Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/12/18> I would like a different room please…

in #blog6 years ago

I checked in Thursday afternoon at a hotel that I stay at quite regularly and the normal faces I see at the check in desk were not there. This particular hotel in San Antonio is near the airport, and central to where most of my clients are located, so it can be pretty full at times. Normally I stay in room 110 or 112, the ladies who are usually there know I prefer the first floor and they make sure that I get one of those two rooms.

I have a long time friend of mine, who is also a competitor of mine now, and he stays at this same hotel when he is San Antonio. He also stays in either 110 or 112 when he is in town, when we are both in town we have rooms right next to each other. So the regular ladies at the counter always make sure that those rooms are normally the last to be given out so that if either or both of us come to town we have our normal rooms.

Back in November my friend was staying in room 112 and about 8:30 PM one night he heard quite a commotion in the hall outside the room, a lot of voices saying“get this”, “get that”, some general chaos as he described it. It turned out that room 111 was occupied by a couple and the gentleman in that room had a heart attack and died before the paramedics could get to him. So the police, medical examiner and other officials had to do an investigation that took a couple hours before the body could be removed.

My friend told me about it the next time we were both there which was the week after Thanksgiving.

Well, Thursday when I checked in the girl checking me in asked me if I had a preference on what floor I would like to stay on, I explained to her that the first floor and either 110 or 112 would work fine. She said that those rooms were already occupied but she could get me a room in “that area”. That area happened to be room 111, it didn’t snap to me at first that this was the room where the man had died.

When I opened the door and walked into the room it still hadn’t hit me that this was the room, I put my bags on the couch and then I started to get this “funny feeling” the kind of feeling like something isn’t right. I got my computer out of my bag and then sat down on the bed and opened the laptop. Out of the corner of my eye I saw my jacket fall off the couch onto the floor. I still wasn’t thinking that this was the room the guy died in, had I been there the night he died it might have registered, but I was only told the story and it wasn’t being recalled in my mind.

One of the first things I do is check steemit.com , I always like to see how the previous daily dose is doing and how many comments I need to reply too. So I am half sitting and half laying on the bed with my back against the pillows and headboard of the bed and looking at steemit.

Now, I will tell you that I have heard voices in my head before, I think most people have whether or not they are willing to admit it is a different story, but I have never had the voices in my head tell me that “this is my room and I’m staying here”. It wasn’t an audible voice, it was what I would describe as a telepathic voice, but then it hit me, this is the room the guy died in, the dead guy is still in this room or his spirit is. I quickly jumped up and threw my computer in my bag and grabbed my jacket off the floor and my suitcase off the couch and headed to the door. I wanted out of there as quickly as I could get out.

I went to the front desk and told the girl that I needed to be relocated to another room in the hotel. She asked me if there was a problem with the room. That question was hard for me to answer; I didn’t want her to think I’m crazy and tell her a dead guy is telling me that I am in his room. But that is exactly what had happened, while I am thinking this through in my mind and having not answered her yet, she asked again if there was a problem with the room. So, I quickly came up with an answer, “ I tend to be a little superstitious, and I have a problem sleeping in “odd” numbered rooms, I didn’t realize you had put me in an “odd “ numbered room but if you don’t mind could you put me in an even numbered room, and I don’t care what floor either.”

It was the best I could come up with and quite frankly that sounds crazier than if I had told her the truth. So, I have a different room on the third floor, #310, and I feel a whole lot better now. I don’t know if it was my subconscious mind alerting me to what room I was in or if it was the dead guy, but I am glad that I am out of that room for sure.

One of my regular ladies will be at the front desk when I check out and I will try and find out if anyone else has had anything “funny” happen in room 111 since the guy died in there. The other thing that I now have to decide is whether or not to tell my friend about this experience, we’ll both be back here in a couple weeks so I have some time to think about that one.
What do you think, subconscious mind playing tricks or the spirit of the dead guy?
Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Come see me at https://sola.ai/sultnpapper

Sort:  

Many moons ago, I worked the Front Desk at a hotel where that happened. Strange thing, for sure.

Well , I am glad to know that others have experienced something like this or know of these types of things happening. Did anyone come and tell you while you were working? What did you think, crazy person or really a event?

It actually happened shortly before I came on duty. The deceased was found by a housekeeper when they went to clean the room. When I arrived at work, the Medical Examiner and Law Enforcement were still there, conducting their investigation. And, of course, ALL the other guests came to the Front Desk to ask what was going on. It was nuts!

So you were in on it basically from the start of the event. I thought you meant that people were saying that they were experiencing strange things in a room where someone had died. My friend who there that night did say it was pretty crazy, and waiting on the M. E. was 3/4's of the time that it took for the investigation.

Well, that is definitely a crazy story. Yes, she would have thought you were nuts if you had told her that your mind told you to get out of there! I do believe in angels and fallen angels roaming around. I have heard that if you sell a house where someone has died in it, you have to declare that on your disclosure statement. Because if the house is haunted, they can "return" it for you not disclosing that! Yikes! Maybe that hotel room needs to have some work done. Some of the spiritual type. Perhaps bring a bottle of extra virgin olive oil and cleanse the door posts at the hotel rooms you stay at! :) Yikes!!!

I don't know about the olive oil but I do know that if I only have that room to chose from I will be at a different hotel and that is for sure.
Disclosure of a death in a house makes sense, I've heard stories of houses that people walked away from because of the negative spirits that resided in them.

