Blobfish To The MOON! My Game Downloads Suddenly Spiked By 300%

in #blog7 years ago

S'up guys!

@shayne here to share this recent mysterious spike in downloads for my game, Blobfish Evolution.

IMG_0714.PNG

The Spike

I woke up this morning and saw this:

blobfish.png

So we go from an average of about 100 downloads per day for the week, to suddenly... 3,000!!!

lol

What to do when this happens

There have been a few times over the years where I've woken up to find the game getting massively increased downloads.

The first -- and usually, only -- thing to do is check YouTube to see who's featured the game on their channel.

This is the same way that I found out that PewDiePie and Matthias had played the game, which is how I was able to produce this badass trailer for the game :D

But we found no such video!

So we're not quite sure what has caused this spike.

I searched the Appstore to see if it had been featured in some way and didn't find anything.

So... basically I'm just waiting until something reveals itself to me lol

That is, unless you have some idea where this spike came from!

But it's clear that this little boy isn't alone in wanting to see a blobfish.

Celebrate!

3,000 downloads in a day is pretty good, lol

Let's celebrate!

tumblr_nl6qhr7HdV1uppgkto1_500.gif

Follow me @shayne

Sort:  

Well done! It is nice to see someone doing so well!

So, is "Blobfish to the MOON" the name for the sequel?

In the sequel, you actually go to the opposite of the Moon :D

Congrats.

My guess is the big selloff in Bitcoin has people searching for something with intrinsic value.

Quite honestly, I have no idea where they're coming from. The game is free, sooooo....

I actually downloaded it after reading your post. I guess that's how people have been finding it and your downloads grew organicly :)

A spike of 300% overnight isn't going to be organic. Someone with a big audience put the link somewhere... that's the hard part to find -- at least for me, because I'm not good at that sort of stuff lol

But thanks for downloading it!!

3000% is amazing for your game. hopefully you get even more today when it goes viral.

.... this is because of you???

Who knows, since you don't it might as well be.

Congrats! That's way cool to have an app get attention like that. Very cool.

Yeah. There was a period where the game was getting abut 10,000 downloads per day. Good 'ol times :D

Congrats on the good day! also hope you find out "where" it came from because that is useful information to know for the future :)

It's both the most important and most interesting information to discover, so I hope we do :D

Very cool.

Congrats on the success. Is there a genre for your game? Like horror gaming. The guys in the video were hilarious by how appalled they were.

It's an evolution game. You could probably put it into strange horror as well lol

Congrats on your success.

Hey! I'm not finding it for the iOS store, is it not available to iOS users yet? Looks like a game I'm definitely down to play!

Our site has links you can follow to download for your respective platform. Enjoy! http://www.upstartillustration.com/blobfish/

I just got this app the other day. It was mentioned in the discord chat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53