Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 03/01/18 > Well that flew right by, it is March already

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Where in the hell did February go? I was looking forward to my birthday which is the last day in February and I’ll be damned if they left it off the calendar again this year. But you already know all about Leap Year and we know the next Leap Year is in 2020 so how is this old man, @sultnpapper, going to drag this out for one more Daily Dose? It’s easy and simple; he is going to tell something about Leap Year that you don’t know. How’s that sound?

Several years back in the 1980’s there was a small town as far west in Texas as a person could travel that decided they wanted to do some sort of community event. There was also a town in New Mexico that just happened to be as far east in New Mexico as a person could travel that was looking to do the same thing, have an event. The fact is the town is located in both Texas and New Mexico and has the name of Anthony. What is even funnier is that if you happen to visit this town and stop by the Chamber of Commerce you will find a line painted right down the middle of the floor in a north / south direction, it is in fact the state line dividing the two states.

I’m not sure of how the town politics works, if there are two mayors, police, city councils etc. It has been several years since I have been out there and when I was there I didn’t think to even ask. I was too busy being a celebrity. So how does the sultnpapper become a celebrity anyway, is what I’m sure you are asking yourself right now?

It all has to be being born on Leap Year day. Those years back 80’s when the cities of Anthony were looking for a event to hold there it happened to be two ladies who were also born on Leap Year lived there. Those women suggested to the town council to hold a birthday party for 29ers, those of us born on leap year day. It was a great selling point to the council as the cities could hold an event every four years instead of getting roped into an annual event. The council approved the plan and things moved forward.

Anthony TX, NM. became the self proclaimed Leap Year capital of the world. I attended the event in 1992 and 1996 and it was a great time. The city went all out to make the 29ers feel like we were special. The World Wide Leap Year festival isn’t just a one day event. Usually it is at least four days of activities which include golf tournaments, dominoes tournaments, hot air balloon rides, and a carnival. There are several lunches and dinners leading up to a big parade on the 29th and the Grand Leap Year Birthday party at the local high school that evening.

The last year I attended there were close to 100 people who were born on Leap Year in attendance. I remember folks being there from Germany, England, Spain, France, Australia and Brazil and the USA. We had media coverage from all over the world covering the parade and birthday party. That year the 29th was on a Thursday and some of us were even on the national news and Good Morning America since it was a weekday, I was the good looking fellow in the grey Stetson hat if you happen to find the tape in some archive.

The people in the town made you feel real special, most every place that I stopped in to have a bite to eat or catch a beer in the evenings, I was always told my money was no good there, and it was on the house. It was like that for all of us 29ers, not just me. The town was truly glad that we had made the effort to come to the event, the only thing I remember paying for was the hotel room for our stay, as my wife was with me for my second trip out to the event. The prior time I was single, and I made the mistake of telling my wife just how good a time I had on that trip, so there was no going alone, not that I wanted too.

Any ride or game at the carnival was also free to 29ers, golf tourney was free, dominoes tourney free , birthday party free, did I mention gifts? Yes, plenty of businesses and town’s people also made sure we had gifts to open as well. All of this came about because two ladies who happened to live in Anthony were born on the 29th. If you happen to know anyone born on the 29th of February you might want to mention the leap year festival to them. I think I might just try and make it out there for my sixteenth birthday since it has been it has been four birthdays since I’ve attended the leap year festival.

So, how many of you have a birthday that has been turned into a World Wide Event or Festival? I didn’t think so, or else you happen to be born on the 29th like me. Being born on the 29th is the only criteria for joining the membership of the Leap year club, February 29th that is, not just any old 29th. People think that those born on leap year some how get ripped off when it comes to birthdays, it might just be everybody but those of us born on Leap Year are the ones getting ripped off.
Until next time,
@sultnpapper
And for @awakentolife ; Mary Ann Brown was the woman who came up with the idea and started it all.

https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

Well, I kept waiting for you to show up in Discord today so I could wish you a happy birthday in person, but if you were there ... somehow I missed it. So ... I'll wish you a happy birthday now, because even if it's not officially your birthday according to the calendar, it's the day after February 28, which is the day before your birthday by any measure. So ... I'm covered.

