The Unexpected Upside of Over Analyzing

in #blog8 years ago

According to the National Weather Service, over 22 inches of rain was recorded about 65 miles west-northwest of downtown Houston from May 26-27 2016. Houston saw their wettest spring on record at 28.84 inches.

This was around June 2nd and we were trying to take I-10 across Texas on motorcycles.

Texas.jpg
Not good...

PROBLEM SOLVING (?)

If you Google "over analyzing" or "analysis paralysis" you'll find numerous articles and videos detailing how to overcome it. But the first question I want to ask myself is "What's at stake?" For instance, there are 637 different types of glue guns at Hobby Lobby. If I needed a glue gun I'm the type of person that would Google and YouTube glue gun reviews and tutorials before I went to the store and then obsess over all the features and colors before I gave up and bought the 2 I hated the least and went home frustrated with myself.

I overthink things, is what I'm saying...

But this was a huge storm and I was on two wheels loaded down with luggage. I love riding motorcycles, but I'm very aware that my life hangs in the balance every time I climb on. We really obsessed over the weather and our route for days before we decided to play it safe and make a move north of the heaviest part of the storm. We stayed a night in Biloxi then turned north to Jackson, MS where we had one of the best meals of the whole trip at the Iron Horse Grille.

iron horse.jpg
I stole this from their website...

WRAP IT UP...

So in this instance it wasn't a right or wrong choice as much as it was wondering if the choice we made was going to kill us outright! It turned out really well. We headed West after Jackson and caught some rain for most of a day on the way to Dallas.

The big question is: what decisions am I dwelling on that don't really matter? Actual life or death decisions are rare in my experience, but it is important to know when they're staring me right in the face so I can then contemplate the situation and act accordingly. I may not always want to "beat" analysis paralysis. It might save my ass!

In my next post I've got some really good pics of Texas. I love it out West!

Written with StackEdit.

Sort:  

I like this a lot. And I would add that, in our adult lives, there's so rarely a "best" choice. There are a number of obviously bad choices and some more pretty good choices. I remind myself to pick a pretty good one, and stick to it for long enough to really experience the consequences of the choice. By doing that I move forward.

Thanks, man. I agree. We have to weigh our options against our values in the framework of our present situation. Which I guess means "make the best of it!"

Congratulations @seansclevername! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @seansclevername! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44