steeled herself to regain their respect and perhaps later their admiration. Once she had been accepted into the medical force, she was told to begin her services on the morrow.

        After Betsie had finished her shift, she and Evelyn took a stroll down near the newly refurnished docks. The dusk-lit waters lapped the cracked shore softly trying to lick its still fresh wounds with its salty kiss. Horns from incoming and outgoing ships blew feebly in the distance, as if they were the city’s sole musicians trilling a wispy funeral dirge. The charred skeletons of the old wharf’s sheds and the surrounding company buildings had been torn down and were now being replaced by spindly steel limbs, the framework of tomorrow. The two kindred spirits’ footsteps ambled in synchronization, crunching pieces of already broken glass beneath the soles of their boots. Screeching screams from the seagulls occasionally disturbed the haunting symphony. 

        “Evelyn, how would you like to share a small apartment with me?” 

        “A small apartment?”

        “Yes, it wouldn’t be large. I believe, we would both be able to afford the rent with our pay. And you would be giving me the moon if you would grace me with your constant company.” Betsie’s eyes shimmered with hope. “What do you say?”

        “You’re an angel. Of course, I will. Thank you for being so considerate. I wasn’t certain what I was going to do for lodging, but you have given me the answer I’ve been looking for. Thank you many times over.” She sighed, feeling some burden float off her shoulders. “Where were you thinking of staying?”

        “I don’t know, to tell you the truth. We could start searching immediately.”

        “And where have you been living all this time?”

        “I’ve been living in my uncle’s spacious home on Seymour all this time. Some piece of metal from the Mont Blanc slashed his neck upon impact. I would continue to stay at his home; however, he left no will as to indicate who would gain all of his possessions upon his death.”

        “How odd.”

        “Yes, therefore, the bank has decided to repossess his home within the week. My cousin who works for the bank has persuaded them to delay the repossession so that I would have more time to find another suitable location.”

        “I’m sorry. Were you close to him?”

        “No, I wasn’t. He was a bit of a miser, God rest his soul.” Breathing in deeply, she let out a soft chuckle. “Now we have each other. And what about you? Where have you been living all this time?”

        “I’ve been sleeping at the Halifax Hotel these past few nights. I asked for their cheapest room; however I cannot keep the room much longer. It’s becoming quite costly. I’ve only been able to afford living there because my mother had secretly placed a large wad of cash in the pocket of my coat when I visited her last.”

        “Then I insist you come stay with me.”

        Evelyn drew her near to give her an embrace. They were going to be all right.


***


        Evelyn stayed the night at Betsie’s deceased uncle’s home. The home stood well enough considering the damage it had taken. All the windows were boarded up, and the sides of the house had been stained with the oily soot which had rained down upon Halifax’s inhabitants during the explosion. There had been no effort to maintain or care for it. But what did it matter? Betsie would not be living in the house for long. It was somewhat dank and chilly. Loneliness pervaded its every crack. Despite all its decadence, it provided her with shelter for the night. Both women met each other in the gloom-infested kitchen before the dawn broke across the horizon. They set their tapers upon the crude wooden kitchen table. The chairs they sat upon resisted the weight of their frigid bodies.

        “There’s not much to eat in here, I’m afraid. I haven’t been to the grocers in five days. A lot of mouldy vegetables did I find. Ah, here’s some bread and cheese.” Betsie opened a small cupboard with one hand while holding her taper in the other to find the sole edible food in the house. “Here you go.” She set the meagre breakfast in front of Evelyn.

        Evelyn scrunched her nose. She was much more used to rich pudding with an orange and a glass of fresh milk. However, this friend was offering what little she had in stock. She briskly broke some cheese, placed it on some bread, and feasted upon it.

        “Let us get ready for work.” Betsie piled their plates and cups and laid them next to the sink.

        As the women walked to the hospital, the clapping of the window shutters and the jingling of the storefront bells announced the beginning of a new day. Two young men, one brawny and tall and the other of medium height and pudgy, were carrying several large wooden planks stacked upon one another. As one of them turned his head over his shoulder to shout some remark to the other, he bumped right into Betsie, sending her tumbling into a small newspaper stand, and then he stepped on the toe of Evelyn’s boot.

        “O!” Evelyn bent down immediately to massage her squelched toes.

        Betsie managed to grab hold of most of the falling newspapers and right her apparel. She then neatly placed the newspapers back on the stand.

        “Frank, stop!” The young man who had set the whole chaotic scene in motion set down his side of the load and started to profusely apologize. “I’m extremely sorry. We’re late for work and we weren’t thinkin'…”

        “It’s all right, young man. What’s your name?” Betsie inquired.

        “Joe.”

        “Joe, we accept your apologies. Just make sure you don’t run over any other lovely ladies with your load this morning on your way to work.”

        “Yes, ma’am.” 

        “Are you working on the reconstruction project? I’m curious.”

        “Yes, ma’am. Frank and me, we’re headin’ down to the North End. We’re workin’ with some new material called Hydrostone.”

        “Hydrostone?”

        “Yes’m. It’s compressed cement.”

        “You know, you young men are part of something great. Future generations will thank you for helping rebuild this fine city of ours.”

        “Thank you, ma’am. You have yourself a good day.” After they picked up the shipment, they ambled off.


***


        Entering the hospital that particular morning…what could Evelyn say. Her previous visits had reeked of death, pain, hopeless despair. Now, she had the ability and the privilege to heal with her hands, to mop feverish foreheads, and to explore more of the profession she had given up years before.

        “Nurse Randall, bring your protege with you to the case room,” barked Doctor MacCrae.

        No words were uttered as they bustled off toward the case room. Upon their entrance, they were ordered to lay out the necessary surgical instruments upon a glistening surgical tray. An older woman was moaning in pain, clutching at her intestines.

        “Nurse Randall, prepare the anesthesia. Put her under gently, there. Keep an eye on her breathing.”

        “You,” he nodded in Evelyn’s direction, “will pass me what I need when I ask.”

        Once the older woman was under sleep, he sterilized the area of her stomach where he would make an incision.

        “Scalpel.”

        Evelyn handed it to him and watched with intensity as he made the first cut. The blood started to slowly ooze around the groove in the flesh. She was extremely thankful that after all this time, she was still able to stomach the sight of blood. In fact, she began to relish it every passing second. 

        After a few swift strokes, he asked for the clamp. “Hold it here.”

        His cold commands chilled her heart as the raw metal instruments’ frigidness seeped into her fingers.

        “You’re adequately knowledgeable,” he said. After concluding the operation, he asked Evelyn to stitch her up.

        “I’m sorry. I cannot…”

        “Nurse Randall, please finish the job.”

        “Yes, doctor.”

        Evelyn’s cheeks flushed red. She had never stitched a patient before on her own; therefore she determined to examine Betsie’s actions closely so that the next time she would be able to perform when asked. What would Doctor MacCrae think of her wonderful capabilities now?




Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69081.21
ETH 3809.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50