My New to Me 1990 BMW 325i E30

in #bmw7 years ago

New to Me

2 wheels is the right number of wheels however, as you grow up, you realize the need for a car because not everyone has a moto (but they should!). Eventually, your moto-friends end up in relationships, and grocery shopping on a motorcycle riding two-up might sound romantic, but the reality is that it's much more of a hassle then it is fun. That’s how I ended up with my last car, a 5 speed Saab 9-3 that was fun to drive, but an electrical nightmare. I got rid of it and welcome the new to me….

DSC07811.JPG

1990 BMW 325i E30


This car isn’t exactly exotic, nor hard to find. In fact there are plenty of them still out there driving themselves into the ground in some third world country. That’s sort of the beauty though. The car is time tested in rally racing, the unmaintained streets of third world countries, and even race tracks all around the globe. Adding on top of its legendary longevity, is the supurb handling of a lightweight unibody car. Unlike modern cars with a flat frame, the E30 feels like a rigid tank that’s as nimble as a butterfly and handles with just a slight bit of oversteer.

All cars have their own problems


Unfortunately, the car has two big problems, the first is it’s age. As with anything, time tends to corrode things, but the corrosion really hasn’t taken place on my new to me E30. The body is physically in great shape and the car’s interior is unmolested, save for a tear in the driver side seat and a cracked dash.

IMG_20170426_082203.jpg

IMG_20170423_111234.jpg

The paint’s original clear coat looks like the surface of a crack rock sold by a prostitute on the corner of east New York, but that’s a problem that can easily be solved with some elbow grease and a paint job. The 2nd problem is that the car is underpowered. At 2400lbs, the 325i’s 2.5L 169hp motor does 0-60 in god knows when and the car can barely get out of its own way. Perfectly acceptable for daily driving, but like any sensible human being with a lead foot, you’ll want to bump up the power…that will be a key point in this project.
emblem.png

My goals

My plan for this car is to first give the exterior a refresh by sanding of the old clear coat and throwing some new color on the body. Once the car looks the part, I’ll go over the mechanical with a fine comb to address any longevity issues. Then tackle the climate system (AC/Heater), before going to the motor to address the power issue.

The reality is that I paid next to nothing for this car, and while I could buy a brand new car and put up $600 a month in payments and insurance (then cry over the $1,000 bill when a sensor blows out within the first year), I much rather spend my time working on a car rather than working for the money to buy it. I would of spent less over all time working to pay for the car, and more time learning and enjoying a restoration job.

So join me on this adventure. I have never worked on a car before, so there will be plenty of screw ups along the way. I’ll be posting updates each week on my progress with the car and hopefully I’ll be able to give you guys an entertaining ride along the way!

IMG_20170423_111148.jpg

Sort:  

Lovely car man nice! Follow me back!

Sweet ride. I've followed you because I'm keen to see your future posts :D Maybe you could follow me back and help me out?

Nice car, from a fellow E30 driver I gotta say: Have fuuuun! If you wanna see how deep the rabbit hole can get, feel free to check out my (yet unfinished) never ending E30 story:

https://steemit.com/cars/@peterschroeter/7-years-in-the-making-1-rebuilding-and-restoring-a-30-year-old-bmw-twice

Oh and I gotta disagree with your comment regarding the power. First of all your engine most likely has around 150hp left in it max. Second these old 2-valve R6 engines need some kicking, below 3500 there's no power at all. A healthy 2.5 kicks in at 3500 and again at around 4700. When it's healthy it can easily keep up with a 335i around a track given all peripherals are in top shape so it ain't slow.

Then again you can always use more power right? A friend put a 360hp 3.8L M5 engine in one of these, that had 'melt your face off' acceleration. 50-180 in 3rd gear less than 3.5 seconds. So if you like a challenge there's a million ways to go about it.

Looking forward to see your progress and the metaphor regarding the clear coat was priceless!

Good reply man! I see a lot of steemit users post up meaningless replies that have no real point (but that's the story with any platform that offers $ for content right?)

That's a sick post you got there, followed! Im digging that car, its super clean and tastfully restored. What was your work schedule like for that vehicle? I'm struggling to find time between work and life to get cranking on the car. I wanted to drop the motor and do a full restoration like you, but there just isn't enough time to spend searching the internet for the right parts and to learn about the car to that level of detail and summer is here. I'll enjoy the car for what it is now, and spend time looking for the right motor to drop in.

Regards to the power, I can't say that 150HP is all that much, even with the E30's relatively low weight in mind. I come from a background of riding motorcycles, so cars (that I can afford at least) will never be "fast" enough for me! However, the E30 is such a fun car to drive that power doesn't become the driving point of it, rather its the fact that it is a relatively compact RWD car that is very well balanced and handles like its on rails. With that said, "melt your face off" acceleration is universally welcomed, as long as the car is still driveable. I've never driven anything but a stock E30, so I don't know where that point comes in.

I just started editing another video and blog so look out for that soon!

Thanks man, glad you like it!

As for work schedule I constantly struggle with exactly the same 'real life' obligations as you do so to cut a long story short it took around 18 months to do the research and source parts for the engine (had to buy many parts twice or even three times until I got what I wanted), another 6 months to build and finalize the engine. Installation of drivetrain and replacing worn suspension parts etc. took maybe 2-3 days at most. Disassembly of the old one took 3 days in total. As for the new one I'll get to that in my next blog but it's not really a good showcase cuz pretty much everything that could go wrong did go wrong.

Agreed with your approach to what driving E30 is all about. That said you will appreciate a healthy 2.5L in there. Trust me 98% or all 325i drivers have no idea how smooth and fast the car originally was cuz all they do is drive around with worn out engines so a simple rebuilt of what you got plus a cam and some intake work is already gonna go a long way!

If you want to save some time in removing that dash, I'll provide a step-by-step how-to in my blog. I've done it around 10 times by now so...

And yeah people upvote, comment, resteem etc out of a profit making calculation which as far as I can see works for maybe 2% of all who are taking that approach :). If we can build some kind of car culture here, call it #PETROSTEEM, I'm happy!

Petrosteem! HA! If you follow Kickboxing.. Petrostyeem. :P

My motor only has 127k on the odo. Assuming the odo hasn't been abused, it should be relatively fresh motor given how low compression it is. I'm not going to lie though, when I take the car out of the city (I live in NYC) and out to the somewhat decent roads that you can find out here, I let her rip. So perhaps the previous owners have done the same and worn out the motor, but I don't have something to compare to. Maybe I need a dyno pull!

When you are talking about a rebuild, are we talking about top end only, rings and valves? Now were talking about changing the cams out.....sounds like its almost cheaper to do a M50 swap! I really wish there was a way to squeeze more MPG out of this little 2v motor.

Ha...good question. No I mean rebuilt as in EVERYTHING new and yes M50/M52 probably even V8 swap is cheaper in fact.

It's like with the S14 if you want an original era specific motor it piles up pretty quickly. In the end a matter of taste I guess. I can tell you some day why it has such poor gas mileage and I guarantee you won't believe it :). It's not cuz of the 2 valves though.

Congratulations @motoengineer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice. I feel for ya - E39 here, and I know what you mean about the constant battle with ageing plastics and rubber.
Looking forward to see the progress. There's an similar intro post of my old E39 on my page you might enjoy...
Followed.

I'll be sure to check it out!

The first time I stepped into an M3 as a passenger I shat myself lol...

Was your experience similar if you have been in one? PLease tell me about it in my thread :)

https://steemit.com/cars/@yoda1917/my-bmw-330ci-convertible-has-torque-but-today-i-shat-my-pants-in-a-bmw-m3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06