Bonsai - Air Layered Privet.

in #bonsai5 years ago

Here's an air layered cutting I took this summer. It took 6 weeks to root!


IMG_20181227_103605.jpg


IMG_20181227_103818.jpg


IMG_20181227_171743.jpg


I Chose to air layer a privet Bush in my back garden. There were 2 really great branches of 3 to 4 inches in diameter so I chose those for the air layer experiment.
Here's how I did it.


Step 1 - Sliced the bark down to the cambium layer with a sharp knife.

Step 2 - Rubbed rooting compound onto the wound.

Step 3 - covered with damp Spaghnum moss and wrapped with bubble wrap, then securely tightened in place with garden twine.

Step 4 - Checked it weekly for signs of root growth and noticed after 5 weeks that it was filling out the wrap nicely.

Step 5 - Cut just below the root and removed from the privet hedge mother plant.


I potted up the cutting in a compost and kitty litter mix of 70/30 respectively.
Placed outside, and watered as and when was needed.
I'm pleased to say that it's doing really well and is putting out new leaves even now, in winter, although it's pretty mild still here on England.
I'll post an update when it's in it's new pot next spring, when I can start to train it too.


All photography by Darren Claxton Copyright ©️ 2018*

Sort:  

Wow, this tree looks like a fast grower that makes lots of buds. It already has tons of branch spread for a cutting.

It really does!
I'm looking forward to getting the scissors in there this spring.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87