Yes, definitely I'd be staying at a different hotel if that was the only "odd" room available as well. Perhaps an "even" one would open up. It will be funny if you see that girl again and she comments on your "odd" behavior. ;) Lol

Thank goodness something like that's never happened to me mr Papper! I've seen shadows hovering over me a couple of times on waking up, funnily enough I was not afraid and would go right back to sleep. This happened each time I lost close family members unexpectedly; my dad, 2 brothers and my dearest uncle who was more like a brother to me. My dearest sweetest uncle whose tragic story I will share one day, when I'm ready, often had encounters with restless spirits, very disturbing of course.
One story he told, was about their neighbour, an elderly lady who suddenly out of character used to call him to the fence every afternoon when they would have long chats. This went on for about a week. She fell ill and was taken to hospital. Apparently he became extremely agitated one evening for no reason, went to his room and the neighbour's face appeared, he said it was like there was a haze around her. Of course granny and his sisters had quite a job calming him down and said he must have imagined it. A little later they received a call from the hospital (the neighbours did not have a telephone), the old lady had just passed away!
But I do agree with @simplylizelle, when bad things happen in a place, I do believe bad vibes get trapped and the place needs a thorough cleansing physically and spiritually. Well that's my belief in any case! I'm such a ninny, would not want to stay in room 111 ever mr Papper!

I think there is a lot more going on below our level of consciousness, that being the subconscious mind. It is quite possible that things slip back and forth between them more frequently than we realize too. This just happened to hit me hard enough to notice and take action by moving rooms. I also agree with @simplylizelle, I think vibrations can be embedded in physical objects and then they resonate when we get within a certain distance of the object, we may not all be in tune with it, but it doesn't mean it isn't happening.
Your uncles story is a fascinating one as well with the neighbor lady, no way could someone say that was a coincidence.

For sure mr Papper! My uncle was an artist at heart, and super attuned to good and bad in the physical world and obviously in the world beyond as well, he said it was a curse when he was younger but he learnt how to deal with it in his latter years. Sadly this instinct (and his kindness) let him down when he trusted the wrong person and this cost him his life!

Well I would say that your mind was playing tricks on you..but then again I too had some encounters similar to yours, except it wasn’t a voice in the mind telling me anything..hehe I would have moved to another room as well ..

Well it might make a good blog topic, this one has certainly gotten people to weigh in on it.

I don’t know..some things are better left unsaid..:)

A few years back I would have read this with Skepticism but having had some weird and somewhat similar experiences I also believe it was the guy who passed away talking to you and I would have done the exact same thing

I had one other experience one time while sleeping at a friends house where I woke up and saw a small figured man standing in the corner of the room wearing a yellow raincoat. But that I attributed to still being half asleep or my eyes not being fully focused, and after a few seconds it was gone. I was wide awake when this took place, and had the jacket not ended up on the floor just a few moments earlier for no apparent reason, I might have just thought it was my mind playing with me. As strange as it may sound, the voice in my mind I heard was not my "normal voice" I hear like when I ask myself a question when I am trying to figure something out, I'm pretty sure you and others would know what I mean by that, if not I can try and explain better.
I would be interested to hear those weird and similar stories some time, throw in a post and share them if you get a chance.

I have had a few one which was real freaky and I had forgotten comes to mind in Rwanda after the tragic genocide there that is a story I am now To sure I can tell but is so clear in my mind right now

Given the "words" you heard ... my money is on "spirit of the dead guy." I know some people would find that weird, but I could tell you some stories of my own. Someday. Get a better night's sleep -- somewhere else.

My gut tell's me it was the dead guy's spirit too. I did sleep good in the other room once I fell asleep, but that took a while. Share your stories please, I know I would like to see them.

I can feel some of my own hairs standing up for part of that, wow. Sounds like someone has some unfinished business! Good you got out. Would have been funny to see the reaction if you told them your real reason.

Got a good night's sleep in 310, when I check out I will see which of my regular ladies are working the front desk, a couple of them I've known for about 8 years, had they been working I would have told them strait up. The girl that was working the desk at check in , I had never seen before so no telling what her reaction would have been.

Hi Sult - Yea, feeling sppookked (oops..now this misspelling is'nt a taunt -- it started off all on on its own, as in guided hand kind of stuff, you know - genuine [shivvers!]) is nothing strange.

Considering how many billions of people must have passed on before us, then this should be a spooky world indeed.

But on the other hand, bringing some reason into the argument, with the population being as high as it is, it follows that most ghosts will have reincarnated. In fact we must have imported a whole bunch of spare souls, come to think of it..and that explains all the aliens and reptilians amongst us in one fell swoop!

It is indeed a strange, strange word we live in, master Jack!

Yes, I think there may be several "entities" hanging around from bodies that have previously expired, I just don't want to meet any of them unless they are currently residing in a body that is living and breathing.

I would have done the same as you, move to another room pronto! I don't like to sleep in rooms where someone has previously died. Makes my skin crawl.

Yes, moving rooms was my only option. I don't know that I have slept in any rooms that someone died, not sure that I ever want too.

You should tell your friend to try out Room 111.

You're a little bit of a sadist, aren't you, dear. (That's a statement. Not a question.)

I have been known to be called a bit of a prick and a troll, as well as other terms of endearment. I will also admit that many years ago I was a (proud) BOFH.

But a sadist I am not, no dear.

And yet, there sits that suggestion. ^^^ Typed, I'd guess ... with your very own fingers. (I'll take your denial under consideration.)

My friend is a devote Catholic and full Mexican blooded, he doesn't need to be in that room for sure. No telling what would happen to him or that spirit if he took that room.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29