Weekend trip to the hospital

in #blog6 years ago

On Thursday after my hubby had his procedure and we finally got home, I noticed that I was beginning to have a bladder infection.

The thing about being diabetic, you tend to get those often but I haven't had one for about 6 months, so I figured I'd stop by the clinic the next day and get something for it.

That is exactly what I did. As per advise given to me, I also upped my water intake to try and help flush out the infection.

Here is where the problem begins, I drank loads of water but I had no way of getting rid of it. Everytime I tried, only a few drops would go. Needless to say my stomach started to swell and by Saturday night I couldn't take the pressure anymore.

Crying, I plead to get thaken to the hospital. I wanted them to empty my bladder by any and all means necessary. So obviously when I get there, they ask me to pee in a cup. I managed to do so and was then immediately put in a room.

The doctor came in. Told us that the dip test picked up a major infection, that they were going to send the urine sample in to the lab to see if my kidneys are okay but they also need to take blood samples to see if it has spread to my blood.

My husband tells the doctor that I'm deathly afraid of needles and he then tells the nurses to take the blood while they do my drip, from the same thing.

They take the blood, and put me an pain meds and gave me something to help with any swelling in my bladder (that stuff was magical, 5mins in and I'm feeling great) then they put me on steroids for the infection and saline to keep me hydrated.

The steroids made me nauseous so they also have me something for nausea and vomiting. After that, I got a little panicked ( not knowing why, I wanted to jump out of bed and just go home)

My husband calmed me, helped me lie back down and after about half an hour, I was relaxed and okay again.

Finally the drip was done and the Dr came back with the results, fortunately my kidneys were okay, traces of the infection was found in my blood and my white blood count was up. But I wouldn't need to be admitted into the hospital and I was released.

I'm feeling much better today.

Hope everyone had a good weekend.

Xoxo
@thegoldencookie

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75