What do you do when your personality conflicts with your desires?

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

What do you do when your personality so completely conflicts with your desires? I feel that this one issue has plagued my life.
2000px-Dichotomy.svg.png
There are many people who are naturally conservative. Now, I don't mean this in a political way. I mean the people that take the calm traditional path. It's the right path for them. They know it and they follow it well. Sometimes they get a moment of fear that they chose wrong and they yearn for the wild life - the typical mid life crisis.

And then there are the people who are not traditional at all. They are a bit wild, a bit different. They can't be contained and can't be told what to do. They are non traditional through and through. They can't deal with following the path their society says is the "correct" path. Maybe this means living a life that society deems unacceptable, maybe even immoral. These are people who are too wild, they don't have or want marriage or a family, or they maybe don't want a typical job, a typical living situation, or a typical romantic and/or sexual life.

But, like I said, what if you're natural self, your personality conflicts with your desires? Which wins out? Can either win?

I was thinking today about my life and how things have worked out...or haven't worked out. My personality is that of a very shy person, an introvert. If you met me you wouldn't think I've done the things I've done. You wouldn't expect that I had any wildness in me. In some ways you'd be correct. My outside presentation doesn't match my inside feelings, partially because I d just don't trust people. I'm afraid of showing the real me. I feel in some ways I was trained well by my family and society. Yet, I've always been different. I wanted to be free in so many ways, but failed to truly be who I wanted to be.

So let's say you walk into a water park. You look to the left and there you see a nice peaceful lazy river ride. Then you look to the right and see the most insane water slide you've ever seen. Which do you go towards?
RWP-Lazy_Wave_River.jpg
My personality pushes me towards the nice lazy river. It's safe. It's easy. Many people love it, hell to a degree a enjoy it. But, at the same time it's so painfully frightening.

The monotony, the boredom. You must pretend that you are like the others. No splashing, no swimming around or goofing off too much. Just...sitting...wading...and eventually...waiting...for it all to be over.

You see the crazy slide. You hear that some people get hurt on that slide. Some people can't handle it. My desires are to go to that crazy slide with the rebels, the free spirits, the crazies, the fun. I want to be fun. I'm not fun. I'm anxious. I'm frightened. I can't make decisions.

I'm caught between two worlds. I don't go to either the crazy slide or the lazy river. I stand there and burn in the sun.

Sort:  

There will always be times when we are confuse. You are not alone in this world.

Thank you, I appreciate you saying this. I am extremely shy and timid an cannot speak and connect with people in life so I very often am isolated and feel very alone.

This post has received a 5.09 % upvote from @boomerang.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by thespacebetween from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

My personality has changed now I try to balance the four temperaments in me, but naturally I am quiet that is because I am still of phlegmatic personality. I thank you for the vote you left in my post.

Congratulations @thespacebetween! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67