OverDrive App - ebooks + audiobooks

in #reading6 years ago

352DBBBF-C6F8-4335-BBB4-3A733F12A79C.png

I wanted to share one of my favorite apps with you - OverDrive. This app connects with your library subscription and allows you to check out ebooks and audiobooks from the library - all without even going to the library!

You need to have a library card to sign up, and I am not sure about the availability if you live in a smaller town or outside of the US, but for me, it has been so great to have all these books at my finger tips, and all for free. When you check out a ebook/audiobook, it automatically checks it back in 3 weeks later so you will never be late and owe late fees. Also, I think library books are kind of gross - so many germs and so many other people have touched them... problem solved with this app!

The cool thing is that you can download the ebook or audiobook to the app, so you do not need to be connected to wifi in order to access it. The main downside is that the selection is smaller than physical books in the library, so if you wanted a particular book, it might not be on there. However, there are hundreds and hundreds (if not thousands) of items available from my library through the app, so I doubt I will even get close to reading them all.

I know a lot of people pay for a subscription to Audible or buy ebooks for download - this is a great, free alternative!

I have a 30 minute commute to and from work each weekday, so I often will listen to an audiobook during that time - I have thoroughly enjoyed getting entertained by many books through the OverDrive App.

Let me know if you have ever used this app before or if you will give it a try based on my recommendation!

Brian

Sort:  

This is the first time ever hearing that app.. I once used itone before but not again.. but I I can give it a try to see how it's will work...
Is it there on app store ?

Yes, it is on the app store. 👍🏻

Thank you @brian.rrr,

I will try in few days, I should comeback for my review soon:)

Greetings from Italy, Rome,
Irina V.

i will definitely try your app "overdrive". Just followed you for your awesome posts.
Thanks for sharing

Nice post. Thanks for sharing.

I didn't use that app but I'll try use it thank you very much one more time

Will give it a try, I'm not in the US though.
Thanks for sharing.

thanks for your post! good luck

thank you nice post

I’m going to have to set this up for my daughter, she loves reading books

Thanks for this post, I really hope this works in Austria as well! It sounds like a great way of getting a hold of library books without the hassle :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02