Entry #1 - My journey - Sport - Split SeaWolves

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Split SeaWolves. I will say it again but slowly, SPLIT...SEAWOLVES!

For those who don't know, I am from Split, Croatia. I always played football (soccer) as a kid. In my country it's the most popular sport. From age 5-6 until 24 I was ALL FOOTBALL! Nothing was more important than football. But...

Since I am kind of man that is more about sport and the feelings behind it than money, I somehow lost interest in football. I am 'Old School' and money just ruined the core of the football, the feelings. This is how I feel and believe me, it was the toughest decision I ever made in my life - to leave football.

I went from kinda obsessed to a fairly sad kid

But hey, that's just life and I took it well... I had some phase for about one year and didn't practice anything. It was kinda rough time but luckily my friend told me about Split SeaWolves. First, I must tell you that I never saw my high school friend practice anything, and now he tells me about 'these' Split SeaWolves. I was like What? You? Why?

I was a bit shocked that he even practice anything, and more to that AMERICAN FOOTBALL. I was like 'Okeeeey' but how did you find anybody who plays American football here? It was like a shock to me after he told me there is even a Team in our city, named Split SeaWolves!

For 3-4 months I knew he practice American Football, but I was like ''OK That's cool'', until I realized I am doing almost nothing. I am not practicing and I'm really mentally and physically in really bad shape! Then came the day I asked him about 'that' American Football and 'those' Split SeaWolves!

What is American Football? Who are Split SeaWolves? These 2 questions changed my life

All I knew about this new sport is that there is a Quarterback and he throws a ball. Why does he do it? Who knows. To whom he throws the ball? Who knows. What are the rules? Who knows... This was all of my knowledge about American Football and it was really confusing!

He passionately told me 'all' about the sport and Split Seawolves(SSW). Especially about the Split SeaWolves (SSW). From the beginnings and playing on the parking lot to practicing on a small futsal field. It was a tough beginning, but Split SeaWolves (SSW) started their journey.

They even had an American coach who met his future wife in the city of Split.

Few days passed and I couldn't forget how he passionately told me about everything, about players and sport. Everything I love in sports it seems that American Football has. Tactics, Passion, Team Work, Dedication, Motivation, etc. Those are the things I'm really passionate about and I was really intrigued by it. So, of course, what do you think? That I'm just gonna stay home. Hell NO!


It was July of 2013 when I first joined Split SeaWolves

It was the second day of the SSW Camp 2013 and I remember it was a hot summer day. Out of shape, both mentally and physically, I came to practice with my friend. After I met other guys and coaches it was time to try the pads and helmet on! I got excited I'll get to try a new experience and boy it was worth it! It felt like a whole new world when I put pads and helmet on!


My old friend ( Defensive end ) and me ( Wide receiver/Slot ATM )

Next 3 days I had really good time practicing and learning the sport. Yes, I was confused as any new man would be in this sport, but SSW Camp 2013 helped me a lot with its super cool American coaches. They had the patience to explain me basics of the sport and correct me each time I failed some drill. It was tough time then, but coaches motivated me so I managed to make some plays, have fun and meet new people. Dedication and love these coaches and players had got me thinking I could stay in this sport for a while. But...

After 4 days Camp ended and I had to go to my 2nd home on the island Of Korčula

Oh, I cannot describe how sad I was. I was so hyped to go to next practice but couldn't because I needed to help my parents around the house. But, I stayed in contact with my new Team and after a while, I couldn't miss any more practice so I started coming to Split by ferry (3.5 hours). I just wanted to see my new teammates and start practicing and learning. Maybe I was inpatient or in love, who knows! But, when I came back to practice first thing I heard was that we're playing our first game in history in 2 months against Sarajevo Spartans. I thought I was not prepared but also I wanted to play and see how good or bad I am. It was mid-August (about one month after SSW Camp) when I started to practice again.

I was getting ready for my first American football game ever, and it was an amazing feeling!

Three days a week on the field, 2 days a week in the gym and 3 hours per practice is not enough in this sport. We needed to be ready for next game and I had to learn our Playbook. Playbook is where all offense and defense plays are, and our plans and strategy to win the game. That was also new experience but I took it with ease and really got into it. I wanted to know the whole playbook. See, I love tactics and mind games a lot in sports so I wanted to prepare more than anybody.


This is a glimpse of our first Playbook. It was really cool to learn these plays.

As the days gone by, we had some ups and downs but most of all we had fun and we worked hard for our first game in history. Summer passed and all we had on our mind is That game. We were so hyped that we didn't want to go home after practice. We talked about our strategy, about our plays, who will play this position who will play that position. We were new in this but when you're together your obstacles seem much smaller and easier to go through.

So came the day we went to Sarajevo. Sarajevo is a city in Bosnia and Herzegovina and it's approx 250km from Split. We were new Team in our city so we only had 20 players and Sarajevo already played for few years. More to that, we didn't have full equipment for all players so we found some crazy unsafe solutions, but hey! We wanted to play! Fortunately, we played 8v8 and it was a bit easier for my new Team. But my happiness was sky high!


Having fun and warming up



I will stop here and continue in my Entry #2. I will talk about my first season and how we almost won our first little tournament. From going to Sarajevo to playing finals in my hometown.

If you liked my story, feel free to follow me for more! Until then...


Thanks for reading, good day or good evening! Oh, and don't forget to spread LOVE! ;)

DON'T MISS DAILY POSTS ON:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/scienceadventures44
INSTAGRAM: https://www.instagram.com/whackscience

( STEEMIT: https://steemit.com/@whack.science )

Sort:  

Hey @whack.science, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! :)

So you managed to read this in 38 seconds?

Odlično! Ovaj sport ima više i više fanova i u Europi. Kolegi mi se uvjek čude zašto ostajem budan do 4-5 ujutro kad pratim NFL. =)

Trenutno jedan od najbrže rastujućih sportova u Europi, a i u Hrvatskoj je lijepo počelo. Super šta pratiš, uvik je to lipo čut pošto nas nema puno! :D

I understand completely your enthusiasm and emotions for sports. Although I play futsal, but the basics are the same, teamwork, fun, physical exercise and of course a beer or two(sometimes three) after a match. Great too see a new sport rising in my great city

Futsal is great! I loooove it, but haven't played it in a while :( Yeah, hope you're gonna hear more about Split SeaWolves!

To hear the speech version of this post click the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Awesome but I was always thinking how American Football is too rough and hard sport lol I didn't know that we have American Football in Croatia :)

Yeah, it's a bit rough but when somebody wants to hit you, you need to be rough.. But after the game we're gentlemens :D :D

Good post whack. Really nice, didn't even know about american football in Croatia, but I liked how you lead us through your mind and experience.
Have a nice day - @tonac :D

Yes, it's true :D We got Am. football.. We're still fighting so people can hear our voice, but I'm glad I showed this sport to y'all!
Stay tuned ;)

Cool, keep it up and I hope you're good :P

Congratulations @whack.science, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 5190 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4049.85. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

That's cool info! I'm glad you found me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92