To The Missing Steemians

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I suppose this is the natural progression of things. Some people stay, and some people don't. I don't know if I wasn't paying attention before or what, but I noticed that many of you walked off the face of the earth recently. I'm not here to keep tabs on you or anything. What I wanted to say is that we miss you! At least I do. There are 5 of you that come to mind. How are you? Is everything okay in your life? Did you give up on Steemit?

All five of you had potential, and you left a mark here. That's why I'm surprised you are gone.


source

I used to think I came too late in the game. I said since I wasn't an early adopter, there is no way for me to be successful here. Then someone pointed out that we are all early adopters. Sure, there are over a million users now, but considering there are over 7 billion people on this planet, Steemit has not yet boomed. The more I thought about it, the more I realized she was right. Those holding STEEM now can really invest in their future. That's what everyone says anyway!

@carmalain7, I remember you saying once on PYPT that if anyone wants to read bad poetry go check out your blog. I just want to say it wasn't bad poetry. I really admired your use of words. Once you helped me with editing one of my poems, and I found you were very knowledgeable in the ways of literature. I had your username entered in on GINAbot, so I wouldn't miss any of your posts. You're still there actually. I need to update the list lol. Well, I just want to say goodbye if your not coming back, and I wish you the best. ❤

@kecia, as a seasoned blogger, you came in with a splash! You hit the ground running! What happened? Your posts were well worded with original images, and you were much more successful than I was much of the time, even though you were new. I loved your advice articles as you always found something interesting to write about. You even founded a discord group for moms! I went to check your blog one day, and you were gone! Maybe you found it more profitable to stay on the platforms you came from? Either way, I hope all is well! ❤

@wolfenlord, I know why you left. You announced that you were done with Steemit. I miss you though. We've had some great conversations, and you were one of my favorites. You're very intelligent and it showed in your posts. Sorry to see you go. You mentioned other platforms that you were making bank on, and you said if it kept up, you would come back and tell me which platforms you spoke of. Well you never did. Hope you're enjoying the greener grass...❤

@appiepearl, we made a couple of small connections shortly after I joined @thealliance, and I found you to be honest and interesting. Then poof! You were gone! I hope all is well, and it was nice meeting you. ❤

@cygon, what happened? I've checked your blog, and you're MIA! I liked reading your posts. You covered many subjects, such as true love, your sick cat, the government, and more! I didn't get around to your blog as much as I should've. Hope everything is okay!

💔It's not the same without you.💔

Much love, snowpea ❤

Are there any Steemians you can think of who have disappeared without a trace? Give them a shout out in the comments below!
thealliance_ladies_3.png

Sort:  

Thankfully all my favorites are still around... I can only imagine what I'd be like if @tarazkp left

I really like his posts too! :)

Me too. I've only recently started following him and I'm really enjoying reading his posts. I actually picked up on him after you had resteemed one of his posts.

I guess it is what happens. It takes a lot of time to figure out how or what and many people do not have so many hours to invest. Also some periods a year way less people are active on social media etc (it is a winter thing). I also noticed thatthe people who did ask me to join left (too much work and the so called original quality post is a reason as well), I know all the time you invest is not be payed back at all and different interests are a reason as well. Well I am still hanging around and tryto find my way on my own.

I know what you mean it's really sad when that happens. I used to enjoy @keciah posts as well. Also wonder sometimes what happened. Another one that I really miss is @chrismmcron.

@keciah really seemed to be on her way to the top, it's weird!

I used to think I came too late in the game

The project is not even out of Beta yet. Up until this point we are all just test users. 😎

Although there has been many fine folk, which have been my plessure to connect with on the platform, my main intetest is the evolving software technology used on the platform and the different means used to reach a form of consensus on a distributed network. It is not yet perfected; yet as mentiined it is still in beta.

Having only posted 23 blog posts and, virtually, having never used discord, there is little emotional commitment to the platform on my part. Even my minnow starus was bought with BTC not blogging blood sweat and tears.

This is probably not the same to most users. Their commitment makes them upset should things go sideways. That might be from seeing a greedy whale getting huge payouts for crappy content to frustration to the undemocratic nature of weighted witness voting. To me these are just issues that require software solutions.

If the weaknesses of the platform can be fixed expect an unbelievable wave of new users. Some of them we will make those connections of which you speak. Once we are out of Beta those connections are really what this place should be all about.

Until then my advice is to stay calm and keep on Steemin'! 😎

Yes, the connections are really what matter, and I'm glad you're here, even if not totally emotionally invested. Thank you for your comment! :)

@cygon will be back😎 the others i don't know. Have reached out to most of them but...

@cygon will be back? Yay!!! :) Glad to hear!

Yes, I talked to him a little over a week ago and said he had some things to finish up with his well, in his words, quote unquote:
"Hey, just been super busy with pre-gradschool stuff, work, and life. Was actually planning on making my triumphant return to Steemit this week."

Why do we write obituaries? Why do we hold memorials?
I suppose they aren't really gone, after all. Where do the gone go to anyway? Just another place. Still in your memory. Is that not enough?
Apparently not. But how is virtual reality enough? (Not saying it isn't but that is what I am researching).
I always knew I'd be going soon... Maybe, that is what all those who have gone before have in common as messengers of death; the urgency to find ways to die better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59