Getting to the Roots: Hawthorn Tree rescued from Moss Invasion [Bonsai]

in #bonsai4 years ago (edited)

20191006_151812.jpg

Look at the roots on my bonsai Hawthorn tree.

Recently, this past October, I noticed my tree's soil had become completely carpeted in moss. It got so thick, I decided to excavate a bit, and share the results with photos.

Follow along with me, and I'll share exactly how I promote the health of this tree by restoring the soil in the traditional bonsai way.

20191006_145603.jpg

Above and below are photos of my beautiful tree before I removed the moss. There is almost no visible area in the pot where soil can be see.

If I ever want to become a professional moss grower, I think I would have a good portfolio of work to prove my abilities. Yes, that's a bit of @creativetruth humor, mixed with a grain of truth. If anyone finds a job listing for "Moss Grower", let me know!

20191006_145613.jpg

First I lifted off the decorative polished rock and the fertilizer bag. It is interesting to me how clean the soil is directly underneath.

The moss only grows where there is sunlight and fresh air.

Some types of moss only grow on rocks. Some types grow on dead wood and living wood. Some moss only grows on clay. In my world, moss can grow almost anywhere that is habitually wet.

20191006_145948.jpg

With my fingers I demonstrated how deep the moss is. Some of the mounding moss was nearly 1/2 inch tall. Most of it was about 1/4 inch tall.

Notice the small healthy surface roots grow directly under the moss. Here, closest to the surface, the fragile roots can receive oxygen and moisture, without risk of rotting.

I must be careful when excavating the mossy soil not to foolishly destroy these delicate roots.

20191006_150025.jpg

With a chopstick, I clean off the entire soil surface, and remove as much of the mossy soil as possible.

It's a messy job, but @creativetruth has to do it.

20191006_151837 1.jpg

After removing all the moss, some of the surface roots are exposed. There is a very nice pair of thick roots forking out to the sides. I want to protect these roots before winter sets in by adding fresh new soil on top.

In time, when these roots thicken up, they will become part of the design of the tree's nebari, that is the thick base of the trunk.

At this time I analyze the health of the tree inside the remaining soil. The tree appears to be growing healthy inside of good quality soil. There is no reason to uproot and transplant the tree from this pot. I will allow it to remain in this pot undisturbed for another year or more.

20191006_151827.jpg

Here is the tree with fresh new white pumice rock to top dress the soil and roots.

The Hawthorn is glowing with joy in the trickling sunlight.

It will be able to rejuvenate the roots with plentiful energy when the rain falls now that the moss is out of the way.

20191006_153527.jpg

Water can flow easily into the pot. Below, I show how the rock soil line is barely below the rim of the pot. Rocks are mounded in the center to help insulate the thick top roots against the cold, desiccating effects of winter wind.

Rocks around the top roots will aid in teasing the roots to divide into more more smaller roots to spread out through all parts of the available space inside the pot. A nice full root ball is ideal for all bonsai trees limited to a small pot-bound space.

20191006_153541.jpg

And here is a close-up view of the newly restored soil surface.

20191006_153552.jpg

Always take care of your trees by making sure the roots are healthy. Learn what kind of changes happen every season.

Everything happens naturally in nature. Things die. Things reproduce. Things grow. But to break the cycle of death and instead encourage longevity it takes habitual persistence in mastering good timing to respond to the many individual needs a tree may have.


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth, unless stated otherwise.

Find me on discord and chat with other tree growers, bonsai enthusiasts, and gardeners. We have quite a few accredited experts filling out our ranks, and a helpful Spanish-speaking community.

#teambonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


#trees #hawthorn #nature #soil #root #roots #bonsai-soil #inspiration #teaching #learning #education #tutorial #diy #hobby

Sort:  

Very interesting and beautiful photos.
But here is the paradox:
Someone does not need moss :-)))
And I try to grow moss and it doesn’t work out for me :-(((
Maybe you can help me in this matter?
I took dug up the moss in nature with a piece of land, then I plant it at home (along with the ground) in a pot.
I try to keep the earth a little damp.
But the moss is still dying ...

Try covering the moss. Some people place moss on a tray and cover with foil. You want to keep the air inside 100% humid, so the water is beading along the surface.

I also have a jar of clay, which I covered with a lid, and kept in the shade. Moss started growing inside. Now there is almost more moss than clay.

Some moss varieties are harder to maintain than others. Look for moss that grows on rocks, as this is best for bonsai since it won't grow on the wood.

Many expert bonsai growers only put the moss on their soil when they want to display the tree and pot for a show. Then they remove the moss and put it back on a tray when they are done. Moss will die if it dries out. It likes to be on a wet surface.

Thank you very much!!!!!!!!

Such great attention to detail. Always fun to check in on how things are going.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 150 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @creativetruth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17