The journey to quit smoking has begun

in #blog7 years ago

As I have mentioned in a previous post, I have been smoking for a few years now. For a majority of that time I have smoked a pack and a half a day, but at times its even as bad as two packs a day. The effect this has had on my health has been absolutely horrible. At one time I could run a mile in exceptional time, and my cardio was absolutely outstanding. Once I started smoking however that fell apart and here recently I have noticed that even the smallest of physical activities leave me absolutely exhausted and out of breath. I have also noticed several problems with my teeth as well as some minor aging on the skin on my face. So, I decided that with all the negative side effects I've been having, it's time I quit smoking cigarettes. I figured the easiest way to do this would be to buy a vape and try to replace my habit of smoking cigarettes with one somewhat less destructive, and eventually quit that too. This is going to be difficult as I am very dependent upon my cigarettes, but hopefully with time it is possible.
Anyway, thank you guys for reading and wish me luck! If you're an ex smoker please feel free to comment what worked for you and how you quit.

Sort:  

Congratulations on making a tremendously good choice!

I started smoking back in 2001, in the army, and have been smoking on and off for about 10 years after that.

You write that it is going to be difficult for you, it may be true but remember that it is mostly your own attitude that lays the foundation of how you are going to feel about the matter. I would recommend you get into meditation and through that change your behavior - because that’s what it’s all about actually, breaking a habit.

Good luck and the future smoke free you will thank you for doing this :)

Thank you for your comment! I actually just recently got in to meditation and i have to say it is helping me alot. Im going on 4 days without any cigarettes and it is alot easier than i thought it would be. It is still hard but it is nowhere near as hard as it was the last time I tried to quit. Like you said i think it has a lot to do with my attitude. This time around I want to quit and don't feel as if I am being forced to. Again, thank you for your comment!

@sebastianverlac, have you tried taking an l-theanine supplement?

L-theanine is an amino acid that's found in Green Tea, and it produces a focused yet relaxed feeling. It can also kill the reward your brain gets from smoking.

If you take l-theanine and then smoke a cigarette, you'll find that it's physically uncomfortable and unrewarding to smoke a cigarette. You probably won't even be able to get through 1/3 of a cigarette.

It you take this for a few weeks, you'll be able to rewire the way your brain responds to cigarettes and won't feel the need to smoke anymore.

I've done this in the past when I wanted to quit.

Hope this helps :-)

Scientific research: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23233221

Thats crazy, I have actually never heard of that. Thank you for your comment, I am definitely gonna have to check that out ! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59404.52
ETH 2610.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41