You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Omega Speedmaster Triple date.

in #blog4 years ago

Great article, mate. It's great to find another Steemian that's interested in watches. Very informative, too, since I never heard about the Triple Date before.

This is quite the gem that you have, equally complicated and cool. If I were you, I'd definitely won't sell it, since it's far too precious and cool to have, especially as a conversation starter! I do like a Speedmaster (though I'm personally more of a Rolex fan... ), especially the recent Co-Axial Chronometer watches.

I suppose my interest for cars come into play, as you've described it, the Speedmaster line is very much a watch worn by astronauts, racing drivers, and just about many heroes that we've come to know and admire.

OmegaSpeedmasterRacingCoAxialMasterChronometer32933445101001ChronographMETASaBlogtoWatch3.jpgOmegaSpeedmasterRacingCoAxialMasterChronometer32933445101001ChronographMETASaBlogtoWatch35.jpg

Credits to: Ablogtowatch

Sort:  

Thank you. I would love a Rolex submariner or the Daytona however i don't have the kind of money they go for. I once looked for my perfect watch at Rolex and i found a rose gold Daytona which was £30000. I also like the gold Sky Dweller which is around £35000, I have expensive taste. You never know i might make it to a Rolex one day. Although the Daytona dosn't have a date which is one of the things i like about the speedmaster. I would have also had the moon landing watch if that had the date on it but sadly not. So if you want the date and you want the speedmaster you might as well do it properly and have the triple date. I must admit i kind of wanted a triple date the first time i saw one. Took me a while but eventually i found the one you see here with the box papers and a shop warranty. Well worth the wait getting a decent example. There is another i like which is the same triple date however in the bottom dial there is a moon and a sun which is a good looking watch. I can only find it on the white dial though and i like my blue dials.

Thanks for reading my article.

Mark

Cheers, mate. It's a great article :-)

Personally, I don't see the need to have a date function, hence I really like the symmetry of the Daytonas without the date window. But I can see why people may want a date function, and a Speedmaster is a great choice.

The great thing about Rolexes are that they maintain their values very well. They're pretty costly to buy, but once you have it, you can keep it for years to come, knowing that you haven't lost a lot of money in depreciation.

I think the one brand that you want to take a look at, just for curiosity's sake, is Grand Seiko. I've admired their craft from afar, and they're definitely worth the consideration if you're looking for a new watch soon.

Beautiful dials, god-tier finishing and attention to detail, Omega pricing, and exceedingly accurate movements. The only downside, is that some of their watches are a bit chunky, and perhaps not suitable for our small wrists.

GrandSeikoSBGC2036.jpgGrandSeikoDiver3.jpgGrandSeikoBlueCeramicGMTSpecial2.jpgGrandSeikoChampagedial12212.jpg

Credits to: Time and Tide

I totally get you with the Rolex thing. I would love one and the ones to have that go up in price the best are the stainless steel ones. Although i would have thought the gold ones would be best. I once looked for a submariner and i wanted one built in 1975, the same age as me. Well it took me ages to find one and when i did it was way out of the kind of money i had to pay. It was worth more then a brand new one. There is also a two year waiting list for the new one. I've seen people getting a place on the waiting list then when they are near the end they sell there place in the queue or they sell the watch unworn for more then Rolex do, only you can have it today. The one thing i like about omega is the Rolex submariner only comes in one size, then there is the deep sea which is even bigger. With the seamaster it comes in three different sizes, 40 38 and 36mm cases. My seamaster is the 38mm as i think the 40 mm is a bit big for my wrist and the 36 mm looks a bit like a ladys watch which is a positive note if your a lady who wants one. Can't do that with the Rolex its one size only. Its the same with my speedmaster. I have the 38mm case as i've got small wrists and it looks spot on. But if you have big wrists you can buy 39mm and a 42mm size that i know off. Where the Rolex daytona only comes in 40mm and thats it. So you get a better choise with the omega, you can chose to have a no date, a date, a day date or the triple date. So theres definitely more out there for omega owners to chose from. However, I have a friend with a Rolex Submariner, everybody gathers around his Rolex while hardly anybody takes any notice of my Seamaster. So there can be no argument there, The Rolex is defiantly the most desirable.

Yep, Rolex certainly has the desirability factor, while Omega does give you more options, not just in size, but also in configuration. Going through the various options on their website will take you some time, because there's just a flavour for everyone.

The watch that we dream for is definitely a Rolex, though Omegas and Grand Seikos are the ones that we can get today - relatively affordable, and no waiting lists... :-)

So if you had millions in your bank account and you had a contact that could get you any watch you wanted with no waiting list, what would you have? As for me because i've got a seamaster, and a speedmaster. The watch i would own if money was no problem would be the Rolex sky-dweller in everose gold. Beautiful watch and the pictures on the website don't do it any justice. The coloring of the metal when you actually see it in the shop window is something else. In the real world its £35000 though, so i'd say i won't be able to afford that one anytime soon.

Well, if I had millions in the bank, and a contact list which meant no waiting list, the dream watch would be a ceramic Daytona, in black and white.
image.png
Credits to: Monochrome Watches

The Daytona is just simply elegant and timeless, fitting in any occasion, either for sporting, or a cocktail party. I'd also take a Patek Philippe Nautilus. Although not as sporty as a Rolex, Omega, or Grand Seiko, it does have the fine qualities of a dress watch. According to some people, the Nautilus has a waiting list up to 8 years :o
image.png
Credits to: Time and Tide

Very nice, With an 8 year waiting list you would need that contact who can get it for you. or to want it very much.

Yep. When Kevin O' Leary got his Nautilus, he cried, given how much he likes it, and how long he's had to wait. For Patek Philippe, there's no shortcut, even if you're the No.1 in the world, although there are some unique circumstances where people managed to get them without having to wait long at all. Those lucky bastards...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01