You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Home for a Young Cherry Tree [Bonsai]

in #bonsai6 years ago

Ever since the first Karate Kid movie I have found bonsai fascinating. Sometimes I think about growing one, but have never undertaken the challenge. Your post was wonderful in explaining the process and giving good tips.

Can you share the measurements of this tree now and how large/small you plan to work it to?

Can you suggest what might be the simplest tree to start with? I live in North America.... So preferably one that would be available here.

Thanks so much!
Peace

Sort:  

Usually my trees stay about the size of a dinner plate, unless it is a fast grower. They are easier to work with and maintain for my needs. I think this tree is close to 8 inches from soil level to the top of the tree. Cuttings are usually best if chosen from a piece the size and thickness of a pencil with buds on it.

Most people suggest Juniper and Chinese Elm as good starter trees, but I think they are harder to grow because they are not native to my area. Juniper is the hardest for me to grow, but others claim it is easy. I think it has to do with the climate you live in. I recommend going against traditional bonsai wisdom, and choose a tree that grows very easily in your native land, something that grows almost like a weed everywhere.

I chose curly willow as my first tree to learn how to grow, and later on I started growing pussywillow, which has better small leaf size and branching. Nobody sells these trees. I just went to a florist (in Jan/Feb for pussywillow) and started with the flowering branch cuttings they sell. They root so easily in a vase of water, and it is good to learn how to propagate the tree from cuttings before you start with an already mature tree. Beginners often have to start over and grow a new tree because they make many mistakes on their older tree. Forsythia is also surprisingly easy to grow from a cutting, and it is considered a nuisance tree by many people, yet it has the most wonderful flowers in the spring that last for a few weeks. None of theses are traditional bonsai trees. Maple is also a good choice, and for bonsai they recommend Trident Maple and Japanese Maple.

Most deciduous bonsai prefer some tree cover for shade and to have the soil always well-drained, but wet. Conifers usually prefer the soil to dry out slightly before being watered, and can tolerate more full sun. I grow Douglas Fir trees, and they prefer lots of rain, humidity and morning mist.

Awesome suggestions and tips! Thank you!

Willow are super easy to propogate...as you say! You can even use 'trash' from trimmings/cuttings from willow to make a tea or drench to help start roots on other tree's cuttings!!

We have a Japanese red maple as an ornamental tree in our front yard, and I have to trim it from time to time. Next time I will plan to keep a couple cuttings and experiment!!

Thank you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59698.94
ETH 2303.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51