Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 04/26/18 > Proclamation from @sultnpapper… today is now “National Hemi Day”

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I have been doing a few posts lately on special days or dates that have been given to honor something. While some of these days have caught on and are somewhat accepted by mainstream media and the people who watch and listen to that garbage, I never have been able to find out just who is in charge of making these proclamations.

I know that here in Texas I’ll hear every now and then that the governor had made some or signed some proclamation honoring somebody or designating some day as special, but who is responsible for these so called “national” days? I don’t see anything coming out from the White House or Congress like on this past Tuesday being “National Pigs in a Blanket” day.

National Hemi Day doesn’t have anything to do with only working a half a day, so don’t get all excited about it if that is what you are thinking. However; that really wouldn’t be a bad idea. Except; I would be inclined to proclaim everyday National Hemi Day. Let me also say it doesn’t have anything to do with eating half of a twelve inch Subway sandwich, even though there are a few of us that could stand to do that more often.

For those of you who might remember that the half assed nuclear power plant in Chernobyl, Ukraine that melted down on April 26th in 1986, you’ve got a good memory, but it also has nothing to do with National Hemi Day.

National Hemi Day does have to do with the number 426, we just got through 420 day with no problems and I like the number 426, as in 426 cubic inches of a classic Chrysler Hemi Engine. The original Hemi engines first came about back in the 1950’s, 1951 to be exact, and was given the name Chrysler Fire Power Engine. The term Hemi was used in Chrysler's marketing to signify that the combustion chamber of the engine was in a hemispherical shape. That design of the combustion chamber was unique at the time but other automobile manufacturers have used similar shaped chambers since then.

In all there have been 3 different designs of the Chrysler Hemi engine; the second series was in the days of the 1960’s muscle car era. Chrysler installed this series of Hemi’s from 1964 all the way up to 1971. The final series was Hemi was started in 2003 but it doesn’t meet the criteria for my National Hemi Day, the cheap bastards at Chrysler dropped the cubic inches down to 347. Now that I think about it, I may have to change the proclamation to “National Old Hemi Day”, 347 doesn’t belong with 426, the math just isn’t there.

I will tell you that the second generation Chrysler Hemi was one bad son of gun; it produced 425 horse power and 490 foot pounds of torque. You also could get that engine in Plymouth and Dodge branded vehicles since Chrysler owned those brand names as well. Those old muscle cars from the sixties command a pretty price tag these days. It didn’t hurt back then that the Hemi engine was dominating the NASCAR circuit either and their main driver was Richard Petty, funky ass cowboy hat and all, that guy could wheel a stock car and what won on Sunday sold on Monday as the saying goes.

So, if you happen to own a vehicle with a 426 Hemi Engine, you are very fortunate my friend.

Official Proclamation:

“ By the power protected for me by the constitution of the United States of America, I hereby proclaim Arpril 26, 2018 National Old Hemi Day. All owners of these fine engines are free to take their cars out on the streets and smoke the back tires until they are content or they burn the tire down to where the tires pop. Law enforcement officers are forbidden to write any tickets to 426 Hemi owners on 04/26/18 for any reason, but they may ask you to pop the hood open so they can take a look at what a real engine looks like, most of the cops we have now have probably never seen one. As I proclaim, it shall be.” by, @sultnpapper.

Now some of you may think I’ve lost my mind, but I haven’t, the constitution says I have the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness. Nothing makes me happier than to see car owners being able to enjoy driving their cars, well that might not be 100% accurate; there are some things that make me happier, but you get where I’m coming from. I do enjoy seeing a display of raw horsepower lighting up the rear tires of a muscle car. So have at it folks, and when you do it be sure and video it and upload to DTube so I can view it and up vote it.

It’s time we start taking back the power we have, so go put the pedal to the metal and light ‘em baby. Be sure and drop me a link back here to your video, hell there might even be some Steem for the best one.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #118 (4/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

The Whistle Stop is a place I enjoy being found in for sure, thanks for including me in this edition. Very much appreciated.

Come on, Man. I owned a '57 Imperial with a 292 CID Hemi! Cool car, you can look it up, mine was Salmon pink. 22' feet long :)

I did a few years as a race mechanic. We were the last car to run the 426 Hemi on alcohol. I loved that motor.

But that really wasn't the point, was it? Does it really need a 'day'? I think there ought to be a jellybean day about once a week and could live without most of the others.

Well Tom, as much as that old 292 Hemi was a good one I just can't throw it in on 426 National Old Hemi Day, just like the 347 , the math doesn't work. I will tell you though that I was just doing my part to give April 26 its due, it doesn't have anything listed that I saw for making it special. The folks up at Chrysler should jump all over promoting 04/26 as National Old Hemi Day next year, in fact their marketing dept. should have caught that back in the day when they were selling them and had a huge "one day" sale on them each year.
Jelly beans are good, but once a week might be going a little far on those...

I see this as a good idea makes as much sense as most of the national days

Yes, and April 26 doesn't even have a special food to commemorate on it, that I could find, so it needed something so it wouldn't feel inferior to the other days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30