Thoughts on financial crisis and people’s mentality inspired by a ‘trendy’ restaurant

in #blog6 years ago

So the other day my friends and I decided to visit a trendy restaurant to see what is going on in flavor life. We do it every now and then as we are food lovers.

20180122_113003.jpg

I don’t know if you are aware of my country’s situation but we are bankrupted; I am talking about Greece. For various reasons that I personally believe are political, financial and geopolitical, huge investments of funds and borrowed money flooded Greece up to 10 years ago. Once the global crisis in 2008 started, it hit us severely and unfortunately came here to stay. Nevertheless the crisis that affected Greece was driven, in my opinion, by other reasons – irrelevant to the international crisis. And unlike the international crisis, the problems are still here - 10 years later.

20180122_114541.jpg

So up to 2008, Greek citizens, were in a fairly good financial state but since then poverty has hit our doors. Nevertheless, perhaps this is the greatest opportunity that has been given to Greece in its recent history. I mean, people that were opportunists had suddenly become rich and were driving around in expensive cars, wearing extravagant clothes and going on vacation to Gstaad. Why? What had they offered to their country, to humanity or to their profession to say the least? Nothing. People that are pioneers don’t get paid here. So to cut the long story short, along with the crisis in our wallets, came the crisis in expensive living and to our mindset; so I thought.

20180122_114514.jpg

Until I went to this restaurant. I thought that this kind of services had died out. But, I was – am mistaken. Not only do people visit this place, but it was not their first time (I heard the talks with the waiters).

20180122_114406.jpg

This restaurant tricks you. The flavors it offers are really good and ahead of many other places of this kind, nevertheless the ingredients used are not top ones. It is described as Modern Greek cuisine and the basic ingredients used, are not. The lamp was imported and the fish was imported and not fresh. Also when you offer innovative Greek cuisine, you don’t try to imitate French cuisine. The quantities in Greek cuisine are ample; you don’t get to be served fish in the size of two small matchboxes here… I am stopping now.

20180122_114447.jpg

This post is a few thoughts on our mentality, not on the restaurant. If we don’t change, the crisis will not disappear. To all people that are here in Steemit: be rock, be innovative, be rebels. Don’t eat light-heartedly whatever you get served. You have minds: use them! Read, get educated, be persistent.

I am not a food critic; just saying my opinion. I am not even a writer.

Also, I am not writing the name of the place, for obvious reasons.

20180122_114604.jpg

Enjoy!

p.s. The cook had amazing skills..

Sort:  

But, but, but......

A lifetime ago (was it last May or June?) I offered you a job (to be paid in crypto). You turned me down flat without even asking what the job was, how much it paid, if you could do it in your spare time, was their a plan, et. etc.

I will simply say that, because I could see your interests from your blogs, it was an assignement that had to do with identifying and securing high quality local foodstuffs - first in Loutraki but then spreading out to other regions of Greece.

Oh well :-)

I thought it was something abroad..!
🤔

You didn't ask :-)

What can I say? You are right..🍭🍦🥂

I hope that helps (a little bit) to make up for all the many times I have been wrong.

Naaaa... I understand you live life to the fullest and enjoy mistakes !!
Or perhaps I have misjudged you..

how much that meal cost,, ??greece have some nice fish meals

We ordered more plates than we would otherwise...
In a medium to very good restaurant (I mean in quality not in decoration, fresh fish costs 50-70 euros per kgr, depending on the kind..hope this helps!

Greece is officially bankrupt. I wonder how long until it becomes official in the USA?

Not sure what you are asking and if it is rhetorical..

I guess just protesting the sad financial state of affairs in my country. At least people in Greece know what's going on in their country.

USA is in bad financial situation? I just saw your country in your profile...

Yeah we're basically $100 - $200 trillion in debt. :(

I trust that US will survive!

It will survive but we will not be as rich.

My view is not, but who am I? 🤠🤠🤠

Places like that won't die @tikotiko, because there will still be the few that act blind to society, they live on their own, they accumulate on their own (at other peopel's expense probably) and spend on their own. It is rather our degenerated sense of solidarity that has brought us here and shall never change unless we change.
I agree, ο σωζων εαυτον σωθειτω, but why not try to save yourself and try at least 2% to save others?
Selfishness, that's what it is, selfishness and greed! And like the song goes: Καληνυχτα Κεμαλ, αυτος ο κοσμος δεν θα αλλαξει ποτε...
(Unless of course we all realise it, team up and fight).
Take steemit for example, you are clever enough to understand that not all of us joined for the fun of it, to make a change, help ourselves and help others. Behind fancy words hides lust for wealth, easy money, minimal effort, pretty much what you see around in real life. I will always question a person's true motives (even mine) when money and power is involved. I don't say money is everyone's priority (nor mine) but since people have put it above other VALUABLE values, Greece will never change, steemit will never change, humans will never change.
Sorry about the rambbling... I just felt the need to speak up. Have a great week! :)

Καληνυχτα Κεμαλ, αυτος ο κοσμος δεν θα αλλαξει ποτε...

