The Martians Are Coming!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #boardgame5 years ago (edited)

"No one would have believed that in the last years of the 19th century that human affairs where being watched from the timeless worlds of space.
No one could have dreamed we were being scrutinized as someone with a microscope studies creatures that swarm and multiply in a drop of water.
Few man even considered the possibility of life on other planets and yet across the gulf of space minds immeasurably superior to ours regarded this Earth with envious eyes and slowly and surely they drew their plans against us."
Jeff Wayne

Tripods v Tank 1s.jpg
I have a print & play copy of a new Kickstarter game I want to try while I decide whether to purchase the add-on.
War of the Worlds: The New Wave features miniatures of fighting units on both sides (apparently they're "LARGE miniatures" - I'm not sure at what size it ceases to be a miniature?). The print and play version has pictures to cut out and use. This is all very well but the board isn't very big, even if I print it on two sheets of A4 and the pics are too big.
Therefore I need to make some temporary (not large) miniatures. So, out with the Nanoblocks!
Martian forces.jpg
Tripods and flying machines

I did the tripods first, as that's the fun one and proof of concept. The flying machines are okay.

UK Forces.jpg
Battleships and tanks

These are less good - hard to do them small and yet convincing. It's a challenge as I needed multiples of each model so I ran out of blocks.

Tripods v Tanks.jpg

“This isn't a war," said the artilleryman. "It never was a war, any more than there's war between man and ants.” H.G. Wells

Sort:  

You are super-creative Steemians!
Thank you and thanks to @c-squared to take me here 😉👍
Steem on!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Monica!

My name is @moncia90!
😆😅✌️

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice. That's super creative. I didn't know that was possible - "print and play" versions of a game. It's awesome that you can test the game before buying though. That's actually a really cool idea. It's too bad the board doesn't really fit on paper.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. The print & plays aren't always available, and I don't always bother play-testing - it can take a lot of ink, paper and effort. But this game was worth trying as I wasn't sure my partner would enjoy it.
Game 2.jpg
She did enjoy it, and the humans beat back the Martians in both rounds last night, so I'll be buying the expansion.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26