Captains Log: SteemDreemsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #boat7 years ago



18 July: 2017
.......................................................................................................................................................................

Before Deconstruction Began
.

what it looked like when I started work today
.
All that 'pink' is gone. I've removed almost everything from the 'middle-rear' of the boat.
Good thing too.
Almost every piece of wood is rotted or has mold.
When I bought the boat I asked the owner
"Is the fiberglass hull good?"
He said it was.
That's all I wanted.
I wanted a sound fiberglass SHELL, with no holes.
That's what I got.
Everything besides the fiberglass shell is trash.
.
So...I've been removing the trash.
I dunno what they were thinking when they used 'fiberboard' in it's construction.
The glue was not waterproof. The fiberboard has turned to sawdust.
The plywood 'facing' is like paper.
I can punch a hole thru it with my finger. I did a lot of that.
I ripped out it's little guts.
.
So far I've hauled off four big trashbags of...dirt and sawdust...and two pick-up loads of scrap wood.
The water heater was a chunk of rust.
I saved the sink and the stove/oven but not much else.
.
Next step is to remove the 'head'. (shower toilet combination)
It's all fiberglass so I MIGHT be salvageable.
I might try to sell it on a garage sell, along with the oven., maybe the sink
....or I might just toss them too.
.
The plan is to remove EVERYTHING except for the fiberglass.
.
ve haf ze technology...ve can rebuild it.
.
Including the stringers, the transom and the ribs.
I plan to make it MUCH MUCH stronger than it was before.
.

.
I've often thought of PhilTheil's FriendShip.
I like the wheel house, elevated in the rear.
.

The other day I saw this.
I like it too.
.
I'm still considering dual sternwheels for power.
.

.

.

.

.
But the SteemDreem will be Solar Electric.
.

.

.
finding the right motor is going to be the hard part.

Stay tuned
for

The Continuing Saga

Sort:  

Interesting build? So you are planning an electric motor as well? I give you credit not only for taking the time to do this but for your creativity in redoing it your own style. I'm personally having trouble replacing the marine plywood floor in my own boat. Kudos and good luck!

Two electric motors. One for each wheel. Each one independently powered and controlled.
.
I have nothing but time (I'm retired)
I MIGHT have bit off more than I can chew...won't be the first time.
One of my plans is to use a LOT of foam. The two part stuff that you mix, pour, and it expands...ten or twenty times. There will be NO voids in the boat. Everything will be monoque when I get done.

Oh you said that word retired ... 2 and a half years to go .... Looking good on the steem dream ... Got a few days off here so might get somthing done on mine ... Cheers..

This might be my favorite project that any steemian is doing. You will have your river queen known as what, the "steem queen." Dual paddles would give you that riverboat gambler look, sweet. Actually I see you've already named her the "SteemDreem", forgive my obtuseness.

dual paddles, differential power, would make it handle like a zero turn radius riding lawn mower.

If you can Dream It, you can Steemit! Great progress, I look forward 2 many updates

I expect it to take years.
It's powered by Steem
when I earn more Steem...I buy more tools and materials.

It's gonna be awesome when she's done. Looking forward to see how you will attach those paddle wheels. I know you were looking for some solid batteries for your system, waterproof marine batteries to power those wheels are going to be very heavy. Wish I knew more about storing power, guess I got some stuff to learn this holiday. ^^

heavy is good. I want a LOT of weight right down the keel. Hundreds of pounds..maybe a ton.
It originally had twin engines...how much you reckon two engines and outdrives weighed?

Loading...

I like your floating sailing boat and other sailing boats

Hey, Captain...;)) I imagined you steeming from in there lol may the karma be with you

How long you expecting to be working on this?

until I get it done...months for sure...perhaps years.

Wow! Years? Long-term project then... Looking forward to the final result though :)

Just keep in mind that the paddles aren't that efficient.

I've heard that argument before...I'm not convinced.
I suspect it would depend on the intended application.
for example
How efficient is a high speed propeller when it hits a rock in shallow water? Paddle wheel don't care...it just rolls over it..

I'm not saying it's a bad idea just not as efficient which may have an impact on the size and weight of batteries and solar panels.

Great plans, love the name all you need now is the manpower but your doing great so far.

it keeps me off the streets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76