A Safe Place

in #blog7 years ago

In one of my recent blogs I wrote about my balcony being my place to rest and think, make decisions, meditate and enjoy the moment, or my safe place.
One of my favorite steemians @themagus left a comment that made me think, why did I use that phrase, safe place?

My first memory of it is when I was a child, playing with other children in the neighborhood. We had this game, where one of us was the chaser, and all other kids were trying not to get caught. We also had two safe places on the playground, and if you reach it you are safe from the chaser, and if you get caught you become a chaser and so on..
Oh, I can still remember the rush that game gave us. The safe place was our only chance of beating the game. And I clearly remember that it was fear that pushed me to run faster to my safe place.

boys-1149665_1920.jpg
Source

It made me wonder, do I as a grown up still need such a place?
And the answer is YES, I still get scared and stressed, and feel the need to hide in a place where nothing can reach me. It's where I gather up strength for another "run".
But over the years places I found such peace became fewer and fewer. I managed to find it also not in places but in people. And all of that was good, but not enough. I knew where I had to look - inside.

Inside I found a little scared girl, who was still on a playground, running and hiding. It was then that I realized that I have to build that safe place in my mind. To elaborate - we all go trough stressful situations every day, and when you find yourself running instead of dealing with a problem, go to your safe place. I imagine mine something like this:

pexels-photo-271160.jpeg
Source

But it can be anything you find peaceful. I go there in my mind, even for a few minutes, and talk to myself (sounds strange, but it works). I don't solve the problem there, I just focus on remaining calm and peaceful, convincing myself that I am safe no matter what, because in that state of mind I make better decisions.

I of course have a backup places to seek peace :) my mothers kitchen, my balcony with the view, by favorite bench in the park, or two people whose minds are my safe harbor.

How about you?
As you can tell, one of your comments may inspire me to write. So feel free to talk to me!

With love,
Tamara

Sort:  

Certainly a thought provoking post @tamacvet, and thank you for the compliment {blush}... I have two 'safe' places... one I call my 'Positive Pit' where no negative thoughts are allowed in ... and the other one is definitely as @qingzi states ...MUSIC. When I have very powerful emotional things to deal with..that is my safe haven.

Me in my positive pit - No negative vibes allowed*

I also love @petruska13 's way of dealing with stress.. original and I can imagine it being 'calming'

Well thank you for adding another place. I must agree, every comment was unique, and I'm very happy not to be the only one with this idea!
Positive pit looks zen-like!

Hi Tamara,
I was attracted to that black-white picture. It perfectly links me to the word 'safety'. People feel safe when they have a companion, but not only people or animal can be a companion, but also music or an activity you intensely love to get involved yourself into. For me, I didn't grow up with my parents and I have been floating everywhere at a young age. Therefore, music is my best companion that comforts me and nothing could console me more than that when I was young. If you'd like to know more about me, check my story here:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@qingzhi/introduce-myself-and-looking-for-support-on-my-music-education-studies-dreams-welcome-to-my-tardis-a-structural-introduction

First of all thank you for reading, and writing! I totally forgot about the music, great addition, thank you!
I will check it out!

Hi @tamacvet. What a thought-provoking post. I have my own safe place, it is in reality a memory construct. For a number of years I have been working on the construction. It is a log cabin at the edge of a forest near a river. It has a wooden front door with a window on each side. Inside are a number of rooms. One is a music room where I can relax and listen to music. Some of the other rooms serve different purposes, in one there is a cupboard with drawers. In the drawers I place things I want to remember. Whenever I feel anxious or ill at ease I can retreat to my cabin, sit outside on the step and listen to the river and the birdsong around me.

Your safe place sounds amazing, peaceful and organized. Just how I like it :)
Thank you for reading and leaving such an inspirational comment!

I am glad that you enjoyed it. We all have our own ways of handling the stresses of modern life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58237.47
ETH 2479.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38