May the coming year be another in which you live well and prosper. Those (and watching Karma come home to roost on somebody who desperately deserves a comeuppance) are the best gifts of all. Birthday, Christmas, any time of year.

Joy to your world, my friend!!!

Thank you, I have been so busy that I haven't had time to even catch my morning cup of coffee in discord. Hopefully I can get caught up on things this weekend.

Well..Happy BIRTHDAY!! I didn’t know about that town though I lived in NM for a short time in the past..but then again how would I know ? Don’t seem to know anyone born in a leap year..hope u had a blast this year! Take care my friend!

Thank you Lida, now you know someone born on Leap Year. I had fun, both days.

Having a festival in your honour is pretty special, I would say, @sultnpapper! Maybe you have it right and we are the ones missing out!

That is one thing most common folks can never say that a town throws a birthday party and special event. So even though we only get a birthday every four years, that one year is truly special, even if we don't make the event in person.

Happy Birthday, @sultnpapper! Here I was, thinking you were getting ripped off for your birthday like you said, come to find out you're a legitimate celebrity. This is your first post that I've seen, you tell a great story. I'm looking forward to reading more.


Happy golden 28.png

(P.S. I don't do birthday cards like this for everyone, but since you only get a birthday every 4 years I made an exception.)

Well thank you @hollyup for the birthday card , birthday wishes, upvote and the compliment towards my story telling ability. I may not be the easiest person to understand some times with my humor and sarcasm but I will tell you the truth as I know it to be, sometimes that conflicts with what the society norm is , but it is what it is. Thanks for making yourself known to me , I will return the favor and take a gander at your blog in the near future.
@sultnpapper

You are very welcome! I understood you just fine. I haven't written much on this platform, but I've been inspired to take up smartphone photography, and my pictures are starting to show some improvement. Happy March :)

Thanks. I will check out your pictures soon.

So you must be another year older by now mr Papper, hope one of your girls made you a birthday cake even if you did not officially have one!
I really enjoyed this post and thanks for the chuckles with your comments to the speed reader :):)
Weird that the town planners did not change the state boundary to match the property boundary where the building is situated! Quite something, you may just be breaking a law if you're on the wrong side of the room ;)
Hope you do go to the festival for your sixth...I meant sixteenth birthday!

That it is, on year older, we are just waking up here on the 1st , but the we picked today as the celebration day so we will see. Shortie found a recipe for a "churro" cake that you bake in a coffee cup using the microwave and made one of those yesterday. Churro's are a Mexican dessert. It was pretty good, she filled the cup up half way with the cake and then added a scope of ice cream on top, which melted fairly easy as the cup was hot, it is cinnamon flavored, and it was really good and easy to handle being in a coffee cup.
Spammers are just like trash along a beautiful country road, they ruin the view for everyone.

Enjoy the celebrations :)

Now I'm jealous. All that attention for being a 29er. And honestly a birthday every year is just too much. Every 4 years sounds like it would be more of a cause to celebrate.

The good part for you is you only need to be jealous every four years, so that's a bright spot.

A birthday every year is too much? Pffff. I think half-birthdays are a good excuse too. Maybe we should do the opposite of a 29er, and celebrate a birthday 4 times per year :)

But wow, those perks are pretty nice. I wonder if they check ID's more carefully during that event.

(PS happy birthday @sultnpapper!)

Do you celebrate with Opal 7 times a year @eonwarped?

Hey @sultnpapper, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! Cheers :)

Hey son what speed reading course did you take ? I went and looked at your recent "comments" , you read and comment 16 posts in ten minutes, that would have to be some sort of exceptionable reading and comprehension ability. I might mention in your haste you forgot to upVote my "great post" and "good work!" I'm also glad you enjoyed "the content" , even though you and I both know you didn't read a damn word of it.
Unlike you, I actually read peoples posts and upvote good content, I don't try and scam people into upvoting any of my comments like you are trying to do here. Please remove your comment or take the time to actually read the post and make a meaningful comment, with a REP of 52 I would expect better from you as would the rest of the folks here on steemit.

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

yea, right jackass. go play your game elsewhere.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51