Running Matters #13

in #blog6 years ago

"There's only one direction ... and that's full steam ahead" - My Motto last week!

fullsteamahead.jpg
Image Source: sdtimes.com

Life goes on!

A very productive week if I may say so myself! It all started last Friday with a visit to a school in Zürich. I had a meeting with the principal as I was (still am) interested in a certain course, but unfortunately I lack the needed qualifications and experiences to do it. He did open my eyes into other options which I am currently looking into. I also shared my doubts about this study with you guys on Monday in my post Shall I go back to school?. I got great responses from you guys and I really needed that to build up my confidence and to re-affirm what’s the right thing to do. Especially @sams-world, @empress-eremmy, @fedescolari, @lil-mich & @droida’s comments really helped me push my decision making in the right direction.

Tonight I have a call with a second school I am considering, next week I am visiting another school and I am also looking into a fourth school, also in Zürich to help myself creating a good all-round picture of available educations, before deciding on a final one that suits my personal requirements as listed in my post from Monday.

netta_barzilai_toy_eurovision_son_contest_winner_2018.jpg
Netta Barzilai wins the Eurovision Song Contest with the song "Toy". Image Source: ynetnews.com

Saturday was pretty uneventful and despite Israel being favourites to win the Eurovision Song Contest, I didn’t even know it was on that day, so I just went to sleep early and missed the whole event. Sunday in contrast was a very busy day with family and friends and also scheduling a run in between all of it. The run was a highlight on its own, but I won’t give away too much about that, you can read what happened in my running post from last Sunday.

Monday was a quiet day when it comes to working with my PiL’s, except for the fact that I had to take my son with me to them as he was a little ill. However that gave me enough time to put my thoughts to paper and get your advice about my fears of starting a new education at the age of 39. Once again thank you for all your feedback!

Employee-Rights-300x253.jpg
Image Source: en.slp.ch

On Tuesday I learnt that my notice period is extended by another month. This is due to the fact that I had to visit the doctor with a work-related incident. When I came back from my holiday I straight away had pains in my back, I’d been suffering with ”office injuries” ever since I started working for my employer over 5 years ago and I’ve seen a physiotherapist a few times over the years. Before that I had jobs where I spent a lot of time moving, walking and standing and this is the first place where I got pains in my arm, back, neck, etc. When I came back from holiday and the pains started again I knew something must’ve been off and I visited my doctor right away. He gave me medicine and prescribed me physiotherapy again.

Apparently in Switzerland it’s the law that once you are fired you should have enough time to find a new job, so if you fall ill (even just one day), your employer needs to compensate you that time to look for another job. That would also extend the notice period, but as they’re not allowed to dismiss you in the middle of a month, the period is extended by a complete month. I have no idea whether you can keep repeating this for an unlimited time or whether it’s capped at a certain amount of months.

In the meantime I managed to finish off my CV and send the first job-applications out, however I still had to wait on my reference until today (almost 2 months since they announced that they were firing me). Not only did they hinder my ability to apply for jobs in this period, the way it’s written is a complete insult on all the stuff I have done for them.

badreference_final_for_web_whnx1b.jpeg
Image Source: shrm.org

First of all, it looks like it’s done by a 5 year old and a huge difference from the one I received 2 years ago. Besides the wording it is also lacking any consistency and doesn’t make any sense. It is also not an accumulation of the stuff I have on my reference from 2 years ago and stuff that I requested to be included were left out. My friend @felander experienced the same thing, so we’re taking the weekend to have a proper look at them and then compare notes on Tuesday and go back to our HR.

On Wednesday I finally managed to start on my travel-blog again and write about our experiences in Dubai. This is not only the longest and most detailed travel post I’ve written to date, I think it is also the biggest post I’ve written overall and you guys really seemed to appreciate it. If you haven’t read it yet, have a look at my journey to Dubai and I look forward to reading your comments.

Yesterday evening I participated in a free running event that is being organised by a local chain of sports-stores Ochsner Sport. In these events they cover everything about running from proper technique to rehabilitation and how to warm up properly. These evenings last about 3 hours and give you a good indication about the running sport, what to do and what not to do.

viktor_roethlin_in_action_at_the_ochsner_sport_running_event.JPG
Viktor Röthlin at the Ochsner Sport event yesterday evening showing his moves 😀

The cool thing, besides the fact that these sessions are free, is that they’re led by previous professionals. This is the second time I attended this event, back in September the session was led by Daria Nauer (who was there yesterday again) with Urs Gerig and yesterday the event was led by Viktor Röthlin who has won several marathons, most notably the Tokyo (2008) and Barcelona (2010) ones.

patrouille_suisse_live_in_action.JPG
To top the week off, I was a live witness this morning off the Patrouille Suisse showing off their moves!

That was my week, how was yours? Are you looking forward to the weekend and do you have anything planned?

My highlight of the week!

My highlight of last week was a real high … well, not at the time when I felt lost, but getting lost and the feeling around it, added to the extreme climbs I did in that run and finally finding my was back and doing exactly what I set out to do, makes that for me the absolute highlight of the week.

My posts last week:

<center< >

Vote for me as your witness

If you want more information about what the witness is about, have a look at my post Swisswitness is Alive!

Please vote for us as your witness, the easiest way is to click on this link https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=swisswitness&approve=1 and click on 'continue'.

Another way is to go to this page: https://steemit.com/~witnesses and scroll down until you see this box:

Swisswitness_vote.png

Type ‘swisswitness’ and click on 'VOTE'!

If you don't care about witnesses, give me your proxy vote and you will automatically vote for the witnesses that I vote for. To set a proxy, follow the same link and scroll until you see this box:

Type ‘wolfje’ and click on 'SET PROXY'!

Thanks

Doron 🐺

Sort:  

Sounds like you are a very busy person... I learned a long time ago that where you are going is often less important than the fact that you are going. Don't stop moving.

Thanks, I'll try to keep that in mind!

Nothing can stop a consistent Runner.
@runningproject

Resteemed by @runningproject

Hello, I'm new, I hope you follow me as I did, and then you look at my blog, excellent work, it continues, blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59841.39
ETH 2413.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43