28 days later. Dear readers and subscribers let's have a chat.

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

28 days later. Dear readers and subscribers let's have a chat.


Pic credited to http://www.richardcrouse.ca/28-days-later-2/

So today is my first active month on steemit. It has been 28 days to be exact since I started posting. I met one goal of having 100 subscribers within a month without begging. To those who comment and read my content I thank you sincerely. I only hope to improve and grow organically if my content is worthy. I have lots of room for improvement. I'm still learning , trying new things and searching for my voice and my niche.

To those that follow and don't read a single post and are just looking for more followers and upvotes. Please unfollow me. I am going to start getting picky with my upvotes and resteems. I would rather have five sincere followers that actually engaged with my posts now and again than five thousand.

I have decided to no longer leave one sentence comments of no real meaning or substance. If I say something I want it to be honest and sincere.

The people I follow. I genuinely think your posts add value to the community. There may be a few strays from the first few days. I don't care if you're a minnow or a whale it makes zero difference to me. As long as you're trying and not begging or leaving single " follow me" , " upvote me" or Genesis mining referral link comments or a post of just a single photo that you did not take -- If you're trying to do it right for what little it is worth, your good by me. Steemit is not easy to learn the ins and outs.

I have met some great people. Found some wonderful groups. I'm excited about #mspwaves! Having been a host onFree Radio Santa Cruz in the past, I love the idea. Everyone at #minnowsupportproject, PAL on Discord and many other groups have all been extremely helpful and genuinely nice. And my best friend since kindergarden @cryptoted decided to embark on this journey with me. I would not want it any other way. I appreciate all of you, many toiling away in the background to make this a better place.

The music community like #openmic who have inspired me to start playing more thank you! I'll be back next week with a vengeance!

There are so many others that I genuinely look forward to reading. Social justice and environmental causes. People doing good things. Please keep up the good work!! We need you!

I realize Steemit is still in beta. I know changes were made to try and make it fairer but from my somewhat unknowledgeable viewpoint it did not work. It is too easy for someone to drop a bunch of Steem Power into their account and instantly rise to the top and make somewhat absurd amounts of money for their effort. Some deserve it , don't get me wrong. Some have large organically grown followers and work hard at what they do. But many don't. There has to be a fix. I realize whales holding steem power helps the price. I don't know what the answer is but something needs to be done to help the ones trying hard and have far better content than I do and are getting near nothing in return. With all the support projects and bots it is still not a fair system in my view. As much as I appreciate those efforts, and I do, it alone doesn't seem to be the answer.

Wasn't the vision to be a place to get away from the banks and earn an honest dollar? What's the plan for the future of this experiment? I can't imagine only having two devs for this entire project. It must be tough. I see you have team meetings I look forward to hearing more about communities and other ideas to improve the space. It is hard enough to compete with whales or the amount of spam or just bad posts with bad etiquette. It is tough to cut through the noise.

So what am I going to do? I am not turning my keys over just yet. I intend to stick around and see where this experiment goes.

  1. I intend to make better content.

  2. Leave only sincere comments.

  3. Say something when I see something wrong. Spam plagiarism etc.

  4. Not focus too much on the financial part just yet but focus on how steemit has improved my life.

  5. Keep learning and be myself

If you read this far congrats! To celebrate reaching my small goal, I will award 5 SBD to one of my current followers. You must like the post and leave a comment so I know you read this. I will pick randomly from those that enter properly. Winners will be announced here on Aug 1st. I have taken screen shots of my current 107 followers to ensure new followers are not entered. Sorry this is for current followers only. If it goes well I will do another at some other milestone soon so new followers will have a chance too.

EDIT = Winner chosen at random from hat draw. Winner is
@em3. Congrats sending 5 Steem dollars now!

Peace!
189695_1002945229230_6512_n.jpg

Sort:  

@tim-rumford I read to this point!!! 😋

I hope @goldendawne is one of those 107 followers, cause it was through that resteem that I came. Good to see people making a month and deciding to push on. It can be tough. If I hadn't found and figured out PALnet, I would not still be here!! I am behind you by a week or so......and I also plan on staying!!

Goodluck to you!

Peace!!

@bullionstackers Hello!
I hope you are having a good weekend!!

Congrats @em3 you are the winner! Pulled your name from a hat of other names. Sending 5 steem your way!

This is so fantastic/awesome!!
Thank you so much and have a beautiful day! 🌞🌏🌎🌍🍑

Ditto for me on all of this as well my friend. I couldn't agree with you more on all your points. I also need to go through my list of users I am following and see I if truly should be following them. as for the 100+ users following me, why I am only getting about 5 views on anything I post is a point of concern. Where are my "followers?" They sure are not looking at my content. I also am not too concerned about the financial returns this early in the learning curve, and I also am becoming much pickier about who I choose to upvote and resteem, as those users certainly are not returning the favor on my posts - not that I am looking that closely, but it is painfully obvious. It is a delicate balance in an environment where 5% of Steemians are raking in 95% of the SteemPower, honestly a bit overwhelming and frustrating platform that needs to be more welcoming and supportive to new users to survive. So easy to give up here and flee back to facebook and twitter and youtube whatever. But I vow to be strong and keep pushing until I develop a base of support - true followers and users that I am truly following. Keep up the great work, my friend, you are one of the kindest and most intellingent people I have ever know, and this post deserves well over $1.38...? Give me a break, this is truly genuine valuable content. Thank you for sharing. Peace

Loading...

@tim-rumford
I appreciate you visit my post.
I am here checking your blog.
Sorry, I don't follow too many.
I only Follow #whalepower Tag.
@bullionstackers

Im happy to be a part of #whalepwoer now! I was just looking into it when I posted this. Thanks for what you do! People like you make a HUGE difference for us noobs.

Well you just another follower with that post mate, well done. I strive to have those same traits and think they are an important part of a worthwhile platform like steem.

Oh and on point 3 check check out @steemcleaners for all your spam related issues 😁

Great post.. definitely you have the point. Congrats for the 100 plus followers

Excellent on-point post. We should all just focus on adding value to the platform. Its the only way to sustainability!

Yes I am a new follower. Someone I follow resteemed this post and I stopped in.
I agree with you about the one line comments (or as I refer to them as drive-by comments) and it does aggravate me too.
I spend about two to three hours a day writing my posts, replying and reading others' posts. I do comment- when I find something of interest, useful information or what I feel others may also like.

I also like to read engaging posts. If I wanted memes, I would be on twitter ALL day. I am here to share ideas with like-minded people, expand my knowledge and grow a community (I belong to homesteaders, gardening and preppers).
Congrats on the 28 days- wishing you growth and success!

Thank you I really appreciate that. Yeah I guess that's the thing I don't want it to be like twitter. It is time consuming to be sure. Thanks for reading and stopping by ! A homesteader I love it.

This is just excellent wirk on your part. I'm such a slow learner about this stuff, and posts such as this are truly helpful. You also reinforce and affirm my own beliefs. I must be very naive - actually thought that they'd worked out a way to defeat the spammers here. I really hate them. They make spoiling everything into an art form. I agree with you that something must be done, or I'm out of here. It's tough enough just trying to learn the system, without them beating it and having everyone else get the fallout.
Almost forgot! Love the bird.

Thank you I appreciate that. That pic I think was in 2009. Blue ages better than I do! He looks exactly the same. I have a grey beard now. I loved taking him there. He is too old now and poor sighted for such adventures. But still going strong for the oldest known living CA Scrub Jay!

One more day winner announced tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43