You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Admiration and Deflection

in #blog7 years ago

Yes ☝🏼 I know exactly what you mean. We don't want to oversell and under deliver, but the problem i am finding lately is that when we chronically undersell ourselves in an effort to be humble, our brain starts to believe that shit. Like, we're just trying to play well with others in the game, but we begin to believe that the role were choosing to play in the game is our real self. Those humble self depreciating ways we respond become our reality.

I don't know how to change this, because I can't advocate running around yelling "I am great and can do it all. You think I'm awesome? you're damn right !"

I guess the key is just being mindful that our humble belittling of our own greatness talk isn't a real reflection of our full potential abilities. ✌🏾

Sort:  

I think there is really a big difference between boasting and being positive about yourself, and people who know you like your friends, family and regular co-workers will know you arent a boastful person. So being a bit more positive around people you know really well, should be less challenging than around strangers.

Im no great expert obviously, but I do find a bit of ironic humor can help you say positive words about yourself, while not seeming too boastful. Arrive at the office burst in and say "Nobody panic, I'm here!" with a cheeky smile, everyone knows you are joking, but there is an element of 'yeah, we all know Im joking, but there is some truth behind it too'.

Stay cool mate :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62997.47
ETH 2728.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63