Redeemed From the Ashes—Chapter 10—A Place To ListensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #book7 years ago

This kiss of the sun for pardon,

The song of the birds for mirth,

One is nearer God’s Heart in a garden

Than anywhere else on earth.

Mrs. Dorothy Frances Gurney



Chapter 10


  Slivers of rusty hued light penetrated Evelyn’s bedroom through the cracks of the boarded window, painting a disarrayed flower upon the cold floor. The slight moaning of the wind’s breath filled Evelyn’s sleeping subconscious with screams, crying, shouting, mayhem. The draft drove her to tighten the covers around her neck and curl them up to her chin. Nightmares were her companions these many nights. She tried to count sheep when the nightmares berated her; but nothing helped. With a sleepy, heavy-burdened sigh, she uncovered herself slowly and grabbed her wool shawl from the foot of the bed. Reluctantly, she withdrew her hidden feet from the depths of warmth and padded down to the other end of her bedchamber to dress into her set out attire for the day.        

        “What is the use trying to sleep? I cannot get a good night’s rest.”

        She peered through the tiny cracks in the boards to see the world lightly blanketed with snow. The crisp air stung her nose. In front of the mirror, her nightgown was shed, the material solitarily brushing past her goose-bumped skin. She could not move although she was cold. She reminisced upon a time when her eyes weren’t the only ones roving up and down her body. She blushed at such…personal thoughts; she slipped into her day-clothes, buttoning them up and smoothing them down with her frozen hands.

        Before she could start searching for her husband in the different locales of Richmond, she and Betsie needed to find another dwelling in which to live. They hadn’t had much time to browse since their schedules were somewhat busy. They were due to leave the premises of the house in three days. What would they do if they couldn’t find another place?

        Although they were due to seek out housing early, it was not to be this early. It was five-thirty in the morning. Betsie would sleep for another two hours. Evelyn decided to go for a walk.  Dressed warmly, she entered the streets. Some men were strutting along to work, humming or whistling merry tunes, tunes that could chase away any frigidity. Even though the streets hadn’t fully come to life with the city folk, she needed to go somewhere even quieter, more peaceful. She turned her gaze toward the Commons, a large expanse of urban park.         

        She came across Freshwater Brook and followed its frozen path southwest until she reached Egg Pond. She walked round its frosted embankment until she came to a crude wooden bench nestled under a ceiling of crystal branch work. She sat upon it and closed her eyes to listen, to feel, not to think. Thinking was the last thing she wanted to do.

        The birds twittered happily, some stooping to the ground, their little beaks pecking upon the encrusted snow. The wind unfurled its delicate whispers into her ear, begging her to remain.

        She didn’t know for how long she had sat there. Perhaps it was half an hour or more. The sounds she had heard became adulterated by heavy, crunching footfalls. Her eyes opened to see Doctor MacCrae standing before her. His posture was a little off kilter, swaying back and forth between left and right. His fingertips came together, trembling.

        “Doctor MacCrae.”

        “I’m so sorry to have disturbed you.”

        “It’s no disturbance at all.” She feigned pleasantness.

        An awkward silence ensued.

        Evelyn cleared her throat. “Would you like to sit?” 

        “Thank you, how very kind.” He removed his newsboy cap from atop his head and moved toward her with slow, deliberate steps.

        The sun’s rising emblazoned him in an aura of white gold. His broad shoulders confidently held his head high. His curled chestnut hair complimented his hazel brown eyes, and his full pursed lips were an attractive accessory to his long-slopped nose.

        He sat upon the one end of the bench while Evelyn tried to move herself more toward the opposite side without garnering too much attention to her action.

        “Sometimes I like to come out here in the mornings or evenings after work and listen.” His head was bent, an ear cocked to one side.

        “To what do you listen?” 

        He inclined his head toward her, eyes flowing over her own. “I listen to the ocean.”

        “All the way up here?”

