You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 1/6/18> I believe the cold has effected people’s ability to think…

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

I like reading your daily posts, your right I or others may not always agree with your thoughts but I do like how you present them and looking forward to reading your post each day

It is great to see people coming together to help the turles, but I have had the same thought as you when I hear of stories like this would these same people spend any time do anything to help the homeless

I would like ot think I would do both but not so sure how many of the Turtle or animal lovers would be the same, so many seem to either not see the homeless or choose to believe their all scammers, which admittedly some are but I have seen people sleeping on the sidewalks on cold winter days and know that can not be a choice of an individual in a good frame of mind

tip!

Sort:  

Thanks Jay, I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on my daily doses. My thing with this situation was two fold, or two questions if you will.
1/) Are the turtles more important in some peoples eyes?
2/) Has the media answered "yes" to question #1?

One thing my post have done pretty regularly has been getting good dialog going between readers in the comments and that is what this whole platform is about, participation.
It is funny that you used the term "scammers" , who would have ever thought that people would pull a scam that involved being homeless but they do, and I saw a report one time that was from Phoenix, it showed the "homeless" person was driving a nice newer model car and living in a nice house, the guy admitted that he makes around $45K a year standing on the corners with a sign saying "anything helps", he said 3 days a week was all he "worked' at it. The sun is to intense to do it anymore than that.
Those sleeping on sidewalks are the real deal, and there is no doubt in my mind that those individuals or not in a good frame of mind as you conclude.

i do love the dialogue that often develop here

On question 2 I don’t think the media cares either way it all comes done to what will improve the ratings and hence advertising

On the fake homeless I have seen the same sort of stories with my own eyes

But those I do believe are homeless o do help from time to time I know I never will be 100% sure of the persons status but that doesn’t stop me from trying ng to help when I can

Yes, you hit a good point with ratings and advertising, it isn't necessarily about "news" or the relevancy of the story. It is how can it fit in order to drive ratings and increase revenue potential from advertising spots.
Good catch on that, I was using my old man mind just thinking about informing the public about what is happening as their intent and motivation. How silly of me....

not silly at all just a different lol be of thought

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43