You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Getting to the Roots: Hawthorn Tree rescued from Moss Invasion [Bonsai]

in #bonsai5 years ago

Very interesting and beautiful photos.
But here is the paradox:
Someone does not need moss :-)))
And I try to grow moss and it doesn’t work out for me :-(((
Maybe you can help me in this matter?
I took dug up the moss in nature with a piece of land, then I plant it at home (along with the ground) in a pot.
I try to keep the earth a little damp.
But the moss is still dying ...

Sort:  

Try covering the moss. Some people place moss on a tray and cover with foil. You want to keep the air inside 100% humid, so the water is beading along the surface.

I also have a jar of clay, which I covered with a lid, and kept in the shade. Moss started growing inside. Now there is almost more moss than clay.

Some moss varieties are harder to maintain than others. Look for moss that grows on rocks, as this is best for bonsai since it won't grow on the wood.

Many expert bonsai growers only put the moss on their soil when they want to display the tree and pot for a show. Then they remove the moss and put it back on a tray when they are done. Moss will die if it dries out. It likes to be on a wet surface.

Thank you very much!!!!!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67905.30
ETH 2637.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67