        “Yes, I’ve practiced. At first, I would try to hear the whistling of the boats as they passed each other in the Narrows. Once my ears were accustomed to hearing the whistle, I moved on to a more subtle noise such as the waves crashing upon the shore during a storm. I like to think that I can hear the seagulls and the dockworkers shouting to one another. But it could very well be my mind is playing tricks on me. What made you come out here this morning? It’s not even time for you to work, is it?”

        “No, it’s not.” She quickly stole a glance his way, a small smirk breaking through her porcelain visage. “I couldn’t sleep. There are many nights when I cannot sleep anymore. I wish I could.”

        “The explosion?”

        “Yes…and more.”

        “I take it you’re referring to your husband.” His tone seemed suddenly reserved.

        “Yes, my husband—I’m going to start looking for him later on today. However, it’s been so long; it’s probably impossible considering—I’m sorry. I don’t know why I’m even bothering you with all of this.”

        “No, please, it’s a…I mean, go on.”

        Unbarring her chapped lips, she watched as furls of hesitation floated away. “Betsie and I need to look at some options for a more permanent lodging. Presently, we are staying at her late uncle’s home; but we can’t reside there much longer as the bank will be repossessing the property in three days. That’s why we won’t be working today.”

        His head slumped down in between his shoulder blades, and his fingers interlaced with each other. “Down my residential street, I know someone who has opened up part of her house to rent to someone who needs a permanent residence.” He looked forward, shielding his eyes from the rising sun. “Would you be interested?”

        Evelyn put her hand to her throat, catching her breath. “Really? That would be so helpful.”

        His face contorted, trying to withhold a chuckle.“Yes, really. Now, if you don’t put an end to your comically happy face, I shall be forced to make a spectacle of myself by bursting out in laughter.”

        “Oh, I’m…I’m sorry?”

        “Oh, please, don’t be. It’s…quite entertaining.”

        “Doctor, you should be ashamed of yourself, jesting at the expense of a lady. But,oh, that’s such good news. As long as the rent isn’t too expensive and the owner doesn’t mind our coming in and out at unearthly hours, Betsie and I’ll be happy to take a look at almost anything.”

        “I know the residence has been refurnished after the explosion. The owner and his wife invited me once to see the renovations. It seems to be quite comfortable. I believe you and Nurse Randall will make a good match with the apartments.”

        “Thank you so much for this opportunity.”

        “Please, I…it’s my pleasure. If perhaps you’re not busy tonight…I mean you both…I could meet you at the entrance of the hospital after I’m done my shift. We can meet with the owner and see if the agreement is to your liking. I’ll make all the arrangements.” Some effervescence shone in his eyes like the April blooms thriving under rain showers.

        “That would be most kind of you. Thank you again.”

        He nodded and fidgeted with his hat. “This, ah, new arrangement…would be most beneficial to you so that you are able to ensue your search sooner.”

        “Oh…yes, I’ll definitely have lots of time to search today; the funny thing is, I don’t want to leave. Why is that?”

        “Perhaps you enjoy such fine company.” 

        “What brash talk!” She moved a strand of hair from her lips. “Perhaps you’re right.”

        His eyes met hers and held them captive for far too long than what was good for her.

        “I should go.” She rose from her perch. 

        “Shall I see you again tonight?”

        “Yes, along with Nurse Randall.”

        “Farewell.” He rose from his spot, as well.

        “Goodbye.” She gave him a curt nod and swooped off toward home to tell Betsie of the fortunate turn of events.


***


        Since she had had no time to pursue her mission while she had been working at the hospital, she decided to start at home base, Camp Hill Hospital. She marched to the front desk and exchanged a few pleasantries with the receptionist whom she knew a little by having had some conversations with her over lunch. After having searched the records, the receptionist sadly informed her that her husband hadn’t been treated there.

        “Perhaps you could search some of the makeshift army hospitals that were installed here in Richmond. There are a few your husband could have turned to especially since he was part of the war effort himself. Also there are many boats in the harbour that have medical camps within. I don’t know whether any of the ships that were here during the explosion are still here. I surmise most of them aren’t. Yet there’s no harm in asking around. Here’s a map on which I have marked each hospital. These two…” she pointed to the last two places on the corresponding list, “…are some of the closest to the shore. I would say those two are your best bets,” added the receptionist.

