The Art of Negotiation

in #blog6 years ago

It looks like things are starting to heat up on eBay for me, and it's a great feeling. I had an interaction with a customer today, and I wanted to share it with you all.

office-227168_960_720.jpg

I did a post showing some of the things I posted for sale on eBay, and the DBZ Broly figure sold earlier today. I didn't get my asking price, in fact I only got half of it, but I'm satisfied with the outcome, and so is the customer, so win, win.

I could've held out for full asking price, but there's several reasons I didn't. Number one on the list is the customer is satisfied, which is the most important thing to me, and it should be number one on any business. It also opened a window, in our conversation I found that the customer was a collector of DBZ figures, and I let them know I had 50 or so more that I may post in the future, and I'd let them know if I did, so this opens the door to future sales.

This also moves the item, and frees up cash to go out and buy more items to sale, which is my favorite thing. I had nothing in the figure, it was a gift for ordering a video game, and with the money I made from it I should be able to buy 4, or 5 more things to resale for $20 profit. So it enables me to turn $0 into $80, anyone would do that.

The key is you can't be afraid to negotiate, especially when starting out like I am. I'm not saying to take a loss, but negotiate a price that makes you, and the customer happy. I know I need to grow my business, so moving the product is key, so I can reinvest, and a plus is I've likely earned a future buyer also.

Sort:  

Yes, you are right cause if the customer is happy he or she is likely to come and buy more from you, cause you have won her trust.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66