[Homeless] Daily Update #1 - (Day 3 - Made it to Colorado.....but!)

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

The Trip to Colorado

I stopped in Amarillo, TX on the way up and got a bite to eat at the Petro Truckstop (Soup and Salad Bar).

IMG_20170708_105549.jpg

Then on way out of town I swung by the Big Texas. One of the most famous landmarks in Texas. The property is famous for it's old west town look....and for its massive steaks. They have a 72 oz. steak and if you eat it all (with trimmings) it is FREE! If you don't though you will be washing dishes for a month to pay for it.

IMG_20170708_105755.jpg

IMG_20170708_105852.jpg

IMG_20170708_105846.jpg

IMG_20170709_064141.jpg

In Colorado

After a brief stop in Trinidad, CO to visit CannaCo to pick up some goodies (will write about them later) I cut through the mountains on CO69 to US50 to US285 to US24 to where I am now in Buena Vista, CO at a Love's Country Store (wannabe truckstop).

Things aren't good now though. The brakes on my truck are leaking brake fluid. The rear end is slipping and getting really really hot ( it smells like it is on fire) and the poor engine in my old van is starting to make funny noises. If it breaks down I (or worse burns down) am royally and totally screwed. I am going to hang out here at the Love's and let it cool down before I head through more mountains and into Vail, CO then on up through Carbondale, CO to what I hope will be my home for a while in Glenwood Springs, CO.

Also my cellphone (Blue Life One X2) will not pickup T-Mobile signal in this part of Colorado. Apparently T-Mo is using a new band in this area and the phone won't pick it up at all. Had to switch back to my old Samsung Galaxy J7 with a busted screen so I have cell service but even it is spotty.

On the way up though I stopped in Westcliffe, CO for a few minutes. They where having a Bluegrass Festival but sadly I couldn't afford the price of admission! I did get some pictures and video though so enjoy!

SUNP0001.JPG

SUNP0003.JPG


Uploading via crappy cellphone connection so video won't be available for an hour or two!

Then I stopped along the river in Canyon State Park and shot this video!


Uploading via crappy cellphone connection so video won't be available for an hour or two!

Update #1

I made it across the bad mountains and into Vail, CO. Then blew a tire, had to get sheriff to bring me a jack because I couldn't find the handle for mine. Then 2 miles after I put my spare tire on I lost all brakes. To make matters worse my engine is running like ass, front passenger side break is smoking like a mother and the rear end is leaking like a sieve.

But I poked along and made it to Glenwood Springs, CO (my intended destination) sitting in a walmart parking lot right now as I got here well after dark and do not want to try and find a place to set up camp in the dark with no brakes.

*** If there is anyone with a spare Van or Small (like really small) Motorhome (seriously small like Van sized) I could sure use it right about now......this van gonna cost way way way more to fix than it is worth (or that I have). ***

Update #2

Serious thanks goes out to @mobbs for his more than generation donation of SBD.

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

DQmRhDtjokAZnGKi4QwheqksKTFo6m4fsjMYsNNrsitC1xk.gif

DQmTvsJsWMLG1nA4CA77osbpML51CaxmrHWsCGa6enQCmAW_1680x8400.png

I am a proud supporter of minnowsupportproject (aka minnowsupport), if you haven't already joined check them out over on their Discord Channel by clicking below:

U5drWMHTzho28CV1Lm6Awwys14VUvHq.gif

Sort:  

@venuspcs you blew by my property in Moffat...but if you need a place to park your vehicle and hang you can stay on my property - across from Joyful Journey Hot Springs Rte 17 where you can go to take a shower and use their outdoor grill to cook food... you prob have to pay for the shower though - In Leadville there is a place to get a shower right on Rt. 9 - it is next door to Sailor McGee Liquor store...if you need one - I don't remember how much it is... if you are a veteran there are great services in CO - we live in homeless veteran supported housing in Denver... with a housing authority voucher. You just have to be willing to go through the system - ie get a counselor and possibly go through the domiciliary program, if things don't work out in Glenwood OR you could start the process there possibly. Also be aware of Denver Homeless Out Loud - they are building a tiny home village in Denver right now. https://denverhomelessoutloud.org/ Colorado is not a friendly state to homeless people BUT there are starting to be some inroads. The mayor of Denver is a satanic freak who has been in office for TOO long (not that it matters since government does not work) and Colorado is the home of the NWO - but Love Conquers All. I hope it works out in Glenwood because the Hotsprings are very healing.

Us fat guys don't do well camping in the heat of the High Desert....hence the reason I am trying to make it into the mountains where it is cooler in the day and gets cooler at night.

Very nice of you sir

This post has been upvoted by @teamphilippines . Thank you for supporting our TeamPhilippines Movement by upvoting, resteeming, delegating, or donating to this account to allow us to support our growing team more and more each day!

You should become a carny... you would fit right in. Plus you love to ride.. rofl.

I have actually been a Carney....Texas and Louisianna State Fairs in 1989.

See it make sense. Your kind of crowd.

Nice to read your update.
Best wishes mate!

keep trucking, lovey!

hope your engines hold out though! wouldnt want to miss your posts. Do make sure to get to a garagge and check those brakes out pronto, dont be driving on luck.


colorado eh, only a few more miles to southpark then! say hi to kenny:)

Yeah would be nice if I had money for a mechanic!

That van doesn't sound good. I wish you the best on this journey and Colorado sounds good. I've been by big Texas a few times and I want to see that steak

What's making you think GS is a good spot to camp? Do you know the place already?

I been through here a few times and really liked it, but there ain't no where to camp (for free) near any major roads.

Is there any place to stay hidden? It's small there so they will notice you. Be careful or maybe go the other way and reach out to all the various agencies, churches and businesses in town. Maybe you have some needed skill to trade for a place to park until you can get some resources.

Aww you're welcome but by the looks of it, it's pretty insignificant to get you sorted... sigh! Best of luck

So is it more helpful to get sp donations from lower end users or have those users use boost services?

So for instance I could give you 10 sbd or spend 10 sbd on a booster of some kind. I think the boost on your last post was over 20$ - which should still deteriorate to over 10 - but perhaps it would be more helpful to have that now?

2sbd randowhale on 5 posts would be way more value that 10 sbd donation.

That's what i figured so I'll keep doing the boosts

Oh lol - i just randowhaled this comment. One sec

Ok there we go

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43