I'm getting married BUT planning gives me anxiety.

in #blog7 years ago

Hey steemit! 

I felt like I should make a series of posts about the trails and excitement of getting married. 

Every since I was a young girl I can remember having some form of anxiety, mainly when it comes to planning something big.


I have yet to completely master my anxiety around planning but I have managed to find a few things that help me and who knows maybe they might help you as well. 


Trello 

I'm so incredibly grateful that my best friend is the ultimate planner and opened my eyes to world of Trello. Trello helps you organize your projects into boards similar to Pinterest. It's perfect because you can organize your lists into things you need to do, things you have finished, and even a maybe list. It's completely customizable and so easy to use. I love that you can view everything from one central location. 

https://trello.com/


Coupons and Sales

If your'e like me, money and the cost of items gives you anxiety. I try to combat the big numbers by finding as many discounts on the small items as I can. Being able to take items off my list instantly lifts a small amount of the weight from my shoulders. One less thing to do and a dollar saved. For example, I was able to use Joanns online purchase coupon on the fabric for my wedding dress. I simply purchased it online and then selected the in store pick up option. Lace that would have cost me over sixty dollars I was able to pick up for under thirty. 


Sleep

This by far has been the hardest part of having anxiety about my wedding, turning my mind off in order to go to sleep. About a year ago I stumbled upon ASMR videos on youtube. Like most people, when I first watched it I thought it was super strange. I gave it another shot and I found myself so relaxed and quickly drifted off to sleep. The videos are anything from the sound of someone eating or smacking their lips, to tapping on random items. I've found that the role play videos help me to relax the most. My favorite are the role play of a masseuse or a hair dresser brushing your hair. 

Do any of these help you? What others have I not tried yet? 

XO

Sarah

Sort:  

OMG I love that girl's ASMR videos! I fall asleep to them too when I get insomnia - but you know me, I'm pretty much a narcoleptic. Love yoooouuuu!

Congratulations @thatssewsarah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67120.19
ETH 3459.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72