The Hardest Thing I'll Ever Do

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I recently picked up The Four Agreements by Don Miguel Ruiz, Janet Mills.


I breezed through chapter 2 "The First Agreement" but when I got around to implementing the lesson I found myself in tears. I'm struggling to use my word, out loud or otherwise, impeccably or not against myself and mean it. I'm struggling so much that I needed to express my frustration thus I wrote a poem.
Its short but I hope you enjoy and find meaning in...

Imgur

The Hardest Thing

In my hands and in my heart
Threatening to tear it apart
Is a jagged black blade
Self installed, custom made

My obsidian addiction
An automatic self-affliction
So hated but so wanted
Are the lies and illusion

The hardest thing I’ll ever do
Is agree that I'm through
Cease the poisonous flow
And let the Dream go

Frustrations aside, I'm really enjoying this book and the guided introspection. I really think that The Four Agreements will help me grow in expressing the truth and love inside me.

Have you read The Four Agreements? Do you have trouble being impeccable with your word? I invite you to talk about it in the comments. :)

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42