        “Thank you.”

        The receptionist handed her the list and wished her luck. Receiving the single page in her hands infused new life into Evelyn’s dull beating heart. Perhaps…someone had seen him. Then she would have some tangible evidence that he was still alive. She pulled out the dear photograph of him on their wedding day. It was as if she could still reach out and caress the contours of his handsome face. The photograph might help someone who had seen him remember him.

        An agonizing twenty minutes of thinking, thinking, thinking—she tried to map out her route, but right there and then, she wished she could go back to this morning when she was only seeing…him. Somehow he was the simple balm to her tempestuous life; and yet, at the same time he aggravated her senses to the point that her conscious deliberations spun out of control. Only release from his presence would assuage such turbulence.

        She arrived at the Victoria General Hospital, swarming with activity. Nurses, doctors abounded, heading in certain directions. She laid a hand upon a passing nurse.

        “Please, I’m trying to find my missing husband. Is there someone who can help me?”

        “I’m sorry. I can’t talk right now. Just wait here, and I’ll find someone who can help you.”

        “Thank you,” Evelyn hollered. 

        The whole time the nurse had not relented from her course. From the tone and disinterest of the nurse, Evelyn assumed it would be a little while before the nurse would send someone to help her, if at all. 

        “Excuse me, are you needing some assistance? Pardon me, I overheard your plea with the passing nurse.” An astute-looking doctor, with spectacles nestled atop the high point of his nose, looked to her expectantly.

        “Yes, I need to know if this man was ever treated here or seen here,” she said as she pulled out Carl’s photograph and held it out for him to see. 

        The doctor curled his one hand around his chin as his brows knit together in concentration. With the other hand, he adjusted his spectacles. “Yes…yes, I’ve seen him before. Where have I seen him?”

        To think that this awkward man was a doctor brought a smile to Evelyn’s lips. “Perhaps you’ve seen him here.”

        “That’s right. I have seen him…here! It was the day after the explosion. I saw this man—your husband—sitting there.” He pointed to their right. “See, beside that room. He was sitting there. I was busy, of course, caring for the many patients who were coming in for immediate treatment. I saw him as I was passing by. When I returned, he had gone. I assumed one of my fellow colleagues had seen to him. I never saw him again.”

        What a revelation! A muffled cry was released, a single tear streamed down her cheek. A crazed urgency rose in her breast. She had to hold onto every ounce of her sanity; for she felt like clenching her fists upon his coat and shaking more information out of him. She felt so close to discovering her husband’s whereabouts; yet she felt so far away. She was dejected, her head hung in near defeat. Suddenly, a thought dawned in her mind.

        “Was he all right when you saw him? Was he hurt in any way?”

        “If I recall correctly, he only had one leg.”

        “Was there anything else?”

        “What else? You don’t seem surprised! But…hmm…you must have already known about it since the stump had already recovered?”

        “Yes, I did. Now, was there anything else?”

        “He seemed to be covering his eyes with his hands. It could very well be that, from the impact, glass shards had cut his eyes. Many people were blinded from the explosion.”

        Evelyn gulped. 

        God, please don’t let this be. 

        She never prayed, but she couldn’t think of anything else to say. “Thank you so much for your time.”

        “My pleasure, is there anything else I can help with?”

        “No, that’s all, thank you.” 

        He gave her a genuinely sincere smile and wished her all the best in finding Carl. All his kind words fell upon dumb ears. She turned away, crossing her arms to hold in the little warmth left in her heart. Her happiness dimmed. 

        Evelyn went to the Children’s Hospital next door. Same routine. Different answer. They hadn’t seen him at all. He was never treated there. One clue, one road. At least, a flicker of hope had ignited. At least someone had seen him. 











Sort:  

This was nice to read :)

How long have you been writing?

Thanks! I've been writing for nine years. Started out with poetry; then wrote short stories ( I still do both from time to time). Then moved on to writing this novel.

great post to read.
thank you for sharing.
i enjoyed reading it.. :)

upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79