There Are Only Two Ways To Learn

in #blog6 years ago

People ask all the time “Do I need a mentor to be successful?”

The answer is simple, if you want to be successful at anything, you need to have someone guiding you who’s been there before.


credit
Think about your mentor like a coach. You can’t become a winning athlete without a coach, right? Having someone to train you and advise you through challenges is one of the most important foundations to success.

You can name any successful person and I can guarantee they had a mentor on their path to success. Having a mentor you can talk to and actually interact with is the best form of mentorship, but there are other ways you can find a mentor. Mark Zuckerberg said one of his most important mentors came from reading books.

I don't know about you, but I'm not as good an entrepreneur as Mark Zuckerberg. If Mark Zuckerberg needs books and mentors, I need 10 times more than him, and so do you.

Albert Einstein, one of the smartest people in history, had a mentor. Starting as a teenager, every Thursday, Einstein had lunch with the family of his mentor. He talked with them about math, physics and all types of things.

Throughout history, the need for mentors stays the same. Alexander the Great, one of the great leaders in history, had mentors. At 15, his father hired Aristotle, the great philosopher and said, "I need you to travel with my son. Teach him." Interesting though, Aristotle was mentored by Plato. Plato was mentored by Socrates.

You see, mentorship is like a cycle. It’s paying it forward so the next generation can grow and become more successful and achieve even greater things.


credit

Remember, there's only two ways you'll learn, from somebody else or from what somebody wrote down. You don't learn English on your own. You don't learn math by just lying in bed, you need to have somebody who is better than you to instruct you.

Of course, you’ve got to put in the work too. If you lock yourself in your room and just read and watch YouTube videos, that's not going to help you because you never actually do any work. I will say that if you just work hard and forget to work smart, you're not going to accomplish much either.

Mentors aren’t just great for learning, they’re great for motivation as well. Your mentor should make you want to work hard and fix problems and grow.

In an interview, the interviewer asked Arnold Schwarzenegger, "Arnold, what's the turning point in your career as a bodybuilder?" He said, "Well, I couldn't get my calves big. I had the rest of my body big but I couldn't get my calves big. And I heard about this guy who had big calves down in South Africa. His name is Reg Park. I got on an airplane and I flew down to him. I said, 'What am I doing wrong?' He said, 'Let me see your workout.'" They went to the gym together and Reg Park went on the calf machine and put on 900 pounds and Arnold realized "I'm doing too many reps. I'm only lifting like 400 pounds." Reg Park said, "Put the heavyweight on. Change up your game."

image
Arnold revealed, "My calves got so big, the media started saying I had calf implants, but I didn't. My success was magnified."

Having a mentor is key to improving our weaknesses and building our strengths.

Go through the history and you’ll see mentors everywhere. Work hard, but work smart. You need tools, you need leverage, and you need the experience and knowledge of people better than you. Using mentors and using books increases the odds of success. It's not a guarantee because you still got to put in the work and you still have to execute, but having the knowledge of others gives you the upper hand.

You have to have the humility to accept that there are people who are smarter or better than you to begin to grow.

Remember, pride comes before a fall and it's the humble who will inherit the earth. Humble people are willing to grow.

Who is your mentor? If you can’t answer that question, you better step up and go out of your way because I promise you your path to success will be a lot less difficult with someone by your side.

Hopefully this inspires you to open up, learn more, and take action, because that’s the only way to move forward.

Stay strong,
Semboze

Please resteem and upvote if you liked the post. Don't forget to follow @sembozezade

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Great article indeed every one needs a mentor

Nice and so inspiring thank you semboze

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59249.03
ETH 2543.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37