I don't think you're ready for this jelly

in #blog7 years ago

Last time we were talking about my glass jellyfish, this ended up taking us onto the topic of my love for the little creatures and how I also had them as pets.

I mentioned how @Stormriderstudio had bought me them as a Christmas gift. There is a little back story there.

It all started in November, I was told we were going out for the day.
I had to drive to an undisclosed location, interesting considering sometimes me and him don't always agree on his navigation.
I was told that the place we were going to would give me a clue about my Christmas present, it took just over an hour to get where we were going but we eventually arrived at The Deep in Hull (an amazing aquarium for all types of marine life.)

While we looked at and thoroughly enjoyed everything there (the was even a glass sculpture installation of a coral reef, though it was too dark in that room for any photos of it.) But once we got to the jellyfish room I was told what I would be getting for Christmas. I spent as long as I could looking at all the jellyfish there. This is where I truly fell in love with the pacific sea nettles, they were so beautiful.

But onto the actual present. One of the reasons for telling me early was because the tank had to be set up and running for a little while before you could introduce the jellyfish to their home. We decided to order the tank so that was here for me to open Christmas day and I would get the jellyfish when I felt the tank was ready.

The tanks for jellyfish have a special design, jellyfish can not swim without a current so the tank needs to be a kreisel tank so it circulates the water to mimic a current. The tank also has to be smooth so there is nothing the jellyfish can get caught on and damage their bells.

The tank I got has an inner and outer ring. The pump, substrates and all the pipes sit in the outer ring the jellyfish live in the inner ring slowly floating round in the circle. I have 2 Moon jellyfish, they are a common breed and don't have a sting, which is a good thing as mine like to hug my hand if I put it in the tank to clean inside the inner ring.

Jellyfish are kept in saltwater, so the first thing I had to get to grips with was maintaining water quality. I was mixing the salt water myself as the optimum PPT (parts per thousand) of salt to water for these jellyfish was 33 not 35 which is used in most other saltwater tanks.

Feeding them is quite simple, you can go quite in depth and breed and hatch your own baby brine shrimp, although there are "instant" varieties of food. I use a powder that I mix with a small amount of the water from the tank before feeding them. The food shows up in the water as orange flecks and you can see the jellyfish pick up the food and when it is in their stomachs (so you always know when they are full) They are fed once a day but unlike most other pets jellyfish shrink when they don't eat, so providing they are a decent size and healthy you can go on holiday and not have to worry about feeding them.

Got any questions about jellyfish? Leave them in the comments below.


This post is an OFFICIAL PORT on @dreemsteem's "X Marks the Post" Treasure Hunt.  If you'd like to become a treasure hunter, an official stop, or a sponsor - Follow the map to begin your journey! By the way, she loves good comments even more than upvotes - so be sure to say Hi! 


TeamGBScarletSmall.png

Borosilicate flameworker and geek

Photos © @scarletleonard
TeamGB signature banner by @bearone

Sort:  

hahahaha - MEANINGFUL comments are required to win the hunt :) but thank you for the nod to the hunt! that will get a tip! from me :)

now go back to all the ports and leave some great comments that show you love the content! hehehehe

Hi @redeyedcyborg! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dreemsteem!

@dreemsteem wrote lately about: Caribbean Cruise: Gluten Freek Style Part 2 Feel free to follow @dreemsteem if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

Wow i never knew you could have them as pets! I love The Deep in Hull, brilliant for the kids (and big kids...me) I love how you referred to them as sea nettles haha that made me chuckle.

I want to go back.

They are an actual breed though (common name) they are the beautiful Amber ones with the long tentacles and hints of purple in their bells.

Well you learn something new everyday maybe I should of paid more attention at the deep... I was too excited to read the information boards haha

Hahaha, I actually admit to doing that as well in the other exhibits.

I spent a LONG time in the jellyfish room.

Very cool! I don't believe I have ever seen or heard of people keeping them as pets. Such a crazy alien like creature. Thanks for the post.

she is definitely the first that i know to keep them as pets - but they're so beautiful and relaxing to watch!

@scarletleonard is called The Jellyfish lady... not just because she keeps them as pets :)

She makes the most incredible jellyfish glass jewelry!!! I ordered mine before I went on vacation, so I hope that its waiting for me when I get home!!! :)

I want to watch jellyfish now.

and you should!!! watch them all day long!! hehehe

As the tanks have got better and are becoming more available and affordable they are starting to grow in popularity. Still probably going to be a few years before they become more mainstream.

That was a really informative post. I love jellyfish but realised i know next to nothing about their habitat needs so ive learnt a lot,thanks!. Theyre such beautiful creatures

It takes a bit of getting use to. I do recommend letting the tank mature for at least a month and with live rock if you can. Once I added live rock I had better water quality overall.

I found this website really helpful when I was setting up.

Naww I want to see their wee tummies full of orange food - so cute!!!

Here you go, tummy not quite full as I fed them just before having to go out but you can see the orange in the stomachs (that look like a 4 leaf clover)

IMG_20180315_180815.jpg

oh wow that's soo cool!!! thanks for taking the time to get a picture for us!! :)

I'll take a photo next time I feed them so you can see.

isn't that adorable?!?!! and how they hug her hand!!! when she told me about this a few weeks ago - i immediately said I NEED JELLYFISH TOOOOO

hahahahahaha

Hahaha - the hand hugging sounds fun and cute too but I feel like they are really trying to get rid of you out of their tank and if they had teeth you'd wear the marks lol

hahahahahahahah never never never - they look like pillows!!!! hehehe

I have never seen a tank for jellyfish! That is gorgeous! THEY are gorgeous floating in there. It’s like a piece of art. And, they have enough room? They’re happy? Can jellyfish be happy?

Yes like a perpetually moving piece of art!

They have plenty of room, if they had brains they would most likely be happy. Jellyfish are actually more like a plant than an animal really.

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

oh god im scared of jellyfish.their stings mostly...

Did you get one of those immortal species of jellyfish?

Congratulations @scarletleonard! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48