Strange String Of Presidential Polls By Ricky Gervais On Twitter

in #blog7 years ago

This might be a little tabloid-y, but hey -- it was on my mind! And Steemit is supposed to be a social network, so I'm posting about random stuff.

Ricky Gervais' Twitter

Presumably for the 4th of July, the popular English comedian started a string of polls on Twitter asking people who their favorite president was.

This was the first one I found, and to be honest, all of the polls are a little strangely compiled.

ricky.png

I mean, obviously, the guy is trying to be funny and trollish, and I suppose he's being effective in that sense lol

More than likely Gervais purposely made all of the polls unbalanced, and in the case of the poll above there's 3 Republicans and one Democrat, so any left-leaning person only has one option, while right-leaning people have 3 choices to split the base.

His other polls are similarly unbalanced, with one having 3 Democrats and one Republican.

Honestly, if I had to make the same poll and was limited to 4 choices, I would do this:

  • Trump
  • Regan
  • JFK
  • Obama

This has the two most recent presidents of both parties, and the other two are the most popular presidents from those parties in recent history. I think we'd get a more balanced result from this poll.

But obviously, this isn't something to take seriously. Still, that's my opinion.

What do you think?

If you were to make a poll, who would you include?

Tell me in the comments.

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

I went and participated in them because of you. Ricky Gervais is a silly little troll.

Nixon was a surprisingly good leader, he just got caught doing something that today's Democratic party openly admits to doing.

JFK was closer to today's Republicans than today's Democrats.

My choice for best president would be Jackson, because he killed the bank.

I love the transparency bro, keep it up. The internet is full of bullshit, be you and your followers and friends will be real. Reason why sites this will boom and Facebook, insta, twitter will flood out with all the fake crap.

Great Info. Same opinion. LOL.

rickygervais Ricky Gervais tweeted @ 04 Jul 2017 - 14:38 UTC

Some people didn't like the presidents I chose for my poll about best president ever, so here's another one. Who's the best president ever?

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

My poll would be

Trump
Bush Jr.
Clinton
Obama

It's a trick question.
There aren't any good US presidents.

My poll and reason for including them would be:
Washington - The first and he set the tone for the position
Lincoln - Waged a bloody civil war to prevent the Confederate States from leaving the country
Franklin Roosevelt - Brought the country out of the depression and partly through WW2
Reagan - Restored hope after the catastrophic malaise of the Carter presidency.

Unfortunately, with the state of public education in the United States, most younger people probably know next to nothing about any of them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62132.42
ETH 3416.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51