Celtis Africana my first thread grafting on these species

in #bonsai6 years ago

image

So as you can see today I will be sharing my first attempt to do a thread graft on a Celtis Africana.

I have had some success with approach grafts on a Japanese Maple but I have not done any grafts on native tree species. If you have a tree with long thin branches or even if you have cutting of a tree you can try thread grafting as a option if you struggling to get growth on a certain part of a tree or even if a branch has died of on a tree. Grafting a branch in on a tree makes life easier as you can deside were the branch should be and what the angle of the branch must be. This way you have more control over the new branch as trees don’t always back bud as we want them to.

Here is a video I made yesterday of a thread graft.

If you have any questions or if you need more information on grafting leave your comments and questions in the section below and I will get back to you asap.

Hope you enjoyed the blog and thank you for taking the time to read it.

#teambonsai
#bonsaicommunity

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hi romanolsamuels,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

You remind me so much of my uncle. He does a lot of grafting himself. He has so many trees in his garden that he grafted. I didn't know it was such a work! You seem to be an expert in the field. Your explanations and easy to understand and I like that you captured all the process so that if somebody wants to graft a tree, they can watch it again and do it step by step. I can imagine the tree will look very nice from how the branches are placed now.

Thank you for sharing! When I'm back home, I'll show your video to my uncle and will see if he has any comments :)

All good. Thank you for your input. Can't wait to see your video.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83