Book Review - Night School, by Lee Child

in #book6 years ago

3C15E84D-DC50-4D16-9063-87A0B47560B2.jpeg

Night School, by Lee Child, is a Jack Reacher series novel, which goes back to the Reacher’s US Army Military Police days – essentially a flashback to 1996. The book was published in 2016, and I just finished the audiobook on the OverDrive app, which is free to use through my library subscription. Here is a prior post I made about the OverDrive app if you were interested: https://steemit.com/reading/@brian.rrr/overdrive-app-ebooks-audiobooks

I give this book a B+, as it was very entertaining and I liked the storyline and suspense. There are a few graphic/gruesome parts, so reader beware if you consider reading this novel. It was a good change of pace from most Reacher books, which take place much later in his life where he is roaming the US and finding trouble. Overall, it is a worthwhile thriller to read, and you do not need to have read any of the prior 20 Jack Reacher novels in order to enjoy this one.

The book has Reacher using his military police skills to hunt down a rouge member of the armed forces and thwart an international terror attack. The book takes place primarily in Hamburg, Germany (shout out to my new Steemit friend @renej who lives there in real life) and involves a series of great characters and scenes. It is classic Reacher – the most confident, smartest, and toughest guy around who is able to charm all the women and will all the fights. Does Reacher save the world? I guess you will have to read/listen to find out! (Ha, don’t kid yourself, he always does, but it is still entertaining to find out how!)

Let me know if you have already read this one or if you now plan to!

Brian

Sort:  

I don't think the book is in my wheelhouse of interests but how did I not know about OverDrive?!? That's an incredible app. So while I don't think I'll read the book, I give this review 5 stars for the information!

I am the same way, but my issue is I don't like to just sit and read. 10 pages is my max, then Zzzzzzzz

Hi @brian.rr

I'm a big fan of the Jack Reacher series and have read the whole series at least twice. And I agree with you about this one. I enjoyed him in his earlier life. Thank you for the post.

Thanks for the book suggestion. I’ll add it to my growing list of future reads. I’ve been busy with another reading project that I’ve stared. I’m going to start a post series on my adventure soon as I’m attempting to read my way through the “Top 100 Novels of All Time”. It has been quite the experience so far.

I’m super interested about Open Drive App and will be checking that out later tonight!!!

Sounds interesting... I will keep my eye out for it!

I will certainly keep you posted. I've read through almost 10 books so far.

Good review! I'm a huge Leed Child fan, I've read all the Reacher books. I've even based my own series character partly on him. I'd love it if you'd give it a read and tel me your thoughts. I'm new to Steemit so I'm not sure if postin a link in the comments would be spam. But I've just posted the first chapter on my Steemit blog, if you'd like to check it out there. Thanks,

Lee Child's books are always enjoyable, as well as being competent, readable and well-crafted. Lee Child sure writes great books. And Jack Reacher is a great character. I'm a big fan. I’m sure all Reacher Creatures will like this one! Thanx for sharing your experiences @brian.rrr

I will surely have a look at the book, it seems it will be very interesting to read

I like the Jack Reacher series but got a bit fatigued with it, think I read too many in a short period of time.

Will give this one a go as it looks different enough. If you haven’t read I am Pilgrim, I highly recommend it, one of my favourite books.

Hi
Sir i just read ur post and It was good
Surely I'll read this novel soon
Thnx for telling about this novel sir..

Thanks for the review. I have regularly looked at the Reacher books but never ventured into onr. my TBR list is getting so out of control - much worse after a year on goodreads lol. They sound interesting.
Looking forward to more reviews

I will have it in my plans it looks interesting, good contribution for the community and your fans brother @ brian.rrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64202.90
ETH 3439.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59