You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My New to Me 1990 BMW 325i E30

in #bmw7 years ago

Petrosteem! HA! If you follow Kickboxing.. Petrostyeem. :P

My motor only has 127k on the odo. Assuming the odo hasn't been abused, it should be relatively fresh motor given how low compression it is. I'm not going to lie though, when I take the car out of the city (I live in NYC) and out to the somewhat decent roads that you can find out here, I let her rip. So perhaps the previous owners have done the same and worn out the motor, but I don't have something to compare to. Maybe I need a dyno pull!

When you are talking about a rebuild, are we talking about top end only, rings and valves? Now were talking about changing the cams out.....sounds like its almost cheaper to do a M50 swap! I really wish there was a way to squeeze more MPG out of this little 2v motor.

Sort:  

Ha...good question. No I mean rebuilt as in EVERYTHING new and yes M50/M52 probably even V8 swap is cheaper in fact.

It's like with the S14 if you want an original era specific motor it piles up pretty quickly. In the end a matter of taste I guess. I can tell you some day why it has such poor gas mileage and I guarantee you won't believe it :). It's not cuz of the 2 valves though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59073.90
ETH 2519.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48