Not so great start to the new year

in #blog6 years ago

It's been two weeks since last I posted anything. Let's just say that I needed a holiday from my holiday. To make things worse, I've been a little sick the past few days as well.

Let's start with what happened on the weekend before new year's eve. On Thursday my hubby and I spotted a cockroach in our house. Apparently according to our land lord, they come inside during this time of the year and advised us to empty our cupboards and fumigate the kitchen. On Friday night, we did exactly that... The only problem is that the cockroaches decided to take their revenge. Early Saturday morning 4am to be exact. A cockroach disturbed me from my slumber by crawling up my leg. This freaked me out and was the end of my sleep (which I only started getting at 2 am)

That is when my crazy came out and I vigorously started moving away and cleaning and fumigating everything. My paranoia went to such and extreme that I had to get a carpet cleaner to ensure that no eggs, dead or alive was left in my house. I washed the couches and bed with it too...needless to say we couldn't spend the weekend in our own home so we had to stay over with my brother in law.

I fell asleep somewhere around midnight just to be woken up again a few hours later by a leg cramp. It was pretty intense. I realized as soon as this happened that I didn't look after myself all day. I'm Diabetic and I have to drink at least 1.5 liters of water in a day to make sure I'm hydrated enough. I had 1 cup of water that entire day and nothing else to drink after that.

Needless to say, I was dehydrated and that is what caused the cramp. I pretty much downed a 1liter bottle of water after the cramp and went back to bed.

Finally we get home Sunday afternoon, carpets are still a little wet but thanks to the fan, our bed was dry. Pillows, not so much.

Anyway, new year's eve is the next day and my husband decides last minute that he wants to take me out. So I get dressed up real pretty, it's 7pm and I suggest the he call the place he wanted to take me out to, they are fully booked. We call a few other places and they are either fully booked or closed. So we go to the mall ... Everything is closed, even the fast food places decided to close early that night...

Not the night we planned, so my hubby took me to McDonald because that was the only place we could find that was open where we could get food. After that I didn't feel like watching fireworks or going out so I asked to just go back home. We ended up missing midnight and only kissed a couple of mins past midnight.

New year's my hubby wanted to make it up to me by taking me out again... This time a few places in the mall were open but so understaffed that by the time we got our food, it was already cold... So not the best time.

I'm really hoping that this new year gets better. If it doesn't. Wake me up 2020

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81