But the world is changing! And those who consciously adopt to the changes will inherit the earth - and secure their place in Heaven :-)

And, "when money and power is involved," hopefully discernment will reveal to us who is using it to serve others and who is using it to force others to serve them.

The person who wrote this song is my favourite Greek composer. He had a global view, he was a poet of notes and words, a sensitive person.. I love him - Manos Chatzidakis

Well, I am very sure that google translate doesn't capture for me the full context of his words. But I think that there is at least a smidgen of truth in my reply anyway :-)

Of course we should be struggling to change the world...what else will keep us busy and interested????

I very greatly disagree with you!!!

The world is changing, whether we like it or not. Arrogance leads us to think "we" can or do change the world.

What we can do, with the grace of God, is struggle to change ourselves, not the world, in order to allow into manifestation the vision of the Creator which will come through those who choose.

Shouldn't that be quite enough to keep anybody busy and interested? :-)

I don t disagree with you.. I think the ultimate point is to keep giving to the world surrounding us and to keep exercising ourselves too..
What else is our discussion here if not to exchange views and become better?

I think that I have hijacked ruth-girl's comment long enough :-) And you and I probably have similar hopes and fears anyway, just not yet used to each other's ways of expressing them. And I am getting hungry after another look at your fabulous photos in this post. So, I make my escape from this computer now to eat. TTFN

freedom-1886402_1280.jpg

Τα παντα ρει - Everything flows said Heraclitus, I know, but I just feel that it changes for the worse.
The point I was trying to make is that: I get disappointed seeing how selfishly most of us act. I mean, I try to be a better me, some days I make it others I don't. It hurts to see people that don't even try and never care for the ones around them. And ok, my mother used to tell me never to care about what others do; but passing certain values down on me, it makes me sad to see that very few people act with ethics and compassion.
That's all and that's why I "exploded" on that comment. :)

"....I just feel that it changes for the worse."

In my (humble?) opinion, the world changes and humanity bifurcates in how it reacts to it. One (small) part changes for the better, and one (larger) part changes for the worse. Both are part of the Creation. One part serves evolution within the Creation, the other part serves involution within the Creation.

The evolving part of humanity learns to act consciously in serving the universal creative impulse. The larger devolving part of humanity reacts mechanically to serve the universal creative impulse.

Even God needs a feedback loop LOL

I see that, but the thing is we should get more to act conciously, a swallow alone can't bring spring (a greek saying). I have always believed in education (not the organised brainwashing(?) system), education in humanitarian values. At univerity we were taught that our job needs patience and persistence, there are times when you get disappointed and have to accept reality the way it, but this cannot stop me from feeling sad about it...

"a swallow alone can't bring spring (a greek saying)"

I like that!!!

I wish that I could read the original Greek of some phrases I have only read in English. I'll bet there are more meaningfull nuances than the ones I feel in even translated versions:

“For many are called, but few are chosen” Matthew 22:14

"Let the dead bury the dead" (Luke 9:60)

p.s. Just so @trumpman does not get upset, let me say that I know that all organized religions have become corrupted to a more or lesser degree.

Hey, why should I get upset?!

I don't know, somehow I just thought you would be intolerant of discussing stuff that can't be pinned down to scientific "facts" and scientific establishment approved methods of investigation.

I am glad to be proven wrong!!

I wish that I could read the original Greek of some phrases I have only read in English

I believe you'll need some greek language lessons in order to appreciate the true meaning of a saying...

all organized religions have become corrupted to a more or lesser degree

It's not the religions, it's the people in charge (just as I said before, where there is power and wealth corruption is almost 100% certain.

You too dear ruthgirl
As a note: I am not against expensive restaurants. I am against my being deceived.
I think one should pay attention to what he buys, that's all..

I am not against either, I just can't help getting annoyed by all these fake "aristocrats" that usually go there. It is not bad to pamper yourself for things that you have worked hard to get. What is bad (at least in my opinion) is the senseless behavior of some people... and yes, being deceived is also frowned upon!

Nice presentation looks like expensive but it is worth to eat for sure and i think the ambiance of this restaurant so beautiful.

I agree..it has nice atmosphere!

There is nothing worse than going home after a restaurant that you spent to much money at... only to eat a sandwich. Trends rarely offer necessities of life needed.

Yes..or else you can find happiness in simple things

i liked how you merged and compare it with our crisis! μετα σουβλάκια ε? :P

Hehe!!! No we ended up ordering double plates to cope with hunger!!!

i wanna test all the food item

That is delicious .. nyam nyam 😁

Design is everything. Even in cousine...

Yes you eat with the eyes and the nose first ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56482.82
ETH 3004.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21