Bonsai common pests - Whitefly

in #bonsai6 years ago

As the name implies, they are white and fly around. When disturbed they are most easily noticed flying from plant to plant.


image source

Their larval stages are very similar to aphids in that the suck plant sap, form little groups and secrete honeydew. This honeydew similarly attracts ants and sooty mold. They differ from aphids in the scale like pupation stage that may be visible on the underside of leaves as seen above. Soft plants are most susceptible.

Large infestations will lead to yellowing leaves, black messy blotching (due to sooty mold) and eventually falling leaves.


image source

Whitefly are hard to eradicate once established and may end up requiring an insecticide spraying program repeated every few days and lasting several weeks.

Some success can be had using a handheld vacuum to remove the critters.

Sort:  

Ugh, bug infestations are the worst kind of pest infestations

Ooof those don't look pleasant lol. Lady bugs eat aphids and stuff like that in my area.

I don't think I have seen any yet . Or maybe I have seen don't even know it.

This White Fly Gat Me Thinking 🤔

Wow is a great photograph! I loved it, it's really beautiful!

I would opt for the pesticide. If there is a natural, environmental friendly pesticide available, I would prefer that over a chemical pesticide.

I don't like these little fellas! It's so difficult to get them out of your plant without using chemicals.

How many reasons do you have in this post dear friend @hilarski, I totally share your words, many arrive thinking only about the money that can be earned, without thinking about the sacrifice and commitment that is being here.
Thank you very much for sharing these tips.
I wish you a great day

Have you read this article @blueorgy79? It seems like you're commenting on a wrong post :)

this animal appears in certain seasons, it usually seems like there is flour@sme

they are so annoying if you home grow

Hello, I have followed you and have a vote on Steemit, follow me, I have a private blog about coffee, maybe you like, you will understand and know more about coffee every day, Thank you, Make a great community. Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39