Saying Goodbye to Germany Soon

in #blog6 years ago

IMG_0571.jpg

My journey in Germany will come to an end soon. It ends way earlier than I expected and I am sad about it.

DQmc2H3Lgvc1aWLMBBeokhh3AkjrLpjDqsB49SqVYB7nXAy.png

What happened?
On 1st of June, I received a news that my scholarship has been terminated. I told my parents aboout it and they told me they cant afford to let me continue studing here. So we decided that I should come back and continue my studies in Malaysia.

How I feel about it?
I am so sad about it of course. And frustrated. It was so sudden that when I first received the news, I felt quite lost. It felt as if the way to achieving my goals has been cut and as if there’s no way I can reach my goals. However, as I finally calmed down, accepted the decision and finally started to move on, I realised I still can achieve my goals. I only have to take a different path and it may be longer.

Now what?
I have about 10 days left in Germany now. As much as I want to enjoy my last few days here, there are things to be taken care of. Right now, I’m packing my things into 2 big luggage, selling most of my things, especially my winter clothes. I’m allso doanating some of my things. I will try to only bring back 30kg of my things back.
I am also cancelling all of my contracts here in Germany. Since there are a lot of things to do in such a short period of time, I am taking it one at a time.
At the same time, I’m also applying into some universitities in Selangor. Since there are not much universities that offers Aerospace Engineering in Malaysia, I am looking into continuing my studies in Mechanical Engineering.

My plan?
For now, all I have in my mind is to finish my Bachelor Degree and make my parents proud. They have sacrificed so much to support me and I am so grateful for them.
I do feel like I havent finish what I am set to do here, so I feel like I will want to come back to Germany and continue my master in Aerospace Engineering.
Although I wont be living in Germany anymore, I do not want to lose my ability to speak German. So I will have to work on maintaining my German.

Silver linings to this cloud?
1: Closer to family
Being away from family has been hard for me. I was constantly feeling homesick. So now that he furthest I will go is Selangor, I still can go back every holidays.

2 : Studying in English
Now that I will continue my studies in Malaysia, I will be studying in English and I’m hoping that it will be easier than studying in German. Although people have been telling me that engineering itself I hard.

What I learnt from this?
1 : Family is my biggest supporter
When I told them the news, I couldn’t help but to cry everytime they say “we are not dissapointed in you”, “do not worry so much about it”, “cheer up”. I was so touched because I didn’t expect they will be so understanding and supportive. Only now I learnt that they will always be by my side no matter how bad my situation is.

2 : Life isn't always rainbows and cupcakes
I didn’t realize this until now, that I always had it easy and was never really tested before. Only now that I realize, it takes hardships and downs to make one appreciate things in life. That only through hardship can one learn how to grow.

I see this phase as the worst phase in my life. And that it will only go up for now onward. All the experiences and memories that I had here in Germany, I will use them to achieve my goals in Malaysia. “It doesn't matter how slowly you go as long as you do not stop”.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post.
With Love,
Vael Riey

Sort:  

Very sorry to hear this Vaelriey. I remember very well at SteemFest2 how happy you were about your studies and how much you wanted to succeed with it.

I know there are other Steemians who have saved up the funds they needed for their master's writing on steemit. Perhaps you could do something similar? After all, the habit of writing when life seems rough and there is a need to stop find a good direction has helped me out a lot.

Why not make it a goal to continue learning something new in aerospace engineering even when not at the right university and then share your explanation of what you've learned here on steemit with the #steemstem community? Perhaps also with your own blog that focuses both on the engineering, as well as your story which I am sure many will find interesting to follow that we can support with @steempress-io ?

I am just thinking out loud how we could help you get back to where you want to be, although it won't happen overnight.

Anyways, take care of yourself!

Thanks for the advice and ideas Fredrikaa!
I do think of earning for my studies by writing on Steemit and I do realize that I need to step up my game in writing.
And as for learning something new in aerospace engineering and share it here , that's a great idea! I should do that :D
Thanks again for the ideas! I feel much more motivated now :D

really sorry to hear that you are leaving Germany. But hey ... WELCOME HOME !!!!!!! Hope you can join us in our meetups too !

Yessss!! Thats what im looking forward to! 😃

One week in germany left, I wish you a good trip back...
But..... Maybe you could raise some money on Steemit to continue your studies there ??? You are studying Aerospace Engineering, you are a strong mini woman ! Is there any others solution to get a scholarship ??? Think of something with steem ? With Fundition ? You just need money, right ???
@fredrikaa, any ideas?

Thank you Roxane!
I've decided to continue my studies in Malaysia, and in Mechanical Engineering since there's not much university that offer Aerospace Engineering in Malaysia.
And for raising money for studies, yes I do want to do so on Steemit. I just havent got any ideas yet. But thanks for the support anyways. I feel more motivated now :D

Sie muss weiterhin Deutsch sprechen

There is no such thing as absolute failure, only an experience to try things differently. Seeing as you've already grinded for so many years in Germany before coming to an abrupt stop, there is no way your Malaysian university experience will be any challenge.

That doesn't mean you should slack your way through it though! I believe you have far greater potential than you credit yourself with. There are challenges you've faced in Bremen that made things hard for you and there are no such handicaps when you're in Selangor.

I'm glad that you eventually took the news with acceptance. What happened isn't as important as how we reacted to what happened.

Also, KL meetups. Now there is no excuse. LOL

Awww thank you. Yes, now that it is supposed to be easier in Malaysia, i should do better. 😊
And yes im looking forward to KL meetups 😂

@vaelriey You can do it! For one thing you've already been through all the registration/orientation shenanigans that I'm sure you know exactly what to do.

owh yes, KL! KL! KL!

:(

😭😭😭

I'm sorry about the situation. And your post reminded me the importance of family. My mother supported me a lot for my study and still supports a lot my life. I wish you find your way in the new environment. For sure you do! Toi toi toi :)

Aaww thank you 😊 it is a reminder for me too

Congratulations @vaelriey! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63315.26
ETH 2668.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79