My Evening with Captain Malcolm Reynolds from Firefly!

in #boardgame8 years ago (edited)


No, I didn't get to meet him in real life. But I did get the next best thing last night...I played the Firefly boardgame with @demmetros. Being the first to choose their captain, how couldn't I pick Malcolm Reynolds as well as choose Serenity as my ship! This was my first time playing so why not go for nostalgia.



First let me say that this game was a ton of fun after getting the hang of it about 30 minutes. Each turn you could perform two actions, with options like mosey (move 1 square on the board without drawing alliance or reaver attention, full burn (move about 5 squares but had to flip an alliance or reaver card to see if I got to keep flying, had an option to stop for a salvage mission, or encountered an alliance or reaver ship which could make bad things happen like death of some crew or illegal cargo/fugitives being seized.) The bulk of this game revolved around resource and turn management. To win, we had to complete three goals in order; be solid with two contacts (by completing at least one job,) acquire 6000 dollars, and then travel to Ezra to payoff the loan shark. I think there are other story cards (and expansions) in the game with different goals to keep it fresh from game to game.

Full Size Image

The game board itself was rather large with the Alliance controlled areas in blue (only the Allience cruiser monitors this space) and everything else was Fringe Areas in yellow (which only the Reaver ship monitors.) At the start of the game you have two contacts, Harkin and Amnon Duul, and a job you can take for each.

Every player chooses where they would like thier game piece (my was orange) anywhere on the board to start off. From there you travel to start your first job, make new contacts, or head to one of the various shops for upgrades, equipment, or crew. Luckily we start with some fuel and spare parts in case of a breakdown.
















So here's a short version of how this game went.
I can honestly say I felt the full gambit of emotions on this one.


As I mentioned earlier I chose Captain Mal Reynolds as the leader of Serenity. Because he's just so dapper, I just had to buy him a sweet ride, Burgess's Hovering Bad-Ass Space Jeep.

I flew around the galaxy with Captain Mal, finishing a few jobs, only to find out that when a moral crew member does a legal, yet immoral job, they become demoralized and that made Captain Mal sad.

Things took a turn for the better when we managed to complete the next job of delivering illegal contraband, with a demoralized crew I might add. Muuaahaha! Captian Mal made sure we got our full $1600 space bucks and just as we were heading back to Serenity, @demmetros presented us with our first GOAL TOKEN for being solid with two contacts!! Now I needed to make a little bit more money.


Being fed up with the toil and trouble of hiding contraband in the ships stash Mal and I decided to just do legal jobs for a while. The stress of being on the lookout for, or boarded by the Alliance Cruiser crew, was just too much.

And just in the nick of time too, as we did a full burn towards the Georgia system, we caught the attention of these 'space police' who pulled us over and searched our shit. Thank the lord we'd just dumped that stuff off!


After losing precious time being hassled by the cops, we had to book it to make my delivery. Screw the Reavers, Full Burn! We managed to avoid an ambush, got to the planet, unloaded the cargo and got paid! BAM!! With $6000 space bucks in hand, the second Goal Token was in hand!! Next turn I just mosey over the neighboring planet of Ezra and pay off the loan shark to win the game! Victory Shall be Mine! Muuaahahaha!


But then, the competitor named Hopper to my left realizes that he can make his way to the final planet where he would complete a job, giving him the money needed to win. Was my journey across the galaxy with Captain Mal really going to end in failure?!?! Hopper did a full burn, drawing the attention of the authorities...surely this would guarantee our success! But wait, what's that! The perfect card allowing my opponent to slip away from the police.

Oh Noes!!!



Hopper landed on the final planet, got paid for his job, but had used his two actions. Mal nudged me and asked if the paying off the loan shark to win counted as it's own action....since my opponent had already used his two. Nobody was quite sure....so too the rulebook! @demmetros found that indeed paying off the loan shark counted as an action. Hopper couldn't win this round giving me the time I needed to beat him there!! I had WON!!!

P.S. Mal and I decided to revel in our victory afterwards by playing with Wash's dinosaur!




Image Sources:
Captain Mal
Firefly Board Game
Harkin and Amnon Duul
Rest of Pictures Were Taken with my Phone

Sort:  

Awesome! As a big Firefly fan I think I will have to try this one eventually, looks fun :)

@demmetros said it cost him about 50 us dollars. Absolutely worth it imo. I can see a ton of replay value!

I don't think I would ever play a boardgame like this. I have been severely traumatised after a particularly bad game of Monopoly where I lost despite cheating (which shouldn't be possible) so that has put me off them. but you basically had me at the mention of Firefly.

hahaha, how could you lose while cheating!?? Granted Monopoly can be quite traumatizing, have you ever tried Settlers of Catan? It's a classic

I'm not very good at it thats how!

My buddies got that, but I've not played it yet. Heard it's great!

It's really fun, you should give it a try, probably my favorite board game, though admittedly I don't play many.

Settlers of Catan rocks! Only Dominion comes close!

Dominion is really fun as well. I also like Betrayal at House on the Hill!

I need to try those out..hadn't heard of dominion before. Betrayal at house on the hill i think i've played before..build the 3 levels of the house with tiles and stuff? and one person ends up being the 'bad guy' or something? Been a while, lol

@sykochica Dominion is a card based game but its a lot of fun, I recommend checking it out! Yep you remember Betrayal correctly, explore a house one person becomes a traitor. It was pretty fun to play, though we lost to the traitor every time I played.

There are a few board games out there that are really worth playing, don't let monopoly dissuade you from giving others a chance :)

Haha, cheat better! We're already outlaws in the eyes of the alliance!

I didn't know there was a Firefly board game, but how cool! I love Firefly. Though, I'm still upset about what happened to Wash in the movie (he was my favorite character). This sounds like a fun time. :)

I had no idea either, but he had me hooked at firefly game. He got it at a local game shop, but the image source link for the board game image is direct to the manufacturer store.

If it makes you feel any better Wash was honored in the game both by the dinasaur (which got passed to whoever's turn it was) AND I picked him up as a member of my crew! (He gave +1 to full burn range, lol) I just didn't get a picture of him :(

Also love Firefly and want to play this :D

This post is shiny

Don't even know such a game exist. :-)

Love and miss that show. Guess I should purchase the game. :)

I'm always a little weary of shelling out 50 bucks, so many that I'd played once and that was it. This one though I'm itchin to play again! Def worth the money imo :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63373.75
ETH 3170.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88