You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Facebook's endgame my be far more sinister than we think.

in #blogs6 years ago

Steem is an interesting case. We have to realize that in terms of data collection, everyone has the ability to mine the blockchain for all our activities and info. At the same time, the data may be less involved, as the blockchain won’t contain things like the sites you came from & exited to, links clicked, articles read, time on a page, etc.

Individual Steem based sites could track in more detail, ala FaceBook, but without our data being proprietarily held hostage, we have freedom to move to other, less intrusive front ends.

The most important thing to me is actually the lack of display algorithms. The purely linear feed of exactly what I follow is the big differentiator. My data is out there, but I’ll choose a site that I don’t feel is using it to manipulate me!

Sort:  

I think the algorithm makes a big difference. On FB they can (and have) modified the feed to get specific reaction samples. On Steemit, there are interactions but they are completely random and not being culled and stored by a central entity. It would be a lot more hassle on here to get worthwhile data samples.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17