Hello 2018! -- Sleeping in until 4pm on the first day of 2018

in #blog7 years ago

Hey Steemians!

DSC03533.JPG

What did you do on the first day of 2018? As for me, I slept in till 4pm and I definitely need the sleep. On New Year’s Eve I joined a group of Malaysian students, some I have never met before and some I have met in other events, to watch the New Year's Countdown at the Brandenburg Gate.

Since my friend and I have welcomed New Year 2017 in Berlin, we were aware of how crowded it can get at the city center. So we have no intention of going near the Brandenburg Gate and wanted to watch the fireworks from Berlin Central Station. However, since the others have never really experienced it, they wanted to get as close as possible to the stage near the Brandenburg Gate. So we just tagged along.

However, it was not possible. The whole area was already packed so the police have closed all the entrance. We reached the entrance 45 mins before the countdown so it is not possible to enter. The entrance was opened as early as 2pm and I’m sure it has been full since then. So we will have to do with seeing the fireworks from afar, with many others.

While waiting for the Countdown, we watched the fireworks that the crowd has been playing around us. To be honest, I am not a fan of a large crowd and loud fireworks. So it was a bit scary for me. Especially when they randomly threw the firework at our feet.

As the clock ticked to 2018, the fireworks from the Brandenburg Gate went off like crazy. It was hard for me to take good pictures and videos (short people problem), so I don’t take much pictures or videos and just enjoy the fireworks. it was so beautiful that I don't think the camera I think the firework show was about 15 mins long.

IMG_7717.GIF

After the fireworks show ended, the crowd began to spread. So we were finally able to move closer towards the entrance towards the stage area. However, the police are still blocking the entrance, not allowing people to enter. I guess because there was still concert going on. So we waited at the side for quite awhile, thinking what to do next. We decided to go the Berliner Dom, where it should be less crowded.

I have always think that the Berliner Dom is the prettiest tourist attraction in Berlin. And it is extra beautiful at night.What did you do on the first day of 2018? As for me, I slept in till 4pm and I definitely need the sleep. On New Year’s Eve I joined a group of Malaysian students, some I have never met before and some I have met in other events. They were here just to see the New Year Countdown in Brandenburg Gate.

DSC03541.JPG

After enjoying the view, we were thinking to go to the Reichstag. However, after quite a long walk, we weren’t able to get close to the Reichstag building because the police are blocking the entrance. So not being able to visit the tourist attractions, we decided to go back to their Airbnb and play UNO game.

By the time, we were finish playing, it was already 3am. Since some of our friends will be boarding the train to Prague at 7am, we decided to wait for them and go to the train station together the them. So we went out of the Airbnb at 6am

We reached my friend’s home and went straight to sleep at 8 am. So I slept from 8am to 4pm. What a way to spend the first day of 2018

Thanks for taking the time to read my post. I hope you like it and if you do, do give a thumbs up!!
P/S: Photos are taken with IPhone 6S and Sony A6000
With Love,
Vael Riey

Sort:  

#photography
who took the picture, can i save it for me

I took it on my own. What do you want the picture for?

New year days are usually spent either with hangover or sleeping in late😂😂, which is kind of the same thing if you ask me.

What a wonderful experience to see Berlin! Have you manage to meet up with the local Steemians there?

Oh really? I have never really celebrated New Year so this is the first time i do smthg like this 😂
I didnt have the chance to meet up with Steemians tho. And now it’s already time for me to start studying for exam

Happy new year! Hope u have blessed and peaceful 2018.

Happy New Year! Hope you have a blessed 2018 too! ☺️

This post has received a 10.0 % promotion upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @awesomianist

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43