The story of how AMC ruined The Walking Dead.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I want to apologize if there are any errors, inconsistencies or weird phrases in the narrative. My main language is Spanish, I am still learning English.


I write this post for the annoyance, anger and frustration that caused me the end of the first part of season eight of The Walking Dead (TWD) and I want to vent what I feel. If you have not seen chapter eight, I recommend stopping you right here because I'll do spoilers, unless you do not mind. And if you do not see TWD regularly, you probably do not understand much of what I'll say, but you're still welcome.

Source Screenshot


The mid-season finale

Like all the season finale or mid-season finale of The Walking Dead, AMC showed off. The final chapters of the series are always shocking, exciting, you feel the heart in your throat, you put your hands to your mouth, to your head, you get desperate, your sanity hangs by a thread and this ending was no exception.
It is impossible to deny that the chapter was excellent, good scenes, action, tension, explosions, escapes, all this gave, in my opinion, a touch of perfection to the chapter. But the end, the stupid ending ruined the whole episode. Yes AMC, you ruined the episode with that ending.

In the final episode of season six we were suffering from knowing who would die on Lucille's wires, and at the beginning of the seventh season we cried knowing that Glenn and Abraham were dying. Even though in the comic Glenn died, many TWD fans (including myself) refused to believe it.

Now, in this eighth season where we are recovering from the death of Glenn and Abraham, AMC appears with the surprise of Carl's death or near death. I wonder, how is it possible that Carl dies? I refuse to believe that he can die. But nobody is saved from a bite of a walker (unless they cut the piece where the zombie bit him before the infection spreads through the body).

AMC will surely win the hatred of many fans and will have many, millions of negative reviews. Because there are many people like me who are angry and frustrated with that ending. I am in the stage of denial: Carl can not die.

I was astonished in the final scene when Carl shows Rick and Michonne the bite in the stomach. Remembering the chapter, the only time they could bite him was when he fought against the walkers in the forest to help the Hindu man. Carl already knew that he would die by the bite and that's why he risked everything to save the people of Alexandria.

Source

Spoiler alert about the comic

In my opinion, Carl still has a lot of history in TWD, he is very important in a part of the story that comes later. The series is based on the comic but the story is never the same, the writers of the series always change things and it is understood that they do, but they should tell the story a little more similar to the comic.

Later on when Alexandria and The Hilltop meet the whisperers, Carl is part of that story as he becomes infatuated with the daughter of the leader of that group. If Carl dies, who will play that role that connects communities with Whisperers?

Source

A light at the end of the tunnel.

The only thing that gives me a little hope is that Father Gabriel and the Doctor of the Hilltop will probably escape from the Sanctuary. In my fan's head, I harbor the hope that the doctor can somehow save Carl; that may be the true purpose that Father Gabriel sought.

Although in my head, is still around the idea that nobody has been saved from a bite, but also that I think Carl has survived a lot, like shotgun shot in the abdomen and pistol shot in the eye. Maybe Carl is the miracle of The Walking Dead.

Anger

I also want to express my frustration and hatred against Eugene. He is a stupid coward. I want him to suffer a lot and that his death be slow and painful, regardless of the important role he may have later. I'll just say that, Eugene does not deserve more than these few lines.

Source


Chapter eight lasted an hour and here I only express some of the things that appear. In fact, only the ones that frustrated and angered me. I'm sorry to drain my frustration out here but I needed to do it.


Thanks for reading me!

More about me
Ligth The World

Sort:  

i just did my review for each episode of season 8. i think eugene still has a chance to redeem himself. his character is full of surprises. i think the bite was from something else but we don't know for sure kinda like glenn when people thought walkers were eating him but it was another guy dead on top of him

Yeah, killing off Carl, who seemed like the character who was the whole point of the show (i.e. the future), looks a lot like jumping the shark to me. I used to anticipate Sunday night, but the shows haven't held my attention lately. Viewers have to care about the characters.

I agree with you. This season some episodes were a bit boring and I think if Carl dies, that will take away a lot of audience from the program.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 62133.38
ETH 2905.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59