Musical Inspiration

in #blog6 years ago

Musical Inspiration While Working

Today I want to share some of the music that is inspiring me as I work on my main project, which doesn't have a name yet. I've always had a story about an ancient warrior in my head somewhere. A landscape of a the world in the distant past: castles, ziggurats, temples, villages, stone monuments, A dark forest, a bitter mountain top, a desert wasteland, a creepy underground. All environments filled with atmosphere and meaning. To get into that visionary state it's helpful to have an appropriate soundtrack. Some of the videos may not work. You can always click through to youtube if your into it. Anyway I hope to have some cool updates coming from my studio account soon. Like everyone else I wish I had more time for personal work.


If I'm thinking of something epic. Nothing beats the epic music from Conan the Barbarian. The best score Basil Poledouris has made, in my opinion. The film has little dialogue and the music does the talking along with the visuals.

Conan the Barbarian Soundtrack


For something I consider closer to classical fantasy I mix in The Dark Crystal Soundtrack. Listening to this takes me back to being a kid with my eyes glued to the screen. I was totally blown away by this movie and it started my interest in dark fantasy. The soundtrack is whimsical, cheerful, sorrowful, scary, and hopeful. Full range of meaning and beautiful.

The Dark Crystal Soundtrack


For something sobering and completely transporting I turn to anything by Wardruna. Although the world I'm building isn't necessarily Norse. I have found this use of old/natural instruments and ritualistic chants to be mind altering.

Wardruna is a Norwegian music group dedicated to creating musical renditions of Norse cultural and esoteric traditions.

Wardruna make significant use of Nordic historical and traditional instruments including various percussion, flutes, kraviklyra, tagelharpe, mouth harp, goat horn and lur. Non-traditional instruments and other sources of sound like trees, rocks, water and torches are also used.

Wardruna - Listen to it all


I'll add a few bonus videos as well.

Sort:  

Conan, one of the best soundtracks, and I agree it's the best of Poledouris. And you can't mention that movie without mentioning the Prayer to Crom, right?

There is also a ton of Lovecraft-inspired music on youtube, there are so many that I hardly could check them all out, but one composer that I really liked is Graham Plowman.

I'll check the rest of your suggestion tomorrow, it's late now here, kids are asleep!

Love the atmospheric lovecraftian music. Cryo Chamber youtube channel has some good stuff. I included one of the mixes (Yog-Sothoth 1) in this post and always find more in the recommended list. I'm sure you know but some people don't realize there is a cool connection between Robert E. Howard and Lovecraft.

Conan is the best.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.02% vote... I was summoned by @ronism! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 4.50 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @ronism.

You got a 9.04% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @ronism!

Having some good music to anchor your mood when drawing or any kind of art is key!

Congratulations @ronism! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @ronism! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64024.15
ETH 3515.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55