WARNING: Improper Money Transfers May Lighten Your Wallet

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

If you’re new to crypto, before you get all excited about trading, please learn from my mistakes. Watch a few refresher tutorials on how to make transfers properly. Even if you have successfully traded, and transferred funds before, invest a few critical minutes to watch a VISUAL on how to do so properly. Failing to do so might just cost you a few bucks, as it has me.

Don’t take your funds lightly. You’ve earned them with dedicated time on the platform. Losing them to some “unattended” portal may be the result if you try to complete the process off-the-cuff; especially, if you don’t often buy and sell alt coins.

I’m reminded that it’s okay to accept that less than six months in, I am still very much a novice. I’ve learned a lot; but, there is always more to learn in the evolving world of crypto.

Here’s my share:

Recently, I decided to transfer $10. to my openledger.io account. The timing was wrong, as it was right before logging out for the evening; and fatigue had begun to set in.

The goal was to sell Steem to buy a few pennies of BTC for trading other coins. I wanted to see how the numbers changed in the hours I’d be offline. While this was a good idea initially, it soon became a bad idea when the funds were inappropriately placed. (S…M…H)

Instead of making a successful deposit for a trade, I ended up depositing the 10 bucks into the WALLET of an openledger-dex blog page. See exhibit A below:

As you can see from the million dollar value, the owner of this ‘blog’ needs the money, a whole lot less than I do.

After waiting a few minutes for the funds to post into my account I realized that there was something terribly amiss. Clearly the funds just dumped into the pot of openledger-dex. (S…M…H)

I am in no way blaming the openledger-dex owner for my faux-pas. Unfortunately, the onus is mine. It's a case of one person’s venture, becoming another’s gain.

So that all won’t be for naught, I’m sharing my blunder(s) with the community, bringing an awareness to take care when initiating trades. Failing to do so, can be both disappointing and costly. Have you ever grasped at something and caught air? It feels a bit like that. Btw, yes, blunders; plural. Keep reading.

This experience would have a little less bite if I could say this was a first time, beginner’s fluke. But not so; as the first time I did this was a week ago, with another exchange. Ahhhh...If only I wasn't so confident in my ineptness(lol).

It was an extremely similar case of trying, by memory, to transfer funds; this time into a Bittrex account. Fortunately, on this occasion, I was aware enough to give it a pre-trial run, with only $1. (The memo is the result of trying to follow a blog post without pics ;+0! (S...M...H)

I say only; but, that was a hard-earned dollar, as far as I’m concerned. Again, a Steemit blog site is where the money landed.

And again, the owner of this site needed that dollar a lot less than I needed to lose it. On this surface, this blog looked like an unattended portal. There were no blogs, comments, or replies. I presume it’s a link to the Bittrex exchange in some manner, by the size of the WALLET.

Just because I don’t understand its purpose, doesn’t make it a scam blog by any means. I’m still S…M…H; because, I know ANOTHER ‘someone’ is getting richer off my novice efforts. (LOL…not really). I’m sure I’m one of many. It’s just that most walk away quietly and cut their losses. I choose to use it for the good of the community by raising awareness for novices.

So, a final last word of warning to all who are new to crypto. Because it is decentralized; there are few, if any, ways to reach out for help (i.e. refunds) when exchanging money is involved.

That’s it!

Of course, it will make my day if my account is refunded. Thus, I am asking anyone who has awareness of how to resolve this matter to submit suggestions; beyond the obvious, know what you're doing.

Peace.
ENDLOGO2.jpg

Sort:  

Ouch. After your help yesterday, is there a best, simple to use exchange for a newbie to make their first transaction ? Hope you get the 10sbd back, Im sure the person whose account you sent it to is honest and will send it back.
Health and happiness :-)

@nathen007...lol...After reading this, I might not be your go-to on this topic...;+)

These two exchanges aren't really difficult. However, it's important to abide by the strategic step-by-step process on HOW to order the transfers which is of utmost importance.

Hope you get the 10sbd back

All is well. No worries...money is cyclical. It will return in a designated time (Divinely Ordered), even if unrelated to this platform. (lol)

Many thanks for chiming in. I strongly recommend searching YouTube/DTube for tutorials on STEEM-friendly exchanges. (Blocktrades is the one directly attached to the Steemit platform.)

Best regards!

Peace.

thanks yet again. Ive been fiddling between Steem and SBD using blocktrades already just to play but the proper exchanges involving old style 'real' money are giving me the heebie jeebies lol.....I'll get there eventually !
Thanks again. Hope you realise Im going to bug your life out now as youre added to my list of involuntary mentors lol ;-)
take care, be safe and be happy :-)

heebie jeebies...I'll get there eventually!

Yep, it's crypto; but, translates into 'real' money really fast...lol...

involuntary mentors lol ;-)

That's how this community works. We all have our list of go-to's.

take care, be safe and be happy :-)

Ditto.

✌!

Thank you for this information. I will heed your warnings and learn from your experience. Resteemed so that others made heed the advice as well.

Yes, I agree; quite a beautiful insect indeed.

Here's more:

Butterflies are beautiful, flying insects with large scaly wings. Like all insects, they have six jointed legs, 3 body parts, a pair of antennae, compound eyes, and an exoskeleton. The three body parts are the head, thorax (the chest), and abdomen (the tail end). The butterfly's body is covered by tiny sensory hairs.

Courtesy of: www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/butterfly/allabout/

Peace.

I've been here well over a year and still a novice :)

thanks for the info. I'm very sorry about what happen... @spiritualmatters

Many thanks! ✌!

Hello again, cruising through your posts. A comment on the use of videos. Most are badly made, focusing on the talking head buffing his ego, and not on using a magnifier over the actual point of practical info. Any video needs a transcript written, in which case, the author having written well, clearly, and concisely could offer up a PDF, that a user can download, print and carry around anywhere,and I mean anywhere. Often the new nano-tech doesn't work in the bog, nor in the bottom paddock or out in the forest, but a piece of paper with a well written instruction can be comprehended and absorbed in dead ground, noisy malls, or even underground. That isn't to say a video isn't made, but a frame of an action can be cropped and added to a pdf easily. Videos are the lazy writer's crutch. Some of us were expelled from every classroom they ever sat in, primary, secondary, college and tertiary, including military and institutional. Talking heads are great! As a soporific.

Here's a helpful tip @simon62:

Posts older than 7 days old are archived; and, no longer eligible for payouts/rewards.

It's interesting that you left a comment on this particular post; as, I'm reminded that it too, yielded me a need for a nice brew of chamomile tea. :+)

Peace.

Ive done some stupid trades because of fatigue. I suppose it is like driving long distance. Your life is in your hands. Fatigue kills. I now make it a paractice to place a long trade early USA time, late evening, and my increases come intraday during my awake, aware early day here, late day on the other side😃
Any Banking/Trading should be during your awakened state, rather than your fatigued state, and being aware of GMT, UT, and in my case AEST, will make a difference, in your strategies.
What can i say,¿ write down your good idea,and come back to it after walking the dog, or sleep, or just hanging out the laundry and having a coffee. If driving, as an ex-trucker, I always advice the kids,to stop every two hours, and get out and walk around for ten minutes, before continueing. If fatigued still, then stop and take a quick nap. No rush is ever worth the $ it cost. Most rush us put on one from other's expectations,and therefore to be handled warily.
Keep on keeping on. 😇

fatigue

You are correct. Fatigue is a perfect opportunity for making errors.

It's all a learning curve. ;+)

Peace.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77