You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Blue Paper has been translated into French!

in #bluepaper6 years ago

I realized that there are more and more German users around and it's great to read that same happens with French-speaking users! :) I'll try to translate my posts into all the languages that I'm capable of writing in (English, French and German).

But what I'm still missing is a variety of multi-language tools on Steem. For now, the overall experience on Steemit is in "English with (sometimes) multi-lingual workarounds".

For example I see

  • content that is handling several languages in a single post. That means you have to scroll past all the other languages. Moreover, it leads to sometimes quite complex post titles.
  • one post per language for the same content with fills your newsfeed unnecessarily
  • steemit.com, steem.io and so on are all completely in English. That also requires you to share the French version of the Blue Paper on comprendre-steem.fr and GitHub. Or in other words: a completely different place in the world wide web.

All this makes everything around Steem less structured (e. g. a French Newbie informing himself on steem.io might never find your French version of the Blue Paper) and less comfortable to use.

As you demonstrated greatly (thanks a lot for that! :)) and as I know from my own experience, big communities have the power to translate their platforms themselves (look at Facebook). Plus: Steemit members could be rewarded for their work.

But there is still no possibility to actually use that "power" to create multi-lingual platforms around the Steem blockchain (following the example of d.tube, at least for the platform, not for the content).

Hopefully this comment was the right place to share my opinion :)

Sort:  

Whoops, that comment turned out longer than I expected it to be :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94