Bicycle Postcard From My Hometown

in #blog6 years ago

I almost never take photo's. There's not one post you can find with a photograph taken by myself. Sure, there's lots of screenshots and some light editing in GIMP by my hand, but somehow I almost never feel the urge or need to shoot a picture of life.


fietsen_vissen.jpg
Fishing for Bikes in the canals of Groningen | The Netherlands
source: Skitterphoto


Sometimes I regret that, especially knowing how the human memory tends to re-shape images stored there from the past. I think I know the faces of my friends from long ago, but I know that when I see a picture from someone I haven't seen for decades, what I see is almost never exactly what I remember; my mental image doesn't correspond with reality as made eternal on photo-sensitive paper. I should make more photos really.


fietsen1_small.jpg
One small bike-stand of three levels high - Picture by @zyx066

So last week I took some photos at work and I discovered something funny: when you take pictures with a camera (I used the one on my mobile as I don't own a real camera), you look at things differently! First I thought "why take a photo when I see this every day", but then I saw how stupid that thought is; it's normal to me and it's normal now. I change every second, as does everybody, so tomorrow I'm not the same man as I am today. There's been so much changes in the world during my life; the neighborhood where I grew up still has the same streets, houses and gardens, but I don't recognize it anymore. It is I that has changed.


fietsen2_small.jpg
It says on the yellow banner that bicycles can be parked here for free (there is surveillance personel checking on the vehicles regularly) for up to 12 days, after which you'll have to pay 25 euro to get it back.
Picture by @zyx066


Photos don't only keep track of the changes in the world you're part of, it keeps track of the changes in yourself too, and I don't mean the self-portraits :-) The pictures are from my hometown of Groningen, the Netherlands, at the place where I work near the central train station. I don't know where you come from, dear reader, but here the main mode of transport is the bicycle. There is more place for parking bicycles then there if for cars; on these pictures there's only the small bicycle parking lot as the really big one is underground. The Netherlands is a real bicyclist's heaven; a lot of the infrastructure and city-logistics are aimed specifically at the two-wheeled pedal-machines.


trein1_small.jpg
You can barely see the small moon in the night sky - Picture by @zyx066

It's still light and daytime when I start working, but when I go home it's almost midnight; that's why my posts get here 3 or 4AM my time ;-) I took two pictures from the 9th floor and again looking at the OLED preview on my mobile I saw the trainstation with different eyes. It looks quite beautiful like this. But I was also reminded of how much this artificial light traps us in our own little world; you can barely see the moon in the distance and the sky should be full of stars... Come to think of it; people who never leave the city will never be able to gaze into the distance of millions of light-years and see the true majesty of the surrounding universe. That must have such a profound effect on peoples's "mindsets"...


trein2_small.jpg
Too much artificial light? - Picture by @zyx066

Well, that's it for today my friends; I can't stay up as late as usual because I have an early morning appointment, in a couple of hours. I can't leave without expressing my gratitude to you however; I thank you for stopping by my blog today and hope to see you back here tomorrow as I try to keep up my schedule of one post per day. Until then, feel the change in yourself as well as in the universe, and keep steeming!


wave-13 divider odrau steem

Recent articles you might be interested in:

Latest article >>>>>>>>>>>Blake's 7 And My Love For Science
HF20 Still Looking GoodCapitalism Explained By Apple
HF20 Is Looking Good; Just Need Some Patience...About Income Inequality
Nature And UsMy Musical Origins

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Thanks for stopping by and reading. If you really liked this content, if you disagree (or if you do agree), please leave a comment. Of course, upvotes, follows, resteems are all greatly appreciated, but nothing brings me and you more growth than sharing our ideas. It's what Steemit is made for!
Helpienaut_post_banner_02-01.png

I am a proud helpinaut! @Helpie is looking for new members! Helpie has been growing nicely and we are always on the lookout for new valuable members. We are very supportive and community oriented. If you would like to be scouted for @helpie , please drop a comment on THIS POST or contact @paintingangels on discord at paintingangels(serena)#3668.

wave-13 divider odrau steem

Just for Full Disclosure, I'm invested in these crypto-currencies:

Bitcoin | Litecoin | EOS | OmiseGo | FunFair | KIN | Pillar | DENT | Polymath | XDCE | 0x | Decred | Ethereum | Carmel | XYO

wave-13 divider odrau steem

@helpie is a WITNESS now! So please help @helpie help you by voting for us here!Helpie_01.png

Sort:  

Upvoted.

Thank you, that's much appreciated @yehey!

You're welcome. Cheers to you.

Hi @zyx066!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.362 which ranks you at #7032 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 477 contributions, your post is ranked at